We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a great trip to the Breakers (family of 4, kids aged 8 and 10). We stayed 4 nights in an ocean-front room. The hotel facility is beautiful. We were there between Christmas and New Year's, so it was quite busy, but the staff was very friendly and attentive. The front desk asked our kids names at check-in, and they remembered the names throughout the stay. Our room was large, quiet, very comfortable and had a spectacular view of the ocean from our balcony on the 5th floor. Hotel staff arrived each evening to make up the pull-out. We spent much of each day by the "Active" pool, which is right by short stairs to the beach. Lifeguards were appropriately attentive - and it was easy to go between the pool and the beach -- and always felt safe with the kids in the water.
We rented a car - but really didn't need one. Short, nice walk into town for breakfast and dinner. Our kids spent time at the children's activity center, which has a basketball court and playground, along with some indoor play areas. The kids also did a couple of the evening activities on the lawn -- glow in dark volleyball and soccer -- and had a really nice time.

Restaurants and service were all fine -- although we didn't eat dinner at the resort. One very small critique is that there is no outdoor restaurant or bar to eat/drink in the evening. Neither of the restaurants by the pools was open for dinner. The resort map mentioned an outdoor "tiki bar" on the beach, but I was told it was damaged in a storm and taken down.

Overall, a great family vacation (family voted this their #1 trip) - great room, pools and beach -- very relaxing, very kid friendly.

Room Tip: Balcony on ocean front rooms was a big plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,483 of 2,367 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

World-class, first-class AMAZING. From the minute you pull up to valet your Breakers experience begins. You are treated like royalty here and the place looks like it. The main building is beautiful the property is manicured to perfection and the staff's eagerness to help just right. Whether you go for a couples romantic get-away (there is an adult-only quiet pool) or there with the family (plenty to do with or without the kids) The Breakers does not miss a step. Great property, great food, great great great!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GolfingMagazineLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

this was a lovely iconoc old world hotel with fabulous swimming pools and all the facilities to make the stay comfortable.
the staff were very very obliging and made our stay in this huge hotel a very pleasant one.
I found the restaurants a little disappointing though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank healey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was a great stay for us. Loved the room, the pool, and the staff was amazing. I travel a ton, every year, business and pleasure, I would put this resort in my top 5 of all time. Will be back in 2013.....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ISLANDbluefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

recently stayed at the Breakers for the 7th time! We stayed on the concierge floor and enjoyed it.I did feel the rooms seemed smaller than others but perhaps that was because we had twin beds. Chris and Tiffany went above and beyond(Chris let my daughter borrow a computer to send an urgent email)
I had been concerned we would be farther from the pools but the floor is smaller than I expected which meant the actual lounge was not crowded- a pleasant surprise. Of course we were also staying prior to the start of the Christmas season.

Room Tip: while we loved the concierge level I did feel the rooms were smaller, lower ceilings perhaps?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stdominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Breakers has everything anyone would want for a wonderful vacation; beach, sun, golf, tennis. Lots to do and see in Palm Beach -- but watch out for your wallet on Worth Ave! Nicely redone rooms and the new restaurant and beach club is fantastic. It is a large property so be prepared for lots of families, kids and groups. All great for us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rock H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The location of the Breakers was convenient (walking distance to off-property restaurants and an easy 15 minutes to the airport). I found the room small, not very cozy and was disappointed that it did not have a balcony - very few of the rooms did. The pillows were horrible. The food at the restaurants did not warrant the high prices, but the service was excellent. Everybody was very accommodating. If you have a late flight, they have great facilities with everything you need to shower, etc. It was a nice hotel and I enjoyed myself, but it fell short of total luxury. I would only stay there again if the price was right. If you are looking for a top-notch Florida 5 star hotel, stay at the Ritz in Naples.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljunkieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
777 reviews
1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#4 of 34 in West Palm Beach
953 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: $504 - $2,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing