We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was a first class place. Rich with history, great location, wonderful staff, and beautiful. The rooms were well appointed. Being there felt as though you were in Europe. The views were incredible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank econ3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,507
    365
    119
    63
    58
See reviews for
539
631
45
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Impeccable hotel! Immaculate room, great food at the seafood bar. Great bed and many pillows! The room is quite spacious and the big screen tv a plus. One drawback...hot water took a while in the shower. Great landscapes and 500 parrots on the property. Great beach and pool with jacuzzi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marinedermdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Breakers is seriously the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at. I've been there about five or six times for work-related gatherings, and I'm consistently impressed.

The rooms and bathrooms are very good (many of the bathrooms have a tv built into the mirror over the sink -- quite cool). (I have to say, however, that I'm not crazy about the rooms with ceramic floors -- too cold). Maid service is also very good.

The public spaces are beautiful -- with high ceilings and a very Old World feel.

The pool area is great -- there are at least four pools, including a lap pool. Lounge chairs, towels, and ice water are readily available -- at least most of the time.

The place is very well-maintained overall. I don't know how many people work there, but it is a lot. One gets the feeling that the ownership/management is truly committed not only to maintaining the property but to improving it.

The downside, of course and not surprisingly, is that it's expensive -- the restaurants especially. If you want to save some $$, there are a few restaurants on nearby Royal Poinciana Way (about a ten minute walk) that are generally acceptable to good -- and significantly cheaper than those at The Breakers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoraemonArlingtonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

You are right on the ocean with huge windows covering that whole wall. The room was spacious and well appointed. The hotel is a splendor from bygone years. The renovations they have made really kicked it up a notch. The hotel staff was without exception warm and friendly. The restaurants were a mixed bag. The Flagler steak house was our favorite. The seafood bar had a great view and ambiance.

Room Tip: Oceanfront are a notch above all the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmp1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

For sheer architectural beauty and history this property is a classic. But you don't sacrifice anything to be able to appreciate the elegance. Our room is huge, with comfy beds, gigantic bathroom, ocean view. And still have flat panel TV, wi-fi, plenty of amenities.
Yes, some of the hotel is being renovated, but the Circle restaurant itself is open. Seafood Bar and Grill has wonderful choices all times of the night. And even offsite restaurant choices are an easy walk or short cab ride away.
Very friendly, helpful staff. Plenty of areas inside and outside to relax with a cup of coffee or have a quick sandwich. And if you forgot to bring something - lots of shopping choices.
I just love looking at the opulent ceilings! Lucky for me I 'had' to come for business. I would choose to return any time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMLehman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This review is almost 2 years old, but I just came across my pics and realized I never reviewed at the time. I tagged along with hubby on a 4 day work conference in Dec. 2010. His father had always told him, if you have to travel anywhere for work, never turn down The Breakers, and luckily we were given the chance to do so. What a few days it was. Upon stepping into the hotel, we were blown away by the holiday decor. The lobby was stunning with huge trees one after the other, adorned in the most beautiful ornaments. Everywhere you went, there were holiday decorations, it was beautiful. Our room, albeit rather small, did have a view of the beach/ocean, which was very nice. I would have liked it if the window opened though for some fresh air. Since I wasn't traveling with our little ones, I spent most of my days at the Serenity pool, which was very relaxing. Had a gorgeous view of the ocean and 2 hot tubs. The other pools looked great and had I had my kids with me, we definitely would have used the more family oriented pool. Everyone we came into contact with were super nice. We loved the Seafood bar with the amazing views and the super cool aquarium bar!! I took a pic for my kids. The events put on for the seminar were unreal, all top notch! I don't know if the outdoor tiki bar is still open, but we went there one afternoon and had drinks with other people from his conference, some random couples that were very friendly, and a few celebs, due to the celeb wedding that was taking place there during our stay. That was a whole other thing. There was a celeb wedding, an actress and NY Yankee, and while enjoying this beautiful hotel, we also got to star-gaze. I was impressed that the hotel didn't shun us "regular" guests for all the activities. They didn't bother us when we were walking through the rehearsal cocktail reception (which was amazing), nor did they turn people away from the Tapestry Bar when the entire wedding party/guests clogged it up one night. This place is top notch, and yes, your wallet knows this. If we're ever offered the chance to attend another conference there, we certainly couldn't turn it down!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumrtyme1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

You should know some things about The Breakers before you go:

1) Many restaurants are under renovation and are closed. This is not disclosed to you before you go. This leaves you with few on-site options.
- The Beach Club restaurant has a wall blocking any view
- The Beach Club bar has a wall blocking any view
- The Tapestry Bar is closed
- The Circle Restaurant is only open for breakfast.

2) The Seafood Bar has great views during the day. For dinner, you cannot see anything. The food is not good and it is very overpriced.

3) All on-site restaurants include a 20% gratuity automatically. As you can imagine, as a result, service is not at its best.

4) Many amenities you may be used to at a luxury (or regular) hotel are not part of The Breakers experience. For example, the following is not included at The Breakers:
- Turn down service
- An in-room coffee maker
- Shoe shine service

5) You are unlikely to be able to check-in early. If the front desk refuses to try to expedite housekeeping, ask someone else. Some front desk staff will immediately call housekeeping, others will refuse to do so. Either way, the estimates they give you for check-in are not true. You will be able to check in about 4pm.

6) It is extremely difficult to get late check out.

Your best bet at The Breakers is to go into Palm Beach for some really great restaurants such as Taboo and Palm Beach Grill. Eating on site yields bad food, mediocre service, and is overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blueskies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bradley Park Hotel
Bradley Park Hotel
#9 of 10 in Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the island of Palm Beach amid 140 acres of picturesque oceanfront property, The Breakers is recognized as one of North America’s iconic resort destinations. Independently owned, this legendary resort has been completely revitalized to offer a paradise for couples, families, and special gatherings. Revel in a new tropical feeling at the glorious beachfront, play the greens, and enjoy the blissful spa, delicious dining, and incredible services energized by a genuinely caring staff, integral in helping you make fabulous memories. * Nine distinctive restaurants and five bars* A private beachfront oasis with five sparkling pools, bungalows and watersports* An oceanfront spa, offering moonlit massages amid Atlantic breezes* 36 holes of championship golf including the on-site Ocean Course and Rees Jones® Course; a golf academy* 10 lighted Har Tru tennis courts and instruction by USPTA/USPTR-certified professionals* 10 on-site boutiques including Lilly Pulitzer, Guerlain and Ralph Lauren* A family entertainment center and kids’ camp; 11 boutiques.* The Flagler Club, private club level with a private concierge and residential ambiance, Interactive Family Entertainment Center and Kid’s Camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing