We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing Resort”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Astonishing Resort”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at "The Breakers". The hotel was gorgeous from top to bottom. Amazing palm trees cover the grounds of the hotel, along with beautiful flowers. Hand painted ceilings, and fresh flowers through out the hotel. Our room was very spacious, had nice finishes and live plants. The bathroom even had a television in the mirror; which was convenient to watch the news while getting ready for the day. Amazing views of the Atlantic Ocean from the rooms, pools and private beach. All of the staff delivered top notch service. When you walked on the beach you were meet with service the very moment you set foot on the sand; they offered fresh towels, a beach chair, along with a glass of water with lemon. All the staff was always very helpful and courteous. The food was outstanding, very fresh and delectable. They offer so many dinning options to exceed even the most discerning palate. They have very nice shops right on the hotel premises, golf and much, much more. This was a business trip and we were only there for four nights but were able to take full advantage of all the hotel and it's staff had to offer and definitely would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siegy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    382
    126
    65
    63
See reviews for
564
663
51
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We just spent 2 weeks at The Breakers in Palm Beach with our toddler. Its a stunning location. We took a standard room with a garden view. The room was spacious with a large walk in wardrobe. Food was nice but it could have been better. Over the ten days we ate at all on-site restaurants, and two off site - Steak house and the Echo's. Staff were very friendly and over all service was fantastic. I would go back.

Pro's

Location
Access to private beach with plenty of pool options
The children's play area in the Italian resturant
The staff are fantastic

Con's

*The food there is expensive - not that you mind paying if you are getting what you pay for but I think it really could be improved.
*The was a lot of building works going on when we were there.
*An automatic 20% tip being added to every single thing you purchase
*Our room was generally not serviced until after 4.30pm and sometimes we were coming back from the pool at this time and couldn't access it
*The cocktails are all from pre-made mixes - I would expect a mixologist at a property like this or at least someone who can make a good cocktail - there wasn't anyone

I would go back and I would recommend it but I think they could improve on the dining also I would probably eat outside the hotel in the evening next time as I really don't think they are up to scratch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heelsforher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is the cleanest, friendliest, most beautiful hotel we've ever been too. We were here on business and they took such wonderful care of the whole group. Alyse checked us in and she was the best!! The room and view were outstanding. Everything was so clean- the common areas, the gardens, the pools and the beach. The attention to detail was so appreciated. The entire staff did a great job - every single employee we passed spoke to us and they all seem to know their job and love their job!! The food was so varied and delicious! This hotel is doing an outstanding job all around!! We will be returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenbtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband & I just returned from the Breakers where we celebrated our 24th wedding anniversary. We had a top floor corner oceanfront suite and it was.... magnifico! The best view and proximity to the ocean of any resort we've ever stayed in, in the US, Mexico, Aruba, Bermuda, Italy.... Truly the most spacious, comfy, beautifully decorated and equipped, pristine clean, scenic, romantic suite.

We're serious about lounging in/around a beautiful swimming pool, and the Breakers has five oceanfront pools. We loved the lap pool and the south pool (adults only) and never saw more than 4 other people at the south pool. Never even set foot on the beach.

Meals were fantastic.... from fresh/local mango and white chocolate pancakes in the morning (!) to grilled fish and Italian entrees for dinner.

Staff were uber-efficient and friendly, from the concierges to front desk staff, valet, waiters, pool attendants and lifeguards. Across the board welcoming, pleasant, high spirited.

We absolutely loved this hotel and hated to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotsasalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paris, OH
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our second stay at the Breakers. Like most people, we can only afford to stay there in summer ($300 night summer rate) but it is worth every penny. Employees cater to everyone. Even in absolutely suffocating summer heat, the employees are always gracious and ready to help in anyway possible.

Room Tip: Any room at the Breakers is clean and wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Breakers is a notch above other hotels - you pay more than other hotels but you get what you pay for. The staff is AMAZING, they do not miss any detail and constantly are there to help you with whatever you need. I attended a wedding there so we had a lot of staff members that i'm sure were coordinated through the wedding party - but they were always making sure we knew where we were going, had water, refreshments etc.

The food and alcohol are pricey, but you know that when you go in so as long as you're prepared you should be fine. It is a gorgeous property and the pillows and beds are great.

The only complaint I have, is that the "adults" pool had kids in it and they didn't do anything to stop that. It was also impossible to get a chair by the pool. I'm guessing that because one of the large pools is under renovation, they just allow kids in the adult pool. The Monday I stayed there, they did try to help people find chairs and set some up on the lawn etc. So while it was frustrating not to get one, I really appreciated the attention the staff gave to it.

I highly recommend a trip to the breakers!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

You can't go wrong with staying at The Breakers. My wife and I recently returned from a 5-day vacation in Palm Beach and were so happy we decided to stay at The Breakers. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the grounds are impeccable. Their service was top notch and every employee went out of their way to make you feel welcome and special. We ate breakfast every morning in the The Circle Room and it was a nice way to start the day. Yes, the food and drinks are expensive, but that's to be expected at a high-class resort. We ventured off the resort for dinners and found affordable options. My wife and irarely visit the same place twice, but we will definitely be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank msd2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
745 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
593 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
423 reviews
4.3 mi away
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
Marriott's Ocean Pointe
#1 of 4 in Palm Beach Shores
1,380 reviews
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing