We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm Ain't Cheap”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Breakers
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Pretty much everything you'd expect in a very old, very swank hotel. Very good service. There are, I think, people being paid to stand and smile. The rooms are small and not especially fancy. There are several swimming pools and they are all very nice and large. There are several restaurants on the property and the food is good, modern and ranges from expensive (pool side restaurant) to very expensive (everywhere else). I do not recommend Flaglers Steak House, which the hotel does recommend. The service was poor and the steaks did not live up to their price. Overall, to take the family to a nice place like this for a few days it's worth the 2-3 grand it's going to run you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingtills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,581 - 1,587 of 2,371 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

The perfect place if you have kids and still look for relaxation, good food and superb service. The hotel and surroundings are stunning, and much variety is provided, the camps for kids are perfect and the atmosphere nice and relaxed and the staff is 100% kids friendly. Definitively will be back!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Phnnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Breaker's reminds me of being on a large estate or chateau property. Be sure to walk around the grounds as well as in the hotel. There are lots of gems to see, take the time to admire what you're seeing. There is a reef just off the Breaker's beach. The beach has snorkel and boating type stuff for rent. The pools, yes more than one, have different atmospheres. Check all three out.
One has a beach you just walk into the pool from and its across from the bar! Handy!

Breaker's has off property restaurants and offers shuttle service back and forth.
The view from atop the restaurant over the bridge is a MUST SEE! Take the shuttle for happy hour, when the sun is setting the reflection and then the darkness kill the view. So get there around 5-6pm.
There is a Publix grocery store nearby if you need anything including Rx Open 6:30am till 10pm

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KittyKatzONLINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Breakers is a beautiful historic hotel set on a small but very nice stretch of beach. The amenities and the staff are top notch. This is a great resort for families as there are many scheduled activities for children. And there are kids everywhere. However, I would not recommend this hotel for young singles or young couples as we found the atmosphere to be very stuffy and overly formal. There is a dress code, which we thought was ridiculous. We were upgraded for free to a partial view room, which was a very nice touch on the part of the staff, but the rooms, while very well appointed are very very small for the price. While there are many pools, the main quiet pool is currently out of service so the remaining much smaller pools are extremely crowded. We never had a problem getting chairs on the beach (which are provided free of charge). The restaurants on the property all serve delicious food, but the prices were outrageously high. Over all, this is a very nice hotel and the staff were very accommodating, but the atmosphere is very stale there full of families and old people. If we went back to Palm Beach, I think we would look for something a little less formal and family oriented.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amc4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had last stayed in The Breakers over 10 years ago - much has changed! It is now a fabulous family resort with a variety of pools - from a quiet pool, through to an active one, a family one and one for lane swimming. Plenty of seats and although busy during our one week stay, we never had a problem getting beds round the pool of our choice. The pool service is excellent - very attentive.
The rooms vary hugely, as it is such a large property - we asked to be changed from our original room (a premium resort view). It was very disappointing. They quickly accomodated us by giving us a much better room with a king size bed and a large sleeper bed plus a much nicer bathroom.
We only ate dinner in one of the hotel restaurants - the Italian. It was good, but did have the childrens indoor play area situated right next to it - not ideal when entering the restaurant. Pastas were good, pizzas less so. Dinner for 3 was $150 - for 3 bowls of pasta and 3 glasses of wine and a one shared starter. Seemed expensive to us, but I guess this is The Breakers! Nothing is cheap here and 20% service charge is added to everything. There are so many good places to eat around about so we ate out a lot.
Disappointingly, the bar was closed for renovation during our stay - note it is closed till November! This meant the only bar open on the property was inside the Seafood Restaurant - not at all ideal if you want a casual pre- or post- dinner drink. They should have set up a temporary bar, given the amount of space available in the hotel. Definitely a mistake.
The breakfast buffet was 'average' relative to other 5 star hotels - we did not like having breakfast in the Circle restaurant, but choose to eat at the poolside restaurant. The only drawback was that it did not open till 9am for breakfast, which seems late. The Circle restaurant is huge, was full of people, with long queues for breakfast and the noise level was awful. The buffet was not always replenished - fights over the last croissant etc! Breakfast at the poolside restaurant was much more relaxed!
There is a deli/ice cream shop/newsagent/giftware shop on the property where you can buy good salads, sandwiches etc with a beautiful courtyard outside complete with wicker rocking chairs, tables and plenty of space if you just want a quick sandwich. Alternatively, we ate lunch at The Grill near the pool - excellent food and service, with daily specials.
Overall, this is a lovely hotel - very expensive, but with a fantastic emphasis on customer service. Nothing is too much trouble. The pool and beach facilities make it an ideal holiday resort and the proximity to local restaurants in Palm Beach, West Palm Beach and Palm Beach Gardens mean you can eat somewhere different every night.

Room Tip: Get a room near the pool end of the hotel - otherwise a long walk if you forget anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank openminded01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I attended the same conference as the two previous reviewers, and I had a slightly different experience. My room was extraordinarily spacious, with not only a desk with a chair, but also a sitting area with another upholstered chair and love seat and a coffee table. The room was a corner room and had ocean views from both the bedroom/sitting area and the bathroom. It was also very quiet, with no noise from adjoining rooms or the room above. Everyone I encountered at the hotel, from the front desk to restaurant servers to the maintenance staff, were friendly and said hello. (No trouble getting anyone to look me in the eye.) As other reviewers have stated, the building's architecture, scenery, landscaping, and pools are breathtakingly beautiful and impeccably kept. My only complaint is that the food and drinks are extremely overpriced. In addition, while the waitstaff was friendly and pleasant, not everyone was as attentive as they might have been if their gratuity wasn't already included in the total bill. One other thing that bothered me was that there was not enough seating available at the conference breakfast, and I saw people sitting on the floor to eat -- quite an embarrassment for a resort with the reputation that The Breakers has. Overall, I had an excellent experience, and I would highly recommend this property to others, as long as they had an unlimited food/beverage budget.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imcrabbywhenimhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Despite being an old world hotel, the Breakers continues to do a great job catering to families. Between having so many different types of pools (incline, active, quiet etc.) there are several restaurants to choose from and now, most of them take reservations. For example, the Italian restaurant is well situated next to a play area which is glass enclosed so parents can continue to eat and see their children while they play with several toys. There is a small theater with several kid friendly films and a game room as well. They will child proof your room and have several things to help out young family -- bottle warmers, bed rails, plugs, etc. There is also a coffee shop which opens early so you can grab a bagel or apple and not spend a fortune on a sit down breakfast.

Basketball courts, a climbing structure and the children's center are all you need when your kids tire of the beautiful pool area and the beach. The babysitting staff are all employees of the hotel so they have been fully vetted and checked out.

The rooms remain comfortable. Going during the summer is great value compared with the steep prices for rooms during their winter season. We go each summer and have had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.9 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
778 reviews
1 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#4 of 10 in Palm Beach
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#4 of 34 in West Palm Beach
957 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Beach
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Address: 1 South County Road, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: $500 - $2,265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Breakers 5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1896, The Breakers remains one of America’s legendary resort destinations. Renowned for its seaside glamour and world-class service, the 538-room, Italian Renaissance-style hotel resides on 140 acres of oceanfront property in the heart of Palm Beach. With unapologetic luxury, The Breakers indulges its clientele, whether couples on a romantic getaway, multi-generational travelers on a family vacation or large gatherings in celebration. Thanks to the gracious dedication of its longstanding family ownership, the iconic resort re-invests a minimum of $30 million each year in the property’s ongoing enhancement and revitalization to ensure that it continues to captivate its guests. Most recently with the debut of Flagler Club, an ultra-luxury boutique hotel set within the resort. Resort amenities feature a private beach, four oceanfront pools, five whirlpool spas, 25 luxury beach bungalows and a variety of watersports; a new luxury spa; indoor-outdoor Ocean Fitness center; 36 holes of championship golf, including the Ocean Course and The Breakers Rees Jones® Course; 10 Har-Tru tennis courts; a Family Entertainment Center; an array of on-site boutiques; and nine acclaimed restaurants, with settings ranging from casual beachfront to stylishly sophisticated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Breakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Palm Beach
The Breakers Resort
Breakers Hotel Palm Beach
Breakers Resort Palm Beach
The Breakers Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing