We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!”
Review of Buccan

Buccan
Reserve with OpenTable
Buccan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Australian Ave
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Go with friends and share an evening you will not forget!!! Step out of your comfort zone and order things you would normally not venture.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    159
    48
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
327 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Intense, But Delicious, Dining”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We reserved at Buccan based on the TripAdvisor reviews. On a Monday night in the off-season it was packed and loud. Our server told us it was a "slow" night. (Mondays they offer all bottles of wine at half price, which could explain the crowd.) I'd hate to see the place on a Saturday in early spring! Still, we did enjoy the place and our meal. The place specializes in small plates. The server said three would make a meal. That is probably more than one would need unless you're very hungry. We had a chilled white asparagus soup that was rich and creamy, and a nice steak tartare, if a bit heavy on the shallots. The braised lamb shank bastilla is shredded shank fried in phyllo in sort of an egg roll shape, that was savory and delicious. Quail, grilled with cheese and speck was a lovely little dish. My wife and I disagreed on the pork cannelloni. It too featured speck and she found it overly salty. While the salt was heavy, I found it absolutely delicious (but probably not an ideal warm weather dish).

Cocktails were well crafted and service was very businesslike and efficient. The driving music, coupled with the noise of the crowd and the fast pace of the dishes made for a very intense dining experience.

This is not the kind of place that you can expect to go and relax over a long, leisurely meal or have a romantic evening. Still, the prices are reasonable for very high caliber food, so it's definitely worth checking out if you're in that frame of mind.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Filmprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tapas!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a fantastic snack at Buccan last evening. After starting with two perfect martinis we moved on the Tuna Tartar. Built on an avocado base it was excellent. Even my wife (not much of a raw fish person) liked it. We then tried the gnocchi in a very nice pesto sauce with shrimp - outstanding. We then moved to the Salmon pizza - maybe we were getting full but it was not as interesting as the prior dishes. OBTW the fries are awsome!

As stated in multiple reviews, the place is loud. Try the high-tops by the bar for more romance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuervoslammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food but noisy and not good for large groups”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We went with a group of 13. Food was good but they forgot one of our parties' meal-- all if it. And took forever to rectify. Another had to be sent back as the pork was rare.
Very loud so hard to hear when you have your own large group. Most likely a better place for 5-6 people. And apologies go a long way when orders are goofed up--something that did not happen.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCL03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, noise is a problem”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a great dinner at this "tapas" style restaurant. Service was good, the staff is busy with a large crowd, and they got the food out in stages pretty well in a timely manner.

If you can stand a great deal of noise, this is a real treat. If not, try to have management tell you best hours so a table of four can hear each other. We could not last night. Maybe early or late is better.

The menu is very creative, and evidently the chef changes it fairly regularly. The food is above average.

Would not take a first date here, or a client in a party of four.

If you drink enough, maybe the noise is not a problem:)

Might go back sometime, if the noise level improves.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PalmBeachGolfer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buccan also viewed

 

Been to Buccan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing