We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas!”
Review of Buccan

Buccan
Reserve with OpenTable
Buccan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Australian Ave
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tapas!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a fantastic snack at Buccan last evening. After starting with two perfect martinis we moved on the Tuna Tartar. Built on an avocado base it was excellent. Even my wife (not much of a raw fish person) liked it. We then tried the gnocchi in a very nice pesto sauce with shrimp - outstanding. We then moved to the Salmon pizza - maybe we were getting full but it was not as interesting as the prior dishes. OBTW the fries are awsome!

As stated in multiple reviews, the place is loud. Try the high-tops by the bar for more romance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuervoslammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    168
    50
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food but noisy and not good for large groups”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We went with a group of 13. Food was good but they forgot one of our parties' meal-- all if it. And took forever to rectify. Another had to be sent back as the pork was rare.
Very loud so hard to hear when you have your own large group. Most likely a better place for 5-6 people. And apologies go a long way when orders are goofed up--something that did not happen.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCL03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, noise is a problem”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a great dinner at this "tapas" style restaurant. Service was good, the staff is busy with a large crowd, and they got the food out in stages pretty well in a timely manner.

If you can stand a great deal of noise, this is a real treat. If not, try to have management tell you best hours so a table of four can hear each other. We could not last night. Maybe early or late is better.

The menu is very creative, and evidently the chef changes it fairly regularly. The food is above average.

Would not take a first date here, or a client in a party of four.

If you drink enough, maybe the noise is not a problem:)

Might go back sometime, if the noise level improves.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PalmBeachGolfer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Food blew me away”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Buccan was modern "young"'er than some of the other restaurants in town....I'm 32 and my fiancé is 29. This was a better option than some of the stuffier establishments in town.

Food was amazing. As odd as it is to say, the brussel sprout caesar salad was my favorite, followed by the squash blossom.

The conch ceviche was nice, with some spice, and the scallops were cooked perfectly.

The plates are not that small, FYI, we definitely ordered too much food for two people with 6 plates.

As many people before mentioned, this is a good spot to people watch....some very interesting people come in to dine.

I'd come back in a heart beat next time I was in town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tgoeltz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Must Go! Plan to Spend $$$”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our friends took my husband and me to this restaurant and I am still thanking them almost a week later. The food is out of this world! I think we may have ordered too much, but it was a celebration. It was our 2 year anniversary - so the champagne was flowing as was the wine.

We started with tuna tartar, steak tartar and the conch ceviche. All amazing - the conch definitely my favorite with it's slight heat from spicy chilies and the flavor of coconut in the background.

Next up Caesar Brussels sprouts, a baby kale salad with pine nuts, parmesan and currants and a goat cheese salad with beets. All divine - the Brussels sprouts are a must.

Following we had the hot dog panini (a signature dish, good - but not my favorite), the veal sweetbreads spring rolls (AMAZING), and the stuffed squash blossoms (also phenomenal).

Finally we wrapped it up with the quail, cauliflower gratin (must order!) mushroom pizza, and grilled octopus. Way too much food by that point, but it was all so heavenly. The smokiness of the quail was what had me stuffing myself to the brim.

Only note of contention: Skip the tiramisu - (watery). Get the carrot cake (amazing)!

We spent around $260 (with tip) per couple. Way too much food, I would probably order one round less - but it's worth trying everything if you're from out of town. You'll be sorry you missed out.

Service was okay. Our server seemed like she was having a rough night. Over poured one of our champagne glasses, wasn't too talkative - but she was pleasant. At the end of the meal my friend told me she called ahead to have a candle in the dessert for our anniversary which did not show - but that's not a big deal. Either way we had a fantastic time. Cannot wait until we're back in West Palm Beach and can go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parker617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buccan also viewed

 

Been to Buccan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing