We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting...but quite good”
Review of Malcolm's: The Art of Food - CLOSED

Malcolm's: The Art of Food
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lake Ave
Description: Malcolm's is a trend-setting new restaurant located inside the chic Omphoy Ocean Resort. The restaurant offers guests and visitors an exquisite surf-side dining experience served with a floor-to-ceiling view of the Atlantic Ocean. Each world-class dish is paired with a selection of outstanding wines, individually selected to complement the flavorful creations.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Interesting...but quite good”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

While staying at the Omphoy, we spent one evening at Malcolm's, their upscale dining venue. I must say that the menu is full of dishes made from interesting ingredients. Sometimes "interesting" tries too hard, but not at Malcolm's. The appetizer I must comment on is the Shrimp Cocktail with "dippin' dots". Those who know dippin' dots ice cream can relate. The fresh shrimp are served with "frozen" bits of cocktail sauce that melt in your mouth. A really interesting touch to a traditional dish!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank islandgirl524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Malcolm's: The Art of Food, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your meal with us and that you were pleasantly surprised by the unique dishes on the menu. It is great to hear you liked the Shrimp Cocktail, as it definitely adds an interesting touch to a traditional dish. Thank you again for your thoughtful comments. We hope that you will join us for dinner again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    14
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Finally!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Finally in Palm Beach a restaurant that goes beyond the bland and unimaginative fare that is de rigour for most other restaurants on the island. Malcolm's puts a lot of effort on preparation and presentation and their summer menu is a great value.

Having said that we were there recently and the menu offered skate, three of us we order it but when it came to the table it was snapper, they said they run out and just substituted, that is just not done. I hope they don't start acting like the other restaurants around.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_R33480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not a very special dinner”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ate at Malcolm's for our anniversary dinner. The hostess (I didn't see a Maitre D) gave us a wonderful table by the window. The service was very good. My husband spent a lengthy amount of time looking at the wine list (it would have been nice if there was a sommelier to help make a choice). He selected a Super Tuscan which had to be one of the most disappointing ST's we ever tasted. My husband ordered the beef filet and he said it was one of the worst cuts of beef he had ever had. He asked for it Medium, and it was cooked on the rare side but he said it still should have tasted better than that. I had the Ahi which was OK but the fava beans it was served on were tasteless. We both started with Cesar Salads which were also pretty tasteless. I don't know if the quality of food suffers because it was the off season, all I do know is that it was a very disappointing anniversary dinner. We are going to a local restaurant tonight for a redo :).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Molokairaceofficial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Malcolm's: The Art of Food, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We are happy that you made the choice to celebrate your anniversary dinner with us and that you were pleased with your table location and the service you received. We are disappointed that your meal fell short of your expectations and did not allow for the anniversary experience you were hoping for. Whether in season or off, we always take strides to prepare high quality, delicious dishes for our guests, and we are sorry you were unhappy with the food you received. We take your comments very seriously, and we thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent view”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Food was solid.decor plush with excellent view if ocean.service was good
Overall a good night but would only go back when is a 1000 point dinner on open table

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rafael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The only reason this does not get a 5 is because I did not get to sit by the window over looking the ocean (then again, I would not have been able to see much as it was already dark out LOL).
Very soothing atmosphere. Located in the Omphoy (Boutique) Hotel on the beach.
The Mojito was huge and GOOD. Bar and wait staff were very attentive.
Dinner was excellent. Hot, tasty and just the right size.
A really nice place to have drinks and/or appetizers on the patio overlooking the ocean.
Dining room is Zen/Contemporary. Just the right size for one-on-one or a small intimate group.
Lovely experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank omgjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at Malcolm's: The Art of Food, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are so happy you took the time to let us know your thoughts about our restaurant. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and size of Malcolm's, and especially that you enjoyed your meal and your mojito! We are glad our staff treated you well, but we do hope you will have the opportunity to get a seat with an ocean view the next time you join us for dinner. Thanks again for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malcolm's: The Art of Food also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing