We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Colony Hotel has the best location in palm beach. It's a little tired, but still charming. Our room was great. The staff seems more interested in procedures and policies than customer service, and that's a drawback. It's an attitude, eventually if one persists they do the right thing, but it's a 'not my job' thing initially at the Front desk and concierge.The ac in our room was not working well when we checked in, eventually it was repaired, but there was a negotiation to get it done. Restaurant service was good.

No fitness center.

Room Tip: Try room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    62
    36
    27
    26
See reviews for
74
137
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is lovely. Nice pool area, nice service and nice breakfast. I enjoyed using the bikes that were available for rent at the front. But such thin walls! I was awoken in the middle of the night to the sounds of the woman in the next room coughing violently and was kept awake by it for a good part of the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north kingstown
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My party of 4 recently dined at the Polo Room. We sat outside with candle light which was lovely . However, I found the wait staff very cold. I ordered Chilean sea bass which I have had many times. When it arrived it looked and tasted like swordfish, which I have also eaten many times. When I questioned the wait person she insisted that it was Chilean sea bass. Not wanting to create a scene, I accepted the meal. But I know from my many experiences it was not what was ordered and paid for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandinn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Chef de Cuisine Steven Darling tells me the reference might be to a portion cut from the tapered end of the large Chilean Sea Bass filet....which could account for the appearance of swordfish. The Colony has not purchased swordfish in recent years. Wish the guest had mentioned this concern-we would have happily given a replacement Dover Sole (our big seafood seller).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afa20816
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Colony has the best location in Palm Beach and although it is an older hotel the rooms and common areas are very nicely appointed. Breakfast was delicious but if you are in a rush, grab something somewhere else. In general the service is helpful, polite and unhurried. We especially like the little sandwich/salad shop attached to the main level of the hotel, a favorite of the locals as well. If you like the option of a smaller hotel definitely check in to the Colony.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afa20816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying in The Colony Hotel for a work trip for 2 nights - the hotel is in a lovely location and the staff are absolutely fantastic!! I work in the travel industry and am very fussy when it comes to hotels. The room was lovely, old world charm with modern amenities. We had the pleasure of staying in the hotel for a show, and it really was enjoyable. The only problem I encountered was the lack of sleep from the couple next door - the walls are paper paper thin - I heard everything!!!!! Other than that it was a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenbabe1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Actually, the walls are of a clay brick type which was used in construction 66 years ago. The sounds probably came through the A/C ducts from the x-rated room (apparently) nearby. Thanks, though, for your other kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I spent New years at the Colony at a Black Tie dinner. It was a fantastic way to ring in the new year at this beautiful hotel. The atmosphere was just superb and we had a very good meal.
I will always remember the special time we shared.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianRoberts1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We live within driving distance and were in need of rest. We took advantage of the Cabaret Weekend package on 8/17; the best decision we have made in years. Everyone at the hotel is accomodating and delivers on excellence. The hotel is beautiful and well appointed. The restaurants and bar only serve top quality food and drink. The cabaret show with Ariana Savalas was very entertaining and the show then spilled over to the Polo Lounge. We had such a fun time chatting with other guests and employees alike. Cannot wait to stay here again....oh, and everything is within walking distance: shopping on Worth and the beach. Treat yourself to something extra special.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the street since the Polo Lounge is a happening place and will echo in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.4 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bradley Park Hotel
Bradley Park Hotel
#9 of 10 in Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 155 Hammon Ave, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4709
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel is a full service luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Beach, just around the corner from Worth Avenue and steps away from the beach. Small in size but with great personality, the Colony is home of The Royal Room Cabaret, Cafe 155 and Polo Steaks and Seafood. Friendly staff and impeccable service is a standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palm Beach
Colony Hotel Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing