We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location.”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at colony hotel for a few days and it was much different than before when we stayed. The room service menu was far more extensive and service was impeccable. As always, the location is perfect for shopping, eating or just walking around. Will definitely be staying.

P.S. rooms are a little small but definitely manageable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirPappageorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    63
    36
    27
    26
See reviews for
86
148
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

We recently had a family wedding in Palm Beach and our out of town guests stayed at the Colony. Everyone loved It. Great location, excellent rooms and the staff was exceptionally attentive. We could not have asked for more.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jbulfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice overall. BUT; If you don't lookalike a Caucasian or are not over 50+ age, they don't treat you nicely. Especially the African Amerrican employees. They should be more sensitive regarding that , but they were the worst. So sad!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hasancan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Me thinks Hasancan1 a bit too sensitive. Our staff is from all over the world and we definitely do not discriminate. Actually, there are no African Americans in the front of the house but there are staffers of color from the Bahamas, Haiti, Jamaica, etc. (all of them friendly and professional).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I've stayed at the Colony several times when in Palm Beach on business. My wife joined me on this trip. We had an excellent experience. The staff could not be more helpful in every way. They are there when you want/need them and do not hover.

The rooms have fine furnishings and the linens superb. The bathrooms are small, but always immaculate and the toiletries provided top shelf. We lived in Germany for several years and the Colony reminds us of several small European hotels we enjoyed so much.

Highlights of staying here include dining outside at poolside, a warm welcome every time you came to the front door after a day of site seeing, bar tenders who know their trade and are the perfect combination of friendly and professional. And if you like traditional cabaret entertainment, this is the place for you.

The Colony probably isn't the place for hipsters, but it certainly isn't stuffy. Just a very, very comfortable small hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Livin_in_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I just returned from a four night stay at The Colony Hotel in Palm Beach. I cannot wait to plan another visit back to this hotel. The staff of the hotel was wonderful to us! Thanks everyone for taking care of us as we celebrated a birthday event. It is great to be taken care of by the staff and also hear favorable comments from other staff members who referred us to someone else if we needed further assistance. The food was excellent and also the surprise iced tea sent to us out by the pool. The Polo Lounge was rocking on Friday night for the Motown night. I cannot remember when I had such a great time rocking and dancing to the band. Other guests for this Friday night event were so much fun. Do not let the "Palm Beach" appearance fool you in terms of their kindness. The hotel was built in 1947 and has personality in its display of its heritage. The bedding was absolutely so comfortable. If you want a taste of the past in a small boutique type experience, I recommend this excellent hotel in an excellent location. My trip in the off season was a blessing to experience such service that I might not have been able to achieve when this hotel is completely booked during the winter season.

Room Tip: This hotel is somewhat hidden one block from the ocean and one block from Worth Avenue. Do not let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donaihill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Ok
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We had a family function/reunion in early June. Palm Beach is slow at that time.

The hotel was quite nice, but there was no coffee in the room nor in the lobby. You have to wait for the"155" to open at 7:00 (8:00 on Sunday) to get a cup. The desk did go to the kitchen to get me a "go cup" on the way to airport on early Sunday.

Rooms were what was expected of an older building. The bath was small. However, the furnishing were adequate.

The barman was friendly and will to make a custom drink. The event planning was superb. Rain obviated the outside Bat Mitzvah service, so it was moved inside. Not a problem.

Beware! The humidity in June is oppressive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Colony Hotel was our 'home base' for our recent South Florida wedding, and we could not have been more thrilled with the experience from start to finish. The professional and thoughtful events and room sales teams were incredible, and our guests very much enjoyed well appointed rooms and the beautiful pool and facilities. We hosted a 160-person dinner and 120-person post-wedding brunch in the Pavilion, as well as having 45 guest rooms at the hotel. We could not be happier with our stay, and are grateful to the whole team at the Colony for making it an amazing wedding weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.4 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
595 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bradley Park Hotel
Bradley Park Hotel
#9 of 10 in Palm Beach
210 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
2,232 reviews
5.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Property: Colony Hotel
Address: 155 Hammon Ave, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4709
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel is a full service luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Beach, just around the corner from Worth Avenue and steps away from the beach. Small in size but with great personality, the Colony is home of The Royal Room Cabaret, Cafe 155 and Polo Steaks and Seafood. Friendly staff and impeccable service is a standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palm Beach
Colony Hotel Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing