We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, service and hospitality for our wedding weekend!”
Review of Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colony Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Colony Hotel was our 'home base' for our recent South Florida wedding, and we could not have been more thrilled with the experience from start to finish. The professional and thoughtful events and room sales teams were incredible, and our guests very much enjoyed well appointed rooms and the beautiful pool and facilities. We hosted a 160-person dinner and 120-person post-wedding brunch in the Pavilion, as well as having 45 guest rooms at the hotel. We could not be happier with our stay, and are grateful to the whole team at the Colony for making it an amazing wedding weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Colony Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 439 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have been to the Colony many times. Best Cabaret on the Atlantic shore of Florida. Dining is excellent, although Cafe Boulud at the Brazilian Court is better. Lobby is intimate and first rate. Rooms are small; get a villa or a suite. Close to beach and Worth Avenue.

Room Tip: Get a suite, rooms are small, overlook the golf course.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel purports to be a high class hotel and prides itself on its lengthy history..Well, I have been to many first class hotels in Europe and the Far East, and this place is barely one step above a Motel 6 in Fargo, ND. The location is excellent if you want to be near shopping but that's about all that it has going for it. The decor is tired and tacky, the food mediocre at best, and the staff is terrible beyond belief. You would think that THEY are the guests and YOU are the ones wearing uniforms and working for $5 and $10 tips. Rude and crude beyond any other hostelry except perhaps for the Palm Beach County Jail.
Do not waste your money here. It's a bad place and, as usual, it all stems from the management who are both indifferent and haughty. There is nothing about this sub-medicore hotel to justify their fantasies., Try the Brazilian Court. It's new, not old and tired out, plus it's very attractive, and the food and service are good. As for the location, it's just as good. You will only be at the opposite end of Worth Avenue, so you'll be just as close to shopping. Plus you are closer to some of the other restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler561732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, General Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Our staff is really puzzled by this review. Our conclusion is that the writer was not an overnight guest at The Colony. Truthfully, The Colony is known locally as a happy, friendly hotel with fine food and service. The decor is traditional but not hip; Carleton Varney is our Interior Designer. As to the "indifferent" management, that would be me, and the door to my office, directly off the lobby, is always open. I suspect the writer to be one of a very few persons asked to leave for some reason.
Roger Everingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Tiny room, tinier bathroom. Overpriced at $400 per night. Looked out on the parking lot. No coffee in the room. No ice machines anywhere. Rooms were clean enough but cheaply renovated, could have been a classier reno. Public areas were nice. Staff nice, but if we hadn't had to pay for 4 days in advance we would have checked out.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

It's true our bathrooms are not large which is kind of typical of an older hotel. Perhaps the guest didn't notice the French beveled tile or the Waterworks fixtures and the spotless housekeeping. A few rooms look over the rooftop parking at Sak's 5th Avenue to the pleasing vista of the Town of Palm Beach and the Atlantic Ocean. Palm Beach is seasonal, like Saratoga Springs or the Hamptons which is reflected in the rate- there are terrific values during the "off" season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Had a gorgeous Easter brunch here beside the pool. The service was spectacular and the food at the Polo was great. The rooms areva little old but he charm is unbeatable. If you can splurge on the suite do it - the view is worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pechorin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Have a confirmation with presidential penthouse on it and it is not the room we got even though we were charged for it. No one cares that it was already booked.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virginiajk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Manager at Colony Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Oh, yes, we remember these folks who arrived after, apparently, a liquid lunch on Worth Avenue. The guests in the Presidential Penthouse had not checked out so they were upgraded to our best accommodation, the Duke and Duchess of Windsor Penthouse, which carries a higher rate however, The Colony honored the lower rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Although the weather left much to be desired, our stay at The Colony was great. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It is a bit on the expensive side, but a delicious breakfast (off the menu) is included. It's a short walk to the beach and the hotel provides chairs, umbrellas, and towels. There is also a pool on the premises. Friday night rocks with a motown band and on site is a cabaret with live entertainment. For $15 a day, you can valet your car with in and out privileges. There is also free internet services and wireless. All in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for king bed and good view
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fisher3pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
0.4 mi away
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
The Chesterfield Palm Beach
#3 of 10 in Palm Beach
756 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brazilian Court Hotel
The Brazilian Court Hotel
#5 of 10 in Palm Beach
613 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton West Palm Beach
Hilton West Palm Beach
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Downtown
Hyatt Place West Palm Beach Down...
#8 of 34 in West Palm Beach
880 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#2 of 10 in Palm Beach
2,284 reviews
5.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort, Palm Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Hotel

Address: 155 Hammon Ave, Palm Beach, FL 33480-4709
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Beach
Price Range: $217 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel is a full service luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Palm Beach, just around the corner from Worth Avenue and steps away from the beach. Small in size but with great personality, the Colony is home of The Royal Room Cabaret, Cafe 155 and Polo Steaks and Seafood. Friendly staff and impeccable service is a standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Palm Beach
Colony Hotel Palm Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing