We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Baby Back Ribs”

The Shack Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 150 Restaurants in Palm Bay
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Old owners are back along with great food!
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Baby Back Ribs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I dined at the Shack Restaurant last week. I had the Baby Back Ribs and he had the Baked Tuna dinner. Both dinners were delicious. The ribs were done perfectly and fell right off the bone. Very tender.
The baked tuna dinner was also prepared the way my husband likes it.
Enjoyed our night out at this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    91
    46
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vero
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Huge Portions!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I visited The Shack Seafood Restaurant in Palm Bay, Florida, yesterday afternoon. We got there for a late lunch/early dinner. The menu was extremely varied with everything from Florida fish to New England fish to shell fish -- it was difficult to decide what to get. My husband had New England Clam Chowder and a Haddock dinner. The chowder was good, but his jaw dropped when he saw the fish! The portion of fish was enormous -- on a bed of spinach and a side of broccoli and a large baked potato. I ordered fried Sea Scallops with steak fries and coleslaw. I order sea scallops fairly regularly, but I usually get around 4 or 5 scallops and as few as 3 -- for the same price range. I couldn't believe it, but I was served 9 enormous, tender scallops! The entire meal was extraordinary. I couldn't finish everything. The price was $18.95 for my scallops and $16.95 for my husband's fish. We will definitely be back with lots of friends. Beautiful views of the Indian River. Great friendly service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Florida seafood at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Don't let the name fool you. This restaurant, on the shores of the Indian River Lagoon, on U.S. 1 in Melbourne is light years away from being a "shack." Yes, there is rustic charm, along with wonderful views of the river. But the main reason for the popularity this very casual restaurant is the quality of its food and service. Dine outside on a deck, at an inside table by the windows, or simply have a Happy Hour drink with friends at the comfortable bar. Excellent Florida seafood entrees and, of course dishes for landlubbers, too, has made The Shack a local favorite for lunch or dinner for many, many years.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One Disaster after another”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Sat night, 7:30 and staff complaining they are swamped when lots of empty tables. 30 min wait and theh a table by the exit used for employee smoke breaks. Super SLOW kitchen, raw appetizers, cold main entree's sent back. What a horrible place! OVERPRICED! Skimpy portions! Flavorless processed/frozen food! Certainly would never go back or recommend even to an enemy! A truly horrible place

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stopped after a day at the beach. We set out on the porch and enjoyed the evening. The food was perfect and plentiful. You will not go away hungry.
The place was also decorated for Halloween and was really "spooky". It was fun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JTelshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Malabar, Brevard County
 
Melbourne Beach, Brevard County
 

Been to The Shack Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing