We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream villa in a dream location”
other traveler has booked this property
Awarded as the leading private luxury villa in Greece from World Travel Award
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Awarded as the leading private luxury villa in Greece from World Travel Award
Facade of the villa Private infinity swimming pool with panoramic view!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Awarded as the leading private luxury villa in Greece from World Travel Award
Facade of the villa
Private infinity swimming pool with panoramic view!
Barbecue and outdoor dining table near the pool
Living room area with sea view
Living room area with sea view
Living room area with modern fireplace
Fully equipped kitchen with branded electric devices!
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
en-suite bathroom of the main bedroom with Jacuzzi bath and luxury marble surface (Rossa Portogallo)
The second bedroom
The second bedroom
en-suite bathroom of the second bedroom
The wooden sauna will offer you moments of relaxation.
The interior of the sauna!
Gym equipment available in the Villa.
The gym area has a beautiful sea view as well.
Our wine cooler stores wines with unique and rare varieties
Indoor garden
Bathroom next to the living, kitchen, dining area
Sunset time from our pool
Enjoy sunset time from our pool or terrace!
Infinity swimming pool
Wonderful view from balcony, enjoy beautiful sunset from our balcony!
Wonderful view from balcony, enjoy beautiful sunset from our balcony!
Entrance - Parking area
Balcony next to the kitchen, breathtaking views from any angle!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ravdoucha, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Russian first
Any
English first
TopheShan...
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“Dream villa in a dream location”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you are an amateur of modern and elegant designs, and if you love holidaying in truly authentic and unspoiled locations, you will never find better than Villa Athina. The comfort and the service are simply 5 star and the Villa stands in a paradise of sea, olives groves, mountain roads, small hidden beaches and calm villages. Nikkos the owner welcomed us with food and wine and made sure that we were comfortable in a non invasive way during our 10 days there. There are many amazing things to do and visit around the area, but just coming back to the villa after each tour was a blissful experience. Don't miss it , staying there will rejuvenate you #AthinaRavingFan

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspasiaLo...
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent modern architecture in beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Perched on a hillside with sensational views over the sea, this excitingly designed villa is entirely private from its next-door twin. Its kitchen equipment, from dishwasher to knives, is of a higher quality than one normally finds in holiday villas. The bbq is usefully accompanied by a sink and fridge. Very peaceful - apart from the usual crickets. The owner is charming, friendly and generous. My only suggestion for improvement would be rather more shade near the pool and bbq: the Cretan sun is fierce!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Yves...
Annecy, France
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Not in the winter”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Spectacular villa, but not in the winter. Impossible to heat and lost in the middle of nowhere . Pool and spa not heated. I would only recommend in spring or summer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManilaSky...
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Excellence”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife and I along with our two young children arranged to stay at the villa Athina on short notice. Nikos welcomed us upon arrival not as mere guest, but as family with arms wide open and gifts for my children. Not to mention delicious wine, fresh local fruits, stocked refrigerator and pantry with the most essential items such as milk, bread, eggs, coffee, cold cuts, butter, cheese, bread, bottles water, etc. While remote in a most tranquil environment, it was quite easy to get to with directions provided on the Ravdoucha Epavlis website. Definitely a beautiful drive thought the hills. Nikos recommended the most perfect place to eat and relax known as Waves on the Rock - Taverna - Café, which is located just down the hill from the villa on a secluded Ravdoucha Beach. They make an excellent breakfast as well. The property is perfect without flaw and is most relaxing throughout the day as it's not in a tourist zone; however, near to Chania, Kissamos, and Balos Beach (HIGHLY Recommended). Nikos even arranged for a well known Greek Chef to cook us a private dinner at the villa. The villa felt like a home and my kids absolutely enjoyed staying here and did not want to leave on our day of departure. We will definitely return with our parents next time.....it's too beautiful not to want to share this experience with loved ones. The villa, while perfect in everyway, it is not the main factor for wanting to return....it's how we were treated and how comfortable we felt. Nikos, thank you for the wonderful experience.....until next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Multiple areas to rest and relax
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaculpa1...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning "home from home"”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

If you think the pictures are too good to be true, then you will be amazed when you get there! The location on the edge of Ravdoucha gives breathtaking views and everything you need either as a family or a couple is there for you. We were welcomed by the owner Dr. Nikos Manousakis, who made us feel like it was our home and provided all the local knowledge and information you needed, not just on arrival, but throughout the week we were there.

From breakfast on the balcony through afternoons in the pool and evenings on the terrace, this was the perfect place to relax and also an ideal base to explore this part of Crete.

The wonderful beaches of Falassarna, Elafonossi and Balos - Gramvousa (would recommend the boat cruise to get there) are all within easy reach, although having a car with some ground clearence is advisable. If you can take your training shoes and you don't have very young children then also take the opportunity to travel just east of Chania and trek down the cliff to the beautiful secluded beach of Seitan Limania.

But wherever we went, it was the perfect close to the day to come back "home" to Villa Athina and relax, enjoying the spectacular scenes from the balconies and terraces as the sun set over the bay of Kissamos-Kastelli.

We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful airy rooms and its spectacular location
Liked least: Nothing to note
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorelei-L...
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Ravishing Ravdoucha”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Searching the web for a lovely villa to escape to after a miserable English winter, somewhere with a chance of sun, warmth and relaxation I had the good fortune to come across Villa Athina at Ravdoucha. We were sold on the pictures of fabulous views and a lovely interior space should it not be warm enough to sit out in the evenings. Villa Athina excelled even our expectations. We were lucky to have a warm and sunny 11 days at the beginning of May but even if it had been cooler the clever architectural design of Villa Athina with its comfortable and attractive living area, opening up onto two different outdoor balconies, would have meant we never felt confined indoors.

Our only dilemma was whether to leave the comfort of the villa and its quiet and attractive close surroundings to explore the wider countryside of Chania province or just to relax around the villa so mesmerized by the views I couldn't concentrate on my book. Venturing further afield proved equally rewarding, the pleasant town of Kissamos, the Balos Peninsula, the astonishing wildflowers burgeoning in May, and some great photos of vultures we got after a bone-shaking hours ride in our rented Jeep to the end of the Rodopou peninsula. (Tip: the Balos peninsula track is negotiable in any car if you are careful but the Rodopou peninsula is a definite 4x4 job!)

The host/owner is justifiably very proud of his villa and we will remember his kindness and the lovely pastries he bought us! We've stayed in some pretty good villas in the past but I think Villa Athina is tops particularly as many of the best villas really cater for larger numbers. Villa Athina was perfect for two but would be equally good for 4 as both bedrooms were of equal merit and there was plenty of space and different areas to be in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The design of the villa which made the most of the fab views from both inside and outside areas
Liked least: The lovely pool was (as expected) cold at that time of year but I swam in it every day anyway!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernt R
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“The perfect place for vacation !”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just marvellous ! A completely new, fancy and modern villa with several terraces, an amazing pool and a big barbecue area ! We have been there with 2 adults and 3 kids and enjoyed it very much ! When the owner saw that we are with kids, he extra came back and brought toys for the pool and sweeties. Very calm corner of the island but not far away by car from some beautiful beaches and bays. Highly recommandable ! We will come back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: perfect, modern villa with a breathtaking view in a non-touristic area
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing