We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Thai food in the area”
Review of The Blackwell Ox

The Blackwell Ox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Blackwell Ox Inn and Holiday Lodge Park is a traditional, welcoming country pub, which serves food with a difference. We offer authentic Thai cuisine a range of light meals and hot baguettes, and traditional English fare, all freshly prepared and using local ingredients where possible.Privately owned and with considerable character and charm, it is an ideal venue for the discerning diner. We offer a friendly, cosy relaxed atmosphere, complete with open log fires where you can enjoy your meal.Our speciality is authentic Thai cuisine prepared on the premises by our resident Thai chefs. Traditional English fayre and a large selection of real ales is also available. A large, safe children’s adventure play area is available for the warmer months.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The best Thai food in the area”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Have been a regular diner for over 12 years and can hand on heart say I have never had a bad meal. Excellent choice of Thai meals (even better at tea time special prices) and a good range of English meals.......all in a beautiful setting in the north York moors national park. You can even rent a holiday lodge in the rear gardens .......oh and the best tree house I have ever seen in a pub garden

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beefyfloharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    88
    18
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Never lets us down”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

1st can I say how on earth can people say that this is like Iceland frozen food....it is all prepared to order. We have been visiting for the past 10 years and are never disappointed....the happy hour prices are excellent value for money....good size portions with plenty of flavour....We gave visited Thailand on many occasions and can honestly say this is as good as it gets outside the country. I ask for mine to be spiced as they would in Thailand and they never fail.....Staff are great as well....Keep up the good work all...

Helpful?
1 Thank wishyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I hadn't been to the Blackwell Ox in ages and a friend and I decided to visit for their teatime special.

The location and setting is very unique, Thai food served in an old country pub.

We decided to get a sharing platter starter for two and we were both very disappointed with this as the food came it was very similar to poor quality and processed Iceland party food!

Not long after our mains came, we both opted for the beef and chicken stir fry with steamed rice, again the quality of the food was poor and was very bland however the portion sizes were decent.

Overall I wont be returning but do hope that things improve as this place used too be one of my favourite places to eat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JC1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Thai cuisine 5 stars”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Our 2nd visit to Blackwell Ox, without a shadow of a doubt, one of the best Thai food we have had in a very long time, all credit goes to the Chef. Will be fantastic to try some British Cuisine too.

Clean-Fresh & Taste

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELZONE2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai dishes”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have visited this pub many times and we are never disappointed with the Thai dishes. We visited with the grandchildren in tow and had another very nice meal washed down with a couple of pints of very well kept real ale. As usual the pub was very busy but the food was served hot and tasty. In addition to the pub itself it is situated in a lovely little village which is in easy reach of the main roads but quite enough if you want a nice walk.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D10genes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackwell Ox also viewed

Swainby, North Yorkshire
Stokesley, North Yorkshire
 
Stokesley, North Yorkshire
Great Broughton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Blackwell Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing