We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fijn hotel”
Review of Bintang Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bintang Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Moni
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fijn hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Spend two nights in this hotel with our 13 and 17 years old daughters. Beautifull, clean rooms with great view over the valley. At night cool temparature. Tobias and his family are very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast and diner were tastefull. We had a great time. Highly recommanded!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilbert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    53
    32
    23
    21
See reviews for
17
75
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

This lodge is used by tour drivers to bring european tourists to Kelimutu and otherwise not much people would stop here. Rate is cheap, but they get you with outrageous prices for bike or ojek to Kelimutu. Rent a bike is 140k.... rooms were simple and dirty. Restaurant is overcrowded by sone weird reason, there is plenty options for food at local warungs

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in the economy double room, which had a lovely front terrace, comfy double bed and mosquito net. There is not much to do in Moni itself and after visiting Kelimutu we enjoyed the chilled out "island" vibe sitting on the terrace. Officially the National Park is closed, but the locals are more than willing to take you up for 100,000IDR. We asked to leave at 04:30 so we could catch the sunrise, but were told they only left at 05:00. We missed the sunrise by the time we walked up to the volcano, but as it was cloudy we weren't too upset. The room is quite nosey as its next to the Main Street, though this wasn't so much of an issue for us. Moni is very small so wherever you stay you'll be within walking distance of pretty much everything. We never ate at Bintang restaurant, but went to a place further up the road. We had to wait nearly 2 hours one evening, but after visiting another place and waiting nearly an hour we figured prompt service is not high on people's agendas here! We were moving onto Ende after a few days stay and were told Bemos go through Moni frequently so no need to book. The morning we left we told Billy when we were ready to leave and he hailed a Bemo down when the next one passed. We struck gold as the one we got was new, not rammed full of people and goods, cost 30,000IDR each and took 1.5hrs to get to Ende.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We were looking forward to stay in Moni to see Kelimutu. We mailed Bintang Lodge for accommodation and recieved an email that we should transfer the money to their bank account in advance, even though they never told us the amount. We asked if was possible to pay on arrival and they agreed but couldn't promisse a room. They also asked us for a conformation one day before. Unfortunately we got to know that Kelimutu National Park was closed because of safety reasons. So we informed them three days in advance that we couldnt come. Instead we got a very unpleasant reply from Bintang. They claimed that we had lied to them and that we were planing to come to Moni anyway. This is a wired way to treat people and we felt very offended. So next time when we come to Moni, we will definitely not stay in Bintang Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stay in the Bintang Lodge for 3 days and is definitely the best place to stay in Moni, in terms of location, cleanness and atmosphere. The staff was extremely friendly and they were very generous with me as it was my birthday and they surprised me a beautiful cake and a small party. I will never thank you enough for making my day special!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiovannaN1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were eating Gado Gado in the Bintang Cafe and were very disappointed. The peanut Sauce wasn't tasty and the vegetables were cooked too long.
Maybe this is not the place to eat real Indonesian Food. If you want to eat Indonesian Food in Moni you'll find better places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetoMartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights and it was fabulous. Rooms are spotless and the restaurant is a great place to meet other travelers. A big thanks to Tobias, Denty, Billy and Andy who made my stay here so memorable. They treat you like family and are concerned with the safety and welfare of their guests and will assist with anything you may need. I needed to go to Ende often to use the internet and without complaint they drove the 2 hours to/from Moni on several days to accommodate me. Moni is a terrific place to relax and unwind and visit Kelimutu (of course!), the hot springs and waterfall, or just meet the friendly local people in the villages. Do book early since this place fills up quickly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinister7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moni
33.5 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
30.5 mi away
CAPA Resort Maumere
CAPA Resort Maumere
#4 of 5 in Maumere
29 reviews
136.0 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#7 of 41 in Flores
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
136.2 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
423 reviews
26.0 mi away
Sylvia Hotel
Sylvia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Maumere
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintang Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintang Lodge

Property: Bintang Lodge
Address: Moni, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Moni
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Moni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing