We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where's the Meat?”
Review of El Potro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Potro
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Oviedo, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where's the Meat?”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the prices, but quickly reminded that "You get what you pay For." I am not an over-eater, if anything, I eat less than most people. The amount we were served was incredibly small! I can't imagine the size of their kid meals. The enchilada was miniature size, the tacos also. My family, 3 adults and two children, were ALL still hungry...and our kids didn't order a kids meal! The food was bland as far as Mexican food goes. Oddly enough, contrary to what I have just read in the reviews, the servicers were not rude at all. But we won't be back to find out if they're all nice. Had the food been better, we would have gone back for the buffet, that way we would get a descent amount of food. It's not horrible food at all, just not great. The beef is dry, the amount of chicken in the quesadillas is small, and the tortillas are very small and bland. I hate to post such a negative review, but just wanted to warn families of the quantity being such a big disappointment.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
301 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We usually go to their site in Apopka but when visiting family in Oviedo, we always go to this one. Just like Apopka, they offer consisently good food, good service and helpfull, friendly staff. Their buffets are good for the prices they charge and they have accomodated any special request we have ever had. Never, in many years ,have we ever had any kind of bad experience at their Oviedo of Apopka site. We love them!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAMAPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Food. Fast Service”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Enjoy going to El Potro for Mexican Food. The food is good. The service is fast and attentive. I love the fajitas there. It is not fancy. We go several times a year and enjoy it. No complaints.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overall Good”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We usually go to a different location of El Potro, but were in the area one day and decided to stop for lunch. We had the buffet, which was good, but the selection is smaller than the one where we usually eat. They still had all of the meats, different tortillas and things to be able to create your own dish as well. The area around the buffet is crowded, especially if there are a few people trying to get food at the same time. Some of the food was older when we were there, but I guess that's to be expected with any buffet. Overall, everything there was good. We will definitely continue visiting the location on Kirkman/Conroy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ga486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Mexican food”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Very good food and service. Large group accomodations and with a good variety of dishes.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BennyAls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Potro also viewed

Oviedo, Central Florida
 
Oviedo, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing