We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs to go, please!”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #19 of 146 Restaurants in Oviedo
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ribs to go, please!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I ordered 5 lbs of sweet & smokey ribs to go, for a potluck party. Showed up the next day, they were ready and nicely packaged to go. Not a worry about what to bring … and, Boy, did I score! You can count on some else bringing the meatballs and bean dips. These ribs were tasty and popular.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank INoteboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
INoteboom, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that our ribs were a hit at your potluck party. We appreciate your business and hope you choose us again for your next party!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good buffet!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Returned last night for the buffet.
We had stopped going after they had changed the salad bar, which was the primary reason we used to go.
Although their BBQ was always very good as well.
We decided to just stop in again anyway and found the salad bar as good as ever.
Wonderful servers and we will be back again frequently.

Helpful?
Thank Clownswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Clownswife, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our salad bar again with our buffet. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The staff are kind and caring”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My grandmother eats lunch here every single day, and they take extremely good care of her. They shorten her straws, combine things for a custom meal, and send her home with a hot dinner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sjboyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Sjboyden, thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear that your grandmother is a fan and that we can accommodate her needs so that she can enjoy her lunch on a daily basis. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you and your grandmother again for lunch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great bbq great price”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Always reliable and take out food is excellent. This is our comfort food, when we are out of ideas for dinner we stop at Sonny's and pick up a family pack. Even though it says for four, they would all have to be big eaters. This will feed 6 normal eaters. Best deal in town and always good

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value barbeque--you won't leave hungry”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Consistently good chain barbeque, great value, good prompt service. Try your sandwich on the garlic bread. The corn fritters are a favorite of mine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tpmfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 
Oviedo, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing