We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Experience”

Black Hammock Adventures
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Oviedo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Black Hammock Adventures is an exciting "Real Florida" lakeside experience like nowhere else just outside the City Beautiful, Orlando! Our airboat rides will take you on a thrilling exploration of Lake Jesup which has the largest alligator population in Florida. Our airboats are U.S. Coast Guard approved and driven by Licensed Master Captains. Every airboat tour includes your own personalized photo (with your own camera) holding our resident baby gator, Lucy. Get 10% at the Black Hammock Restaurant using your airboat ride ticket stub. Great for the whole family! Our on-site restaurant serves up your favorite Florida delicacies fresh daily. Try our Catfish Nuggets, Gator Bites, or Bangin' Shrimp! The Lazy Gator bar is open seven days a week and serves 2-4-1 Margaritas all day every day. Book your event with us! Our venue provides a unique backdrop for your corporate outing, birthday, field trip and much more.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went for the airboat ride and then ate at the restaurant afterwards. The airboat ride was fun, the guide was funny, knowledgeable and welcoming, and we even got to see a 12 foot gator. The guide made sure to cut the huge gator off so we could get an up close look at it. It was really cool. We went to the Black Hammock Restaurant after the airboat ride. We had gator bites, cat fish bites, and frog legs. Everything was delicious, but the frog legs in particular were AMAZING! I would highly recommend them. The are the best I've ever had! Overall, it was a great experience and you should definitely give Black Hammock a try.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    62
    21
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO, USA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A fun tour”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went in December when there aren't so many gators. On top of that, it rained shortly before our visit so even fewer gators were out. But this is no reflection on Black Hammock. We still enjoyed our ride. Our guide went out of his way to try and find gators for us. We only saw a few, but the whole experience was still worth it. This isn't just a ride. Our guide was very knowledgeable and told great stories. Fun gift shop. You get to hold a live gator and I never get tired of that. We would do this again anytime we are back in Orlando.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DanDLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“SOOOOOOOOOOO many alligators!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's a quick trip, but packed with lots of wildlife! Our kids, ages 6, 8 and 9 loved the airboat ride and Squishy the snake-we even got to see it eat a rat-bleh!! While I consider $5 kind of steep for a picture of the kids holding a baby alligator, to them the moment was priceless! It really is amazing how many alligators there are in Lake Jesup. While we did not partake of the refreshments, the gator bites and Coronas did look appetizing and the place had a good crowd. They also have live music some nights.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oceantraveler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“You'll see plenty of gators...and then some. Fun!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

On a recent trip to Florida we decided that we wanted to see Alligators in the wild. Black Hammock satisfied that urge and then some! It is located down a quiet road on Lake Jesup -which is reported to have the highest alligator count of any lake in Florida. The tour takes you on an air boat ride - an adventure in itself (air boats are noisy, and the company provides ear protection) piloted by guides who know their way around the lake and have a great eye for spotting gators. After a few minutes, we could easily spot them too. The guide provided lots of information about gators and the incredible variety of birds on the Lake. (Among the highlights were eagles, osprey, and dozens of wading birds). By the end of the tour, we had seen at least 40 gators, some very big. We were surprised by how fast they can move! The kids on the air boat were in awe...as were the adults.

There is a little restaurant on the grounds where you can try gator (from alligator farms, not trapped in the wild). If you buy your tour tickets first, you can get a discount on food. You can also pay to have your photo taken holding a small gator with his mouth taped closed. There are some beautiful birds on display too. The staff was friendly and accommodating. This was a great trip. I would do it again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dedicatedhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome place!!!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is my 3rd return trip to the Black Hammock. I took my grandson on the airboat ride and I am not to sure what Benjamin loved more the ride or Captain Steve. The staff makes you feel so welcome, especially Bethany in the gift shop. Don't miss this experience when you visit Florida!! Thank -you Black Hammock!!
Lori

Helpful?
Thank ldcoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hammock Adventures also viewed

Sanford, Central Florida
 
Oviedo, Central Florida
 

Been to Black Hammock Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing