We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure at it's best!”

Black Hammock Adventures
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Oviedo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Black Hammock Adventures is an exciting "Real Florida" lakeside experience like nowhere else just outside the City Beautiful, Orlando! Our airboat rides will take you on a thrilling exploration of Lake Jesup which has the largest alligator population in Florida. Our airboats are U.S. Coast Guard approved and driven by Licensed Master Captains. Every airboat tour includes your own personalized photo (with your own camera) holding our resident baby gator, Lucy. Get 10% at the Black Hammock Restaurant using your airboat ride ticket stub. Great for the whole family! Our on-site restaurant serves up your favorite Florida delicacies fresh daily. Try our Catfish Nuggets, Gator Bites, or Bangin' Shrimp! The Lazy Gator bar is open seven days a week and serves 2-4-1 Margaritas all day every day. Book your event with us! Our venue provides a unique backdrop for your corporate outing, birthday, field trip and much more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Temecula, CA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Adventure at it's best!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited the Black Hammock which sits on the shores of beautiful Lake Jesup in Oviedo, FL. It is the most overpopulated body of water with alligators. It has always been a dream of mine to travel the alligator-infested waters of Florida on an air boat. Our pilot, Auggie, did a fantastic job showing us all of the wonders that Mother Nature created there. We went to bird island to see the White Ibis which are an endangered species, alligators of all sizes, and right in front of our boat, a 10-foot alligator emerged from the water to claim its prey! My only advice is this: for those who have long hair, I highly recommend putting it in a ponytail/braid, as the velocity of the boat along with the winds will turn your hair into a rat's nest. I would definitely go back again!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frugal_Traveler92593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    62
    21
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Black Hammock Airboat Tour”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very knowlegable and friendly staff. Saw a few gators in the wild! Whole experience is well worth doing. The highlight was definitely holding a live 2ft gator at the end.....Superb! 5/5

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The air boat tours at Black Hammock Adventures is a great way to experience Lake Jessup -- unfortunately, we only saw 2 or 3 small gators as it was a warm and windy day. Our guide, Captain Steve, was very knowledgeable and showed us a great time!
Cons -- If you are staying in the Orlando area it is a bit of a jaunt out to Black Hammock. I thought the price, $26/person, seemed a little high.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hannah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Totally Unexpected!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a groupon deal that I had been saving for our family summer vacation. When we went to use it the stay accomodated us without any hassle. It was soooo much fun to be on a airboat catching gators! It was scary and exciting all at thesame time! My 10 year old twin boys absolutely loved it! We learned a lot about the different birds and saw alligator nests. Afterwards we got to taste alligator meat! My family got pictures taken with my husband holding an alligator, that I of course refused to touch! This attraction was the highlight of our FL vacation, even over Legoland! Our boat narrarator was awesome and very informative! Would do this excursion again in a heartbeat! Plus we purchased these awesome back scratchers from the gift shop that were made from real alligator paws. Our family members back home loved them! The alligator nails make them really sharp and they hit the spot!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TNTsmom02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Great Fun”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I brought 8 friends from around the country and they all raved about the good time they had air boating and seeing the lake and birds and alligators. The captain was very good and informative. They all enjoyed holding the alligator and getting their photos with him. The alligator bites in the restaurant afterwards were ok. But the bartender was friendly and it topped off a fun experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hammock Adventures also viewed

Sanford, Central Florida
 
Oviedo, Central Florida
Oviedo, Central Florida
 

Been to Black Hammock Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing