We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dining for Whole Family on Busy Friday Night”
Review of Bimini Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Bimini Bar & Grill
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Waterfront Restaurant and Bar with sunset views. Casual Bar on 1st level. View dining on second level (elevator). Friendly service, fresh seafood and a great value for scratch cooking from fish tacos to filet mignon.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Dining for Whole Family on Busy Friday Night”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My family and I dined at Bimini on Good Friday evening. Joining another couple and their children, we arrived just before 7:30 p.m. and were able to be seated immediately despite the fact the restaurant was rather crowded. Everyone had an excellent meal. We started with an excellent crab and artichoke dip and fantastic coconut shrimp. The decision on our entrees was difficult. The restaurant proprietor is apparently from Philadelphia so a cheese steak is one of the features. My wife tried it and was very impressed. I had the bouillabaisse which was fabulous. Our kids all liked their meals too. We split some excellent peanut butter and key lime pie for dessert. Wine and beer selections were more than adequate. The pricing at this restaurant was very reasonable. It has a nice ambiance, a friendly wait staff, and a great location. Apparently you can dock there easily from the inter coastal.

Thank HStyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Be Aware”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Be Aware! I read the below reviews and it seemed to be a great place for food. However, if you like fish and chips I suggest you go down the street to Casey Fish House. This by far was the worst
meal I ever had in this area. But, if you like your fish and chips mussy and coated with a 1/4 inch of dough then this is your place. Not sure, but I suspect they purchase this as a frozen product then deep fried it. You can do the same when you go to Publix and buy the frozen breaded fish and then deep fry it at home. My friend ordered the same and was also very disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank raykaczy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S C, Owner at Bimini Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear raykaczy. We are so dissapointed to hear that you had a less than excellent experience. We take great pride in hand breading all of our seafood. We never purchase a prebreaded product. It's a labor of love, but we would not have it any other way. Our fish and chips is prepared to order with our home-made Tempura batter, using our own "Bimini Brew". It sounds like it was made too thick on the day you came in. We definately realize that our product needs to be consistant, 100% of the time. Although it saddens us to hear this review, we are using the opportunity to refine our method and training to ensure the perfect product, every time. We do appologize and would sincerely appreciate another opportunity to demonstrate to you our love of cooking, and the care that goes into every dish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great view”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Service and food were great. We arrived a bit late and had no trouble getting seated. Our fish was great. The view also is nice during the daytime.

Visited February 2013
Thank Guy_from_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Would not recommend!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Read a review in a local Venice paper and was excited to try it since it sounded like a place we would like to visit. There were five of us and we first went to the bar for 'Happy Hour". Drove a distance to get there. We like good, cold draft beer. As we sat down the bartender told us that the compressor was broken and we would not be able to have any draft beer--that was not a good sign. Then we went with bottled beer and I asked if we would be compensated for "Happy Hour" and was told no the owner would not do that. At that point we decided that if they could were going to charge us full price during "Happy Hour" time, we would not stay there for dinner. As we left, the bartender was telling another table of folks that something was ordered and it didn't come in so they would not be able to have it--could it have been another story about the beer?? Who knows, but we were not impressed. Got in the car and went down around Casey Key to Pop's Waterfront Restaurant and had an excellent meal. Would never go back to Bimini Bar & Grill!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
3 Thank Connie52339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wonderful surprise to find great food, service and view all at a very affordable price. Most unique clam chowder I have ever tasted, it had lots of flavor and was seasoned perfectly. Grilled Mahi Mahi were equally flavorful and the fish was perfectly cooked. Can't wait to return and try some of their other dishes. Two meals and two glasses of wine and the bill was under $50.00 including tip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edc8912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bimini Bar & Grill also viewed


Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing