We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite restaurants”
Review of Bimini Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Bimini Bar & Grill
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Waterfront Restaurant and Bar with sunset views. Casual Bar on 1st level. View dining on second level (elevator). Friendly service, fresh seafood and a great value for scratch cooking from fish tacos to filet mignon.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The service was excellent. The food was very good and the presentation was fantastic.
I will be there at least once a week from now on. I'll have to try everything on the menu.
The view is fabulous and the sunset is remarkable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not an option”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Casey Key Fish House was so crowded we decided to try this place down the street. OK menu, OK bar, outdoor options. (however with red tide going on, outdoors was not an option). We ate in the bar as it was early and the restaurant area was very empty. Martini was lousy. Chicken tenders, average. When asked if we wanted sauce for them, we requested sweet n sour. Server never returned and when he finally did, said nope we have nothing. Most of the meal was done by then. Bimini Bouillabaisse was terrible. All of the fish was overcooked. Very little rice to soak up the "gravy." Karaoke was about to begin, in a very small bar, so we were ready to go. When the server, with zero personality, gave us the bill, we noticed he did not charge us for our 2nd round of drinks. We pointed that out and barely received an acknowledgement. If we ever return, it will be to have a drink outside as it does offer water views. Besides that, no thank you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Hpychk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete C, Owner at Bimini Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We want to express how disappointed we are that you had anything less than an excellent experience at the Bimini. As a “Mom & Pop” shop, we truly care about each guest, and we cannot allow a valuable patron, such as yourself, to leave dissatisfied.

Although our Bouillabaisse generally receives rave reviews, we clearly we not performing up to our own standards on the day that you came in. We have discussed your issues with chef and kitchen staff, who will take great care to ensure that they do not overcook the seafood in our Bouillabaisse, and we are now back to hand breading our chicken tenders to order, after briefly experimenting with a different product. We are also currently interviewing many exciting bartender candidates and we expect to have some new faces in place before the end of the week.
We respectfully request that you give us another shot and offer you Lunch or Dinner on us. We sincerely apologize for your negative experience and would appreciate an opportunity to make it up to you.

Thank You,
Stephanie & Pete Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Oh
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Thanksgiving Feast”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were at our condo during Thanksgiving 2012 and looked around for a place to enjoy Thanksgiving dinner. We found an ad for Bimini and made a reservation. Due to a mix-up on our part, we got the time confused and the restaurant called and were very nice about it. We stated that we were still coming and were on our way. Fortunately, we had an early time so they weren't crowded when we got there(but were when we left). The buffet included champagne and the owner came around and poured refills! The food was fresh and very good with the usual standards. Dessert and coffee were also included in the price which was very reasonable and less than most of the other restaurants we checked. We will be going back when we are in the area again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank Prickamongus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibbsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of our new favorites”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Been here several times over the last few months. Service is excellent and the food is good. The menu has something for everyone. Nice Bar downstairs and restaurant with a view upstairs. We wil be back. If you are looking for a change of pace and nice atmosphere give it a try.

Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bimini Bar & Grill is fantastic”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Unless you know where you are going, you might miss it. On the mainland at the swing bridge Bimini Bar & Grill is great. The bar is on the lower level and you can get the full menu in the bar. Very friendly and nice view of the harbor. Upstairs offers a better view with much more window seating. Food is excellent. If you happen to try the Crab Cake, tell your table mates that you are not sharing. It's too good to share. Have eaten here three times now and each time was excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bimini Bar & Grill also viewed


Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing