We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cove on Ormond Beach
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Harrodsburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Checkin was crowded and desk clerks did not greet us at all. They seemed stressed and not very welcoming. Lobby appearance was bland/boring. We stated in south tower, do not like that there is no office/attendant at south tower so if you have any issues with keys or anything you have to walk over to north. Slowest elevator I've ever experienced at a hotel. We stayed on 3rd floor and used stairs 95% of our stay since waiting on the elevator took too long. Pool area was small and crowded. The pictures definetly made it look nicer. And apparently the smoking area is on the walkway to the beach. Not very pleasant for families with little kids having to walk thru smokey air. Rooms are nice and clean. Disappointed with our ocean view, which is 90% parking lot, 10 % ocean. All in all, will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoo_hoo_40330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    177
    88
    32
    25
See reviews for
256
150
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days. We are a family of 5. Our 3 kids range in age from 8 to 2.

Good: the pool is so perfect for little kids! Lazy river, walk in splash area for toddlers and the slide is awesome! My 8 year old went down it a million times. The pool does NOT have an actual swimming area though, but perfect for little kids.
The beach is so easily accessible and the staff sets up chairs and umbrellas for you! Also there are water bottles which is a great plus.
The room was nice and clean. Our room was an awkward layout. The dining room was separated from the living area.

The bad: I really hated not have a washer and dryer. This is the first condo I have ever stayed in the didn't have one! Well if you want to pay $4 for one load! No way! With 3 kids I prefer to keep up with the laundry, so now I am going home with heaps of dirty clothes.
I thought the $100 hold they put on your credit card to be ridiculous, especially since I had already paid for the entire stay in full.
Check out is at 10 am which in my opinion is way too early! At 9:45 the maid was outside our door waiting for us to leave!

The location and pool make it amazing. If the other issues don't bother you then go for it. I'm not sure if the cost is quite worth it. Don't forget they tack on a resort fee for each day too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank JessandJoey2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

This is not my first stay at the Cove. I will admit my previous stay was more satisfying. They are in the process of becoming a Diamond Resort, and perhaps the process of changing over has things unsettled. The staff was friendly at check-in, but seemed stressed. I experienced the same attitude when rejecting the request to attend the timeshare meeting. It was as if I didn't matter anymore. A question I posed was met with a quick, sharp response. The room was very nice and clean on the surface. But it was clear housekeeping hadn't swept under the furniture, as we found a half eaten doughnut in the living room, and candy under one of the beds. In their defense, some have complained about the towel exchange. It was explained to us at check-in, and not a problem. We just did it on our way out to sightsee each morning. I personally prefer not to have strangers in my room daily, so taking my own trash to a receptacle at the end of the hall was no problem. My BIGGEST complaint is not being able to confirm the room type (1 or 2 beds in 2nd bedroom, and whether or not it would have a washer / dryer - when flying and staying more than a couple of days, that's VERY important to me!) Overall we enjoyed our stay, but will check things out before making reservations next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank photobug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place was amazing, me and my boyfriend just wanted a weekend get away to relax and enjoy and that's what we did. The one bedroom apartment we got was beautiful, it has all you need inside. The beach and sand are amazing, loved the area and all the places the hotel referred us to, specially Stone Wood Restaurant right across amazing food and wine. Carebbean Jacks more towards down town area is great, and other places i forgot around the beach, loved the area can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corryton, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here with my husband, seven year old daughter, and two teenage sisters. Having two full bedrooms and baths was a major plus with teenage girls! The condo was very spacious and had many amenities for the kids. We enjoyed the renovated unit, nice kitchen, balcony off every room and large living room area. The pool was great. We all enjoyed the waterpark feature. Nice location. Plenty of room by pool and plenty of chairs, never over crowded. We went using a friends timeshare, and were never hassled by anyone. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CorryTNgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a family reunion here a week ago. 2 of the families drove from Illinois and one from here in florida. My one sister is an owner and made her reservation in December for a bedroom in North tower. When they arrived they told her they didn't have a room in the north tower for her only in the south. we have stayed here before and are aware the North tower rooms and much nicer and much larger that is why she requested the north. then my brother and family right after her and they told him they didn't even have his reservation. he made it in December as well and luckily had a copy. they wanted to relocate his family to another location!!! WHAT? we are having our reunion there! he luckily had a copy of the reservation that he made thru expedia and had been paid for since dec. They finally got him a room in the south tower and he was supposed to have north tower as well. But the room was a handicap room on the 2nd floor no view except of a bush. He reserved am ocean view room. They said they couldn't refund the differance because the upgraded him to have a washer and dryer which he didn't even want. can you believe it?!!!!! Then 2 days later me and my family arrived and they said they had a room but we were early and they would call when the room was ready. an hour later they called and said they needed to relocate us!! WTH!!! THEY JUST SaiD THEY HAD A ROOM!!! Well we told them no way they better find one. They said well this doesn't happen very often. of course we told them oh really because it happened to all 3 of our family members and one is an owner!! Is that anyway to treat an owner or a guest? to say the least we will NEVER go back there, ever!!! and we have been there several times in the past for our reunion. We are all writing reviews on as many review sites as we can. we were talking about it at the beach and some people who we did not know overheard us and they said the same thing happened to them!! Don't go here unless you want to be disappointed and angry!!! Oh and the water slide wasn't working when we were there either as others have stated.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janet t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked our reservation at least 120 days in advance and during the reservation asked for a 2 bedroom unit with the second bedroom with 2 beds. We specifically said if this was not possible to let us know. A month later after no response, we called and they said to call back a week before our arrival and they would work it out for us to have this type of room. A week before our arrival, we called but "this type of room was no longer available." They said we could get a roll-away (to find out later this is $7.00 extra per night). Anyway, it was too late by this time to try and find something else. When we arrived, we were sent to the Concierge for "a parking pass." This is where they pressure you to take a 90 minute timeshare tour. This was our vacation and we had no plans to take a timeshare tour. After saying no it seems as everything changes. You are no longer their "VIP" as we heard several times before saying no to the tour. There is no housekeeping services. If you want clean towels, you have to take the dirty towels to the lobby to exchange for fresh towels. If you want toilet tissue, you have to go get it in the lobby. You have to take your own trash out. One of the ammenties that caught our eye was the pool slide. It did not work until late in the afternoon of our second day (we stayed 3 days). Looks like from other reviews, this happens frequently with some part or another of their pool. We did ask what the $10.00 per night extra "resort fee" included at check out. It includes use of their pool towels (we had our own), use of their beach chairs (we were never told this at the beginning-we saw people using them but thought you had to pay for them), parking pass (when you pay that much for somewhere to stay, parking should be free and the second car had to park across the street out of sight behind the IHOP), newspaper (never even saw a newspaper), WIFI (did not work the entire time we were there. At first they told us it was our laptop but someone who worked there told us it never worked there) and the lady at checkout could not remember what the other "resort fee" extras were. The worst was when we went to the lobby to use their computer, they had refreshments on a table. Our 5 year old Granddaughter asked if she could have some chips. They told us those were for their "VIP's" but they guessed she could have some. Why is not all of their guests "VIP's"??????

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Boyd45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond R, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We regret to hear that you were dissatisfied with your experience at our resort. Our team members work very hard to accommodate special requests; however, we apologize that we were unable to get you a second room with two beds, due to not having the availability. Rest assured, further training with our front desk team will be considered to assist guests with challenges for bed accommodations.
While we are a vacation ownership resort rather than a hotel, we are always happy to provide guests with additional information about our product; however, this opportunity is by no means necessary, just recommended. Your feedback about our team’s approach has been forwarded on to our Concierge Manager to address for coaching purposes.
Now regarding the water slide motor, the malfunctions were a result of a recent storm. This being said, we are glad our team worked diligently to resolve this matter quickly.
The resort service fee is charged for amenities available to our guests; however, again it appears additional training is required so that our agents are aware of the items this includes. The parking is free, and we ensure our confirmations state that this is one space per unit. Any additional vehicles that a guest brings, would indeed park at our off-site parking provided, which is also free for your convenience.
Being that we are a vacation ownership, housekeeping services will be provided upon request only for a nominal fee. Many of our guests take advantage of our towel exchange provided daily at our front desk as a convenience. Additional supplies are also available at the front desk. However, if we are aware of a request for towels or additional supplies from the guests, we do provide this as a complimentary service. You can also locate this information in our in-unit book listing our services. We truly do hope that you will choose to visit us again allowing us the opportunity to change your perception of our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
0.1 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,082 reviews
0.9 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 28 in Ormond Beach
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
68 reviews
1.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove on Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove on Ormond Beach

Property: The Cove on Ormond Beach
Address: 145 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-6620
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cove on Ormond Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxed approach to life on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean at The Cove On Ormond Beach. Absorb the warmth of the Florida sun watching a spectacular sunrise from your private balcony. Stroll down the beach with no set schedule and no particular place to go. Enjoy the excitement of Daytona Beach, just moments away. Relax to the sounds of the ocean at night in the beachfront hot tub. Explore shops and sights sure to please your inquisitive nature. Refresh your senses with your feet in the surf and your mind in the clouds.Directly on the beach of the Atlantic Ocean, this 112-condo resort features newly renovated one- and two-bedroom condo villas featuring a living room, a dining area, a full kitchen and a private balcony with an ocean view. Exciting extras include larger floor plans, upgraded furnishings, plasma TVs and in-condo washer and dryer. Settle back and enjoy the splendor of a Florida beach vacation, complete with sun, surf and small town charm. Recharge at the oceanfront activity deck,hot tub, barbecue and picnic area and direct access to the resort's over 150 feet of sandy beach. Swim laps in the indoor pool or relax in the guest lounges. Experience the best of land and sea - golfing, shelling, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, theatre shows, river rides, gambling cruises and Daytona International Speedway. Discover the mysteries of St. Augustine's Fort Matanzas on a leisurely day trip. Make the most of your vacation time with our concierge services, including local tours and excursions, area attractions, golf course tee times, shopping information, and dining reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Vacatia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cove on Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove On Ormond Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Cove On Ormond Beach
Cove On Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing