We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cove on Ormond Beach
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Family friendly resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed on second floor in North Tower. Great view of the ocean. 2 bedroom unit was more than adequate for our needs. Everything we needed was provided. The resort is definitely for families as the only outdoor pool is not over 3 feet deep and has a tube slide for the kids. Some updating is in order but we heard Diamond Resort bought and is in the process of doing some renovations. Hopefully they'll drop the Wifi charges, towel, and parking charge of $10/day soon. Never had a resort charge for these services. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It was easy saying no to the sales presentation, no pressure and also very friendly and gave lots of advice for restaurants in the area. Walls a little thin, can hear other rooms and hallway noise. This is not a luxury resort, but would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Cove on Ormond Beach. You are correct that our resort was recently acquired by Diamond Resorts International®. While I cannot confirm any upcoming projects, historically recently acquired resorts have had refurbishments done. As we are committed to creating an experience that exceeds guest satisfaction, we are concerned that you may have not been made aware of our resort fee. We would like to note that we provide detailed information regarding this on our website ahead of time and make every effort to ensure that our 3rd party rental and exchange partners advise our guests of this at the time of booking. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it is our hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    173
    87
    30
    25
See reviews for
250
148
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Groveland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

My family came down for their spring break to stay at the cove at ormond beach. They were ready to get out of the snow and enjoy the beach/pool. When we called to confirm the rooms (4) they told us they would be able to get us at least on the same floor. The day we checked in the lady at the front desk was Extremely rude. She said none of the rooms were even on the same floor and none were ready because a wedding just checked out. We tried to swim in the "heated" pool! It was cold as ice. The room was great. Loved that there was a washer and dryer! Loved the full kitchen. Being that this was our second time there, we will try again. They are trying to be a diamond resort...front desk staff needs to be changed out and make sure the heated pool is actually heated and it could be a diamond resort.

Room Tip: South tower is really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for submitting comments to us about your recent stay. Our room assignments are made upon the arrival of our guests, and we strive to assign our guests a room type meeting their original request. While we have a high success rate in this process, during rare cases of sudden occupancy changes we may assign our guests to a comparable room type. We apologize we were unable to meet your request due to availability restrictions. Additionally, we regret if you felt our outdoor heated pool was anything less than perfect. We always invite guests to let us know what opportunities we have and we appreciate all feedback related to this topic. Thanks for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We just checked in today and were disappointed to find out the pool/lazy river water park features are still broken. It's unfortunate they didn't repair the pool prior to Easter break. I'm sure there will be many other disappointed families who chose this resort for the kid friendly pool. Its supposed to be a mini water park when properly working with water fountains, spilling water buckets, and a fountain umbrella. Only the water slide is functioning. I read online weeks ago that the motor was ordered so I hoped it would have been repaired by now.
Our room in the North Tower is very clean. The staff at the resort are friendly. The old patio furniture around the pool was replaced today with new furniture. Overall, the resort is a good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunflowernj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is our 2nd Spring Break trip to this resort. The location is great, right on the beach and has a great pool with a water slide and lazy river for the kids. The hot tub is very hot and is a perfect place to relax when the temperature drops in the evening. We've stayed in a 2 Bedroom South Tower room on both visits. The rooms are well insulated and come with a washer and dryer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motomura27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel room we stayed in was great BUT the service and people not so much. People at front desk were rude didn't give any instructions about service. We had to wait an hour after check in time to get into the room. There is no maid service which we were not told about. And then after leaving we got charge $300 extra for no appropriate reason we asked they said throw up but there wasn't any. I asked to see pictures it wasn't even our bed and I asked to see bill receipt they said no. Hotel room nice everything else stay away.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed our charming resort. The Cove on Ormond Beach is happy to provide guests with an exciting and relaxing Florida seashore vacation. We regret to hear you felt our team was insensitive to your recent experience. Upon speaking to you regarding the charge, we are happy we were able to provide further clarification on the condition your room was left in. It is our hope in the future we have the opportunity to change your perception of our resort, and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

INTERVAL USERS BE AWARE!! -- March 2014
In August 2013 we exchanged our 2bed-2bath week for a March 22-29, 2014 2bed-2 bath week at The Cove at Ormond Beach, Ormond Beach, FL (just north of Daytona Beach, FL). We were sent a confirmation by INTERVAL. Because we had been confirmed into a 2bed-2bath at The Cove, we invited another couple to join us.
When we arrived at The Cove at 6:15 p.m. (after a long 8-hour drive) we were told that they had our name in their system, but no room had been assigned to us and the only room available was a 1bed-1bath. The woman at the front desk, who indicated she was the manager, said “We can call around to find you a 2-bedroom in the area.” We realized during spring break in the Daytona Beach area there wouldn’t be much available and we agreed to take the 1-bedroom unit. She also said she would place our name number 1 on the list and when a 2-bedroom became available she would let us know and we could move.
The 1-bedroom unit was very small and it was uncomfortable with four people. The 2-bed-2bath unit right next door to where we were staying became available on Tuesday and my husband went to the front desk and asked if we could move to that room, but she said no, they were taken, the people had either reserved on-line or paid cash.
My husband contacted Interval and Dennis in the Customer Service Department was very helpful. He called The Cove and talked to the front desk manager. He then told us she said she would try to find us a 2-bedroom unit. He also said if we didn’t get some satisfaction we should send Interval a complaint.
So – you INTERVAL OWNERS, I’m urging you to confirm your reservations. How this could have happened is beyond us. We’ve exchanged our unit for over 20 years and this has never happened. Who dropped the ball?
1) Did The Cove neglect to assign a room?
2) Did the Cove give our room to a customer paying “cash”?
3) Was it Interval’s mistake?
4) How can we be sure this doesn’t happen again?

Room Tip: South Tower units have washer/dryers in the unit. One bedroom in North Tower are VERY small. Comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at The Cove on Ormond Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments. As our valued guest, your satisfaction is a primary concerns for us. As such, we truly regret the displeasure you had on your recent visit to our property and that we did not meet your expectations for your stay. It is always our goal to give exceptional hospitality, provide premium services, and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. Regretfully, we were inadvertently overbooked and did not have the occupancy to move you to your desirable room type when one became available. Our resort is a condominium style property and our one bedroom condos have often been called spacious and accommodating. They can comfortably sleep up to 4 guests and include fully equipped kitchens, a queen-sized bed, whirlpool-style tub, and large flat-screen TV’s located in the living area and the bedroom. Nevertheless, while we are happy we could offer you alternate accommodations with us, we apologize if we could not fully meet your needs. We are currently addressing the challenges you experienced in order to prevent them from occurring in the future and hope to be able to serve you again if you do decide to give us another chance to make a better impression on you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia Girl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Upon arrival we were offered a 1st floor (what? No ocean view?) but right away we're told there was a second floor available (not what expected but at least we see some ocean) room was very clean and smelled better than the 1st floor room. Loved the pool area but not the water temperature (freezing) go to the indoor pool (freezing) what happened with heated water pools like stated in the website....go back to the room and what do I find all over the bathroom floor (bugs, bugs, bugs...worm looking bugs run fast and chase your feet if you try killing them.....moreover is time to go to sleep, I leave the closet light on ( it turns off) crazy noises coming from it, we left the cool air on, checked why we were so hot ( heat was on). Around 3 am the noises just got crazier, unable to determine who is making the noises. Yey....morning time, it is time to get out of this room. What is my outcome? I hope I never have to pick this place again. ( oh and by the way is too far from good restaurants, fun etc....)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EandE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
0.2 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.9 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#5 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#19 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#21 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#12 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove on Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove on Ormond Beach

Property: The Cove on Ormond Beach
Address: 145 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-6620
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cove on Ormond Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxed approach to life on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean at The Cove On Ormond Beach. Absorb the warmth of the Florida sun watching a spectacular sunrise from your private balcony. Stroll down the beach with no set schedule and no particular place to go. Enjoy the excitement of Daytona Beach, just moments away. Relax to the sounds of the ocean at night in the beachfront hot tub. Explore shops and sights sure to please your inquisitive nature. Refresh your senses with your feet in the surf and your mind in the clouds.Directly on the beach of the Atlantic Ocean, this 112-condo resort features newly renovated one- and two-bedroom condo villas featuring a living room, a dining area, a full kitchen and a private balcony with an ocean view. Exciting extras include larger floor plans, upgraded furnishings, plasma TVs and in-condo washer and dryer. Settle back and enjoy the splendor of a Florida beach vacation, complete with sun, surf and small town charm. Recharge at the oceanfront activity deck,hot tub, barbecue and picnic area and direct access to the resort's over 150 feet of sandy beach. Swim laps in the indoor pool or relax in the guest lounges. Experience the best of land and sea - golfing, shelling, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, theatre shows, river rides, gambling cruises and Daytona International Speedway. Discover the mysteries of St. Augustine's Fort Matanzas on a leisurely day trip. Make the most of your vacation time with our concierge services, including local tours and excursions, area attractions, golf course tee times, shopping information, and dining reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cove on Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove On Ormond Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Cove On Ormond Beach
Cove On Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing