We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Floridian Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Floridian Resort
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was our first stay at the Royal Floridian and we would defiantly return. The view of the ocean is amazing. We left the balcony door open most nights and enjoyed the sound of the ocean. The room was clean and serviceable; it's not going to overwhelm you, but it did the job just fine. The pool was great, much larger than I had expected. The entire grounds seemed like they were constantly being cleaned and maintained. It appeared as though the management had their stuff together. The pool area opens directly onto the beach, which was extremely clean...no shoes needed. There was no pressure for time shares, though there were messages left on the phone and signs in the main lobby. There were also activities planned daily, which we chose not to participate in. If being close to the ocean is your thing, don't hesitate to stay here. No serious complaints from us during our week long stay.

Room Tip: I think almost everyroom is an ocean view room. Try to be on the 3rd floor or above for the best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    131
    63
    28
    27
See reviews for
155
138
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel, unfortunately it was also the second time foul weather struck throughout the whole of our stay there! It didn't spoil it for us though because the view from our balcony was spectacular - Hurricane Sandy was wreaking havoc with the ocean and there was very little of the beach exposed but we were lucky to be witnessing it from a safe and cosy place so we're not complaining. We managed to get a couple of walks along the beach despite the conditions, this hotel is in a great location.
Our room was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed for eating in and feeling at home. There are plently of great restaurants in the area, in particular Aunt Catfish's down the coast at Daytona Shores. We would stay here again and hope it will be third time lucky to get some sun and be able to enjoy the pool!.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we stay there for 1 week and saw a lot of dust on the furniture also my husband was walking barefoot and was cut with chips of broken glass on the floor. My husband is a diabetic this is horrible this experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muneca1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is our 2nd trip to the area and we were not disappointed. The staff is very efficient and very pleasant. We were there when hurricane Sandy went up the coast so the weather wasn't great but it's an hour drive to St. Augustine and there is an indoor heated pool, exercise room, shuffle board and of course there's Disney a short drive away. We had a 2 bedroom on top floor, 3 TV's, full kitchen, DVD player with patio and note that no matter what room you book ALL rooms face the ocean. Rooms are clean up dated and they have just painted all halls and common areas. Got a pet bring him/her along and there is a great pet hotel called Pampered Pets around the corner and you can visit or take them to dog park very near. They are great people. Also suggest Tokyo Steak House & The Black Sheep restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank misspeanut5722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our 6th trip to Ormond, and 5th to Royal Floridian, and as always it was marvelous. The resort, which was always good, was recently renovated and everything is in tip top shape. The accommodations are clean and spacious with all needed amenities and the staff is absolutely excellent. When there was a problem with the WiFi the staff gave me directions on where I could connect and even got their IT guy to help out when I was getting some "rogue" connection. No request is too great and they are always courteous.

Located right at the base of US 40 (Granada Boulevard) the Royal Floridian could not be better situated for ease of access. Add to that the number of restaurants and convenience stores/pharmacies within walking distance and it is a winning combination.

My advice is to go in the fall because the weather is delightful, the water warm and the beaches uncrowded.

Room Tip: Over 95% of the rooms are Oceanfront. The elevator can be a bit slow at times so if you don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dr_Tom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I and friends were very pleased with this resort. Nice clean rooms, beautiful views, activities for the children and all within walking distance to shops, food and grocery. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom condo. The view was breathtaking. The rooms were very clean and decorated beautifully. The balcony was great, and we could see for miles. It was located close to a shopping center with restaurants. The pool was very pretty, and we loved the Tikki bar. The staff was very friendly and tried to help all of the time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back facing the ocean are the best. Best sure to ask for rooms facing the ocean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
0.2 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#10 of 27 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
1.1 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 27 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#8 of 27 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#30 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#12 of 27 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Floridian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Floridian Resort

Property: Royal Floridian Resort
Address: 51 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-6618
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Floridian Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience all that the Royal Floridian Resort has to offer. Our award winning property is located on the white sandy shores of beautiful Ormond Beach Florida and has recently undergone a multimillion dollar renovation including the addition of the newly constructed Royal Floridian South. The property's ideal location and array of amenities make the Royal Floridian Resort the perfect place to stay while vacationing in the Daytona Beach area. The resort's 168 spacious guest rooms, featuring oceanfront and ocean view rooms offer ideal lodging accommodations. All rooms in our north building are equipped with at minimum a microwave & mini-fridge, color cable television, DVD player, alarm clock, and large private balcony. Laundry facilities are also located on site. All units in the newly opened Royal Floridian South include private balconies, full kitchens, LCD televisions, granite countertops, soft marble showers, along with in room washer dryer combos. Whether your stay with us is for business or pleasure you'll feel right at home. Our tropically landscaped pool area includes a heated oceanfront pool, kid’s pool, and playground area. Also included are a hot tub, tiki bar, miniature golf course, basketball court, and shuffleboard courts. Seasonally the resort offers activities for both children and adults such as pool-side games, ice cream socials, and wine and cheese events. Indoor facilities include a heated pool, hot tub, exercise room, gaming area, and pool table. Royal Floridian Resort is located just minutes from the Daytona Beach International Airport (DBA) and Daytona International Speedway. The Ocean Center Complex, Destination Daytona, and Ponce Inlet Lighthouse are all within miles of the resort. Walt Disney World Parks, Cape Canaveral, and Sea World are all located about an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Floridian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Floridian Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing