We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night spent for $81!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Ormond Beach
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    240
    91
    31
    32
See reviews for
255
251
113
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I am an avid reader of hotel reviews because, like you, I need feedback on guest experiences BEFORE I make that reservation! We arrived quite tired after a very long drive to Florida but the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of our rooms made us forget how tired we were! Once checked in, we settled into a new Beautyrest bed with new bedding and slept like "adult" babies!! The breakfast area is quite small (only 4 small tables) but we never experienced it as overly crowded, as most guests took their food back to their rooms. The area was pretty quiet as were the guests around us. My only complaint is that we did not stay long enough! Kudos to the staff for making our first visit to Florida memorable!

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to have been newly decorated-new beds, new bedding and the carpets look fairly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 65Michelle65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raoul G, General Manager at Super 8 Ormond Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear 65Michelle65, What an appreciated review and the pictures were great. It is obvious that you are a seasoned traveler and one that knows what they want and expect. We were thrilled to know that we delivered. Other future guests like you who read reviews will appreciate as well your very descriptive review and how comfortable you were during your stay. We wished you could have stay longer as well. Thanks again for taking to time to comment and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
597 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stopped@ two other hotels (one of which was cheaper) before I found the exact address of this hotel where I had written that the price quoted on internet that a.m. was $59. When we came to the front desk the woman said best she could do for last remaining room was $75. despite our providing AARP card for this "best rate". Assuming this was with taxes I agreed rather than make my husband go back to the one down the street that had been several dollars cheaper all-inclusive. As I look at the (internet)prices the day after they are $59!?! What "gives" with this kind of bait and switch? The desk should honor an internet price if that is what brought a customer to their door. This will probably be our last Super8 hotel stay,regardless that the facility itself was pleasant enough. We are on a fixed income and the $20 difference could nearly have covered dinner.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raoul G, General Manager at Super 8 Ormond Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Wanderlassie, Thank you for taking the time to send in your comments regarding your stay with us recently. It appears that overall your experience was favorable and that the accommodations, property and service were acceptable and met your expectations. The weekend that you were here was an event weekend with a national car show at the Daytona International Speedway. As with all events that are in the city, rates at the property level can be impacted by supply and demand. I can assure you that we are not in the practice of advertising lower rates to attract guests only to increase the rate upon arrival. Many third party online companies partner with hotels to sell at a lower discounted rates on their websites as they are allotted a certain amount of rooms to sell for the property at that lower rate. Once the allotment is reached they no longer have the ability to sell rooms at that discounted rate. Hotels are not obligated to match a third party rate as the potential guest has the opportunity to book online when researching hotels, flights or even car rentals with that company. Even our own website, Super8.com will always display the best available rate which matches the rate at the property, with an option to receive a discount rate if it's an advance purchase. Again that discounted rate is only available when purchased online and as I mentioned earlier, rates on Super8.com are susceptible to change due to demand. I am sorry that you felt that we were not being honest with you. I hope that you will stay at Super 8 again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The rooms have been updated, new beds, furniture, tv, paint. Very clean and an incredible value. I love these older but updated hotels as they offer great value just after they have been updated.

Basic breakfast in a clean breakfast room. About 10 minutes to the beach, really good food across the street.

Room Tip: I asked for and received the end room on the top floor (second floor) very quiet as you have no one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowTheMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raoul G, General Manager at Super 8 Ormond Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear followthemusic, Thank you for the short, sweet and to the point review of the Super 8. Your description of our updates is exactly true i.e. new beds, bedding, carpeting TV's and even after you left we installed new curtains on all our bottom floor rooms. We know that modern and comfortable is important things to any traveler and it appears that what we have done so far has accomplished the goal. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Very clean room, bathroom exceptionally clean, bed a little soft but comfortable, bedding very fresh and clean. Desk personnel friendly and very accommodating and helpful. I did not try to use the internet connection. I will definitely use this Super Eight again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raoul G, General Manager at Super 8 Ormond Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Barbara M, We appreciate you taking the time to give a brief description to other travelers of your recent stay with us. The staff were thrilled to hear that you found everything to your expectation and especially the very clean room and even more importantly that you would stay with us again means so much. We hope to see you again in the future and until then happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Long story short....what was a very stressful upsetting experience for Bike Week, due to Howard Johnson's across the street, turned into a calm, peaceful, very pleasant stay from the moment we
pulled into Super 8, thanks to Raoul and his Team! When we walked in, I was quite shaken from a couple hours of unprofessional dealings with other hotel. In addition saw two very bad accidents with bikers lying in the road ;{ and the traffic within a mile radius, was off the map! Raoul and Jackie immediately, with a gentle and professional nature, first listened, then checked us in with ease and care. Was so appreciated due to my 'spun' state. Within a short period Raoul single handily was able to change a bad experience into a Blessing. So glad we ended up here as the kindness, ample parking, and room cost was less than across the street.
The room very pleasing to the eye, and very clean. The breakfast bar is fantastic as well.
Every person we encountered during our stay, was professional and pleasant. So appreciated.
And the considerate touch of a towel to wipe off motorcycle dew in the morning just blew us away.
We will be back. Not just for Bike Week, but when traveling in the area. Worth going out of our way for.....personal compassionate service is a rare thing these days. Thank you Raoul and your Team. All the best. See you down the road ============== Candace Dave & Barney

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raoul G, General Manager at Super 8 Ormond Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Candace H, First let me say that it was our pleasure to offer a place of peace and relaxation especially after listening to your story of what happened at another hotel. It was our goal to get you, Dave and Barney into a comfortable room and just relax after a trying day. It was bike week and you came to have a good time, and from hearing your kind words it appears that after awhile you were able to enjoy the festivities that were part of your planned trip. When you left the next day it was a pleasure to see your smiling face and know we saved a vacation. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Located just off an exit on I-95, reaching the property could not be easier. Check In was fast and efficient. The room was clean and of a reasonable size. Microwave and fridge in the room was very welcome. The free wireless internet was quick and we had no problem connecting with various devices.

The breakfast was standard fare, choice of 2 cereals, toast, porridge. cinnamon rolls, yougurt, apples and oranges, juice, coffee and our favorite the waffles. The 6AM start suited us perfectly.

There is a small laundry room with a washer and dryer on the property.

We messed up our check out, thinking we had an extra day to stay, We arrived back at the motel at 3PM having realized our mistake. The manager could not have been more helpful and didn't even charge us for the late check out. In fact all the staff we encountered at this location were friendly and helpful.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medic143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raoul G, General Manager at Super 8 Ormond Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear medic143, We appreciate you taking the time to so eloquently describe your stay with us recently. Your description of the amenities, proximity to attractions and beaches, location off I-95, cleanliness of the rooms will be greatly appreciated by other guests looking for a similar experience. When on vacation, everyone can lose track of time and date, that's what you're suppose to do when having a great time. It was my pleasure to extend to you some "grace" time. It's too bad you needed to move on. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
7.5 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
332 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 28 in Ormond Beach
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Ormond Beach at Destination Daytona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona/Ormond Beach
5.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ormond Beach
6.8 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ormond Beach

Property: Super 8 Ormond Beach
Address: 1634 North US Highway 1 and I95, I-95, Exit 273, Ormond Beach, FL 32174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ormond Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Ormond Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Ormond Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Ormond Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ormond Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Ormond Beach / Destination Daytona is located directly across from the World's Largest Harley Davidson Complex and I-95. Come relax in one of our 48 comfortable and spacious, renovated rooms. Enjoy amenities such as, complimentary Wi-Fi, a delicious breakfast and a business center for your convenience.If you're staying for a day or two, you'll love our service and accommodations. Please read the reviews & see what our guests have to say about their stay. Have a Super Stay & a Super Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ormond Beach
Ormond Beach Super 8
Ormond Beach Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing