We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super 8 Ormond Beach
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mississippi
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BED BUGS!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 4/1/11 while traveling on business. We were only there one night and just needed a place to sleep and we were just passing through. It looked clean enough and was convenient to the interstate. We checked in and left for a ride into Daytona Beach and a late dinner. We left the next morning and leterally only unsed the room for about 8 hrs to sleep. About 24 hrs later, I thought I had been bitten by mosquitoes, but it only got progressively worse. I am covered in bed bug bites and it takes 2-3 weeks to heal. I am 52 yrs old and have never experienced anything so miserable. We do not have bugs in our home and this is the only place we stayed so it had to have happened there. I will never stay here again......got a good rate, but it is costing me plenty both physically and financially!!!!!!! P.S. - the free interenet did not work either.....pales incomparison to the bedbugs....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcmissdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    236
    88
    27
    28
See reviews for
245
243
112
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed here just one night. Found it with this little coupon book that one picks up at gas stations and at Denny's on the way. With the coupon you can get a nice discount. It's probably a two star hotel, not fancy, but was unexpectedly pleased with how comfortable it was. It was very very cold out and without having to put on a noisy heater the room was extremely well insulated and comfortable. Sheets and towels were clean.

The staff we met were very hospitable, friendly and helpful. At night when we checked in there was one lovely lady and the next morning at the desk there was a lovely couple. They even had a breakfast bar down at the lobby. Not really great, but with Cheerios, Oatmeal packages, coffee and juice. All very clean and well kept.

the room was very comfortable with clean sheets, tv and nice comfortable temperature hot and cold water.

The location was fabulous. We were hungry and went right across the street for dinner at a great sports bar, forget the name, but it was great!

The only downside was when looking for something when I left I saw a condom behind the bed in a hard to get place. So guess the maid missed that place.

Other than that one flaw, I would highly recommend this place as a very cheap and comfortable place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturetraillady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLWOOD,PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

The wife and I took a trip from home in Pa. to Key West over Christmas. We drove all night so we wanted to stay somewhere for the night before finishing our trip to the keys. We traveled I-95 and got off at exit 273. The Super 8 was right there so we stopped in. We met the manager Dave when we went in. He was polite and courtious. We asked for a room for the nightand had a savings book we picked up at the welcome center when entering Florida. He saw we had the coupon book and even cut the coupon out for us. We paid $51 to stay on a Friday night. I did notice the motel was "older" but regardless it was well kept and clean. Our room was the standard 2 bed with a TV. Nothing fancy but that was fine with us. We just needed a place to sleep for the night. Plenty of places to eat in the area. Destination Daytona is right across the street. If you like Halrey's you'll be in heaven. Good BBQ is for sure. A breakfast is offered by the motel but we just got on our way in the monring so I have no idea what it's like. If your passing though and need a place to spend the night or looking for a weekend stop this motel will do nicely.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJENKINS16617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BUTLER
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

The room was dirty, the sheets on the beds were dirty, there was mold on the walls in the bathroom and the light in the bathroom didn't work.

The key card had the room number written on it which means they were not generating new codes each time the room was rented and by writing the number on the key card if one of the people in the room lost the card, whom ever found it could simply enter your room.

After seeing the dirty beds (and I mean disgustingly filthy, used sheets) we decided not to stay. The clerk refused to refund our money. We just left, drove an additional hour west and stayed at a very nice Holiday Inn Express.

I asked Super 8 Corporate for a refund and they refused our claim, telling me that the clerk claimed we had stayed several hours and made a mess of the place. I faxed copies of the credit card bill from the Super 8 and the Holiday inn. The time was 1 hour and 25 mintues apart and it is a 65 mile drive. Shown that evidence, Super 8 refunded our money.

This dump may have improved since 2003, but I will never stay at a Super 8 again.

  • Liked — It was easy to get away from
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spiceumup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Stayed here for 1 night on a trip to South FL and back. Motel is right off of I-95, which is convenient. Room is a typical Super 8. It was very big, but sparse. Bed was average. The sheets were very loose and ended up being pulled off of the mattress during the night. Lots of noise in the a.m. since door opened up directly onto the parking lot. Not good since we got in late and we're hoping to sleep in for a little bit. Some people still don't get it that you don't have to YELL into a cellphone to be heard by the person on the other end.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2007

great price. david & cora, the managers were very nice.

  • Liked — great bed and good service
  • Disliked — not beachfront
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rpdigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2006

Needed a room for the night in the area, so checked Orbitz and this was the cheapest, at $37 plus tax. Typically, staying at a 1 or 2-star motel, I don't get my hopes up. Check-in was easy, with very friendly & efficient personnel. The room appeared to have been recently renovated, with new carpeting and bed spreads. There were no problems with the room - TV and cable worked fine, AC was cold, and bathroom was fully functional with a nice shower. The mattress was good enough to give me a great night's sleep. I would stay here again if in the area and looking to spend as little money possible. I did not partake in the free continental breakfast but it appeared to be edible.

  • Liked — Cheap and clean with motivated staff
  • Disliked — Nothing, given the price
  • Tips/Secrets — Plenty of restaurants in the area. A short drive to Daytona Beach and across from the new Harley-Davidson dealership.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
5.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
7.5 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ormond Beach
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Ormond Beach at Destination Daytona
6.7 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ormond Beach

Property: Super 8 Ormond Beach
Address: 1634 North US Highway 1 and I95, I-95, Exit 273, Ormond Beach, FL 32174
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ormond Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Ormond Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Ormond Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Ormond Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ormond Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 Ormond Beach / Destination Daytona is located directly across from the World's Largest Harley Davidson Complex and I-95. Come relax in one of our 48 comfortable and spacious, renovated rooms. Enjoy amenities such as, complimentary Wi-Fi, a delicious breakfast and a business center for your convenience.If you're staying for a day or two, you'll love our service and accommodations. Please read the reviews & see what our guests have to say about their stay. Have a Super Stay & a Super Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Super 8 Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ormond Beach
Ormond Beach Super 8
Ormond Beach Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing