We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here for a week during Bike Week/Spring Break. Whole town was packed.

The good - The staff at reception and the bar are great people. The free laundry was a bonus. It is right on the beach. Mini golf across the road is fun. Shop across the road for supplies.

The bad - No internet here. You get a dozen pizza flyers shoved under your door daily. My room faced the mini golf, not the ocean.

Overall, average.

Room Tip: It's obvious but get one facing the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    82
    48
    26
    15
See reviews for
98
63
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed for a week at the end of March 2012 and can't fault this hotel. We arrived early and our room was ready. The front desk staff quickly sorted out an RCI upgrade problem and we got a beautiful room looking out over the beach and ocean where we watched dolphins swimming by...doesn't get much better than that! The location is good with several great restaurants within easy walking distance, Publix and other stores are about 1 mile away and Daytona Beach etc only a few miles away. It's a quiet area but close enough to busier areas and main roads. There is some entertainment if you want it and snacks available from the bar.

Room Tip: There are ocean view rooms and rooms overlooking the road so of course ask for an ocean view room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
667 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at Casa del Mar for one week over spring break and the staff was extremely kind and helpful. The best thing was that the resort is right on the ocean and our kids had fun monitoring the daily tides, especially due to a full moon. The free laundry was a huge plus, too. The rooms were basic and had a full kitchen with a balcony overlooking the Atlantic which we enjoyed immensely. Although it's not a 5 star resort we had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melaney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stoped by last May on the way home to Canada to see what the casa del mar was like since it just had reopen .The front desk took us on a tour the units are big just lovely so clean every thing is new what a spot the pool to die for what a wonderful job they have done check it out .We are staying for three weeks this April the staff all went out of there way to help us paul and family Ottawa Canada.

Room Tip: most rooms are ocean front what a view of the beach and ocean watch the sun rise,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pauley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in a 1 bedroom unit. Think they may have turned a studio into a BR by putting a wall between couch and bed. Very crowded BR. We were told that the unit had be renovated. My question was "What was Renovated"? The grout in the tiles were black ( not orginal color-could tell by looking at tiles in places were there was no traffic ). The furniture was old and out dated.

The good things here were the view, pleasant staff and great location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffy333Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spring hill,florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The location of Casa Del Mar is great for a beach vacation with beautiful sunrises. They have done major renovations on the bedrooms and living room in a 1 bedroom. The outside pool, hot tub, and decks look nice after being updated. The kitchens and bathrooms have not been touched yet and I was told they will be next to bring them up to Bluegreen standards.
We came in for October bike weekend and it was quite an experience with I think thousands of motorcycles in the streets of Ormond and Daytona. I am not a biker but I really enjoyed seeing so many different bikes. We had several bikers in the hotel and all i chatted with seemed very nice and from so many different areas. I will think about going back next year at the same time. To many the noise might bother you if your on the street but behind the hotel you only heard the ocean. Only a few young hot dogs were driving crazy and the police on the beach were quick to pull them over.
We had a fun week and would love to come back to Casa Del Mar again as the had a great and friendly staff who were quick to help you in anyway they could. We had a bad light in our bathroom and I think in five minutes we had a very pleasant man fix it. We even went to the timeshare presentation and they were not bad to talk too. No real high pressure.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room for the fantastic views. Most rooms are ocean front with great balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandjim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia sc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

I have to start by saying I have never felt compelled to write a review on anywhere I have ever stayed including several Bluegreen properties until now. This place made for a PERFECT vacation so much so that we seldom wanted to leave the resort to do anything else. Our room was ocean front so much so that you felt like you are on the beach and you even feel the mist of the ocean from time to time while relaxing on the balcony. Our room also overlooked the 3 gas grills that the resort provides which is an extremely nice touch if you enjoy grilling up some wonderful steaks and enjoying them oceanfront like we did with a nice glass of red wine. There are some different eating establishments within walking distance including an Olive Garden, Bonefish Grill, a Greek restaurant (pretty darn good) and our favorite the Beach Bucket which is a little beachfront bar and grill with daily specials and 2 for 1 drinks everyday not to mention the best patty melt I believe I have ever made or had anywhere, the place is also about a 5-10 minute walk right down the beach. The pool is beautiful and never crowded with plenty of spots to lay out and soak up the sun and there is a bar/snack bar right inside to grab a Pina Colada if the mood strikes you. This place is certainly worth a visit and my wife and I are already missing it and ready to go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get a room on the ground floor, we were on the second which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank epnsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
1.0 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#12 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#5 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#21 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 621 South Atlantic Ave., Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Del Mar, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Ormond Beach
Casa Del Mar Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing