We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian Restaurant in area”
Review of Mario's Restaurant

Mario's Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 208 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Schodack Landing, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in area”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

In Daytona for bike week and this restaurant was recommended to us. It was fantastic. We started with homemade 1/2 garlic, 1/2 regular italian bread. Served hot. Had the stuffed muchrooms for apetizer. Received 6 lg. They were excellent. The eggplant and the chicken parm was superb. Side of angel hair cooked perfect. I'm not one for someone elses sauce but I have to admit this was good. Received more than we could eat. Homemade canoli for desert topped it off. Looking forward to returing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    37
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“DepotBob”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We always ask for a waiter named Charlie. He never writes anything down and always puts everything right where it belongs without asking. They start you off with fresh, out of the oven bread and salads servced on ice cold metal plates with dressings on the side. The portions are large and authentic Italian. The place has an atmosphere that takes you back in time. Veal parm is large and served hot as are all their dishes. We always take friends there that we want to impress.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DepotBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My most favorite Italian restaurant in town.”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If it is Father's Day or my birthday, my family doesn't even bother asking me where I want to go for dinner. They know it will be Mario's and I'll be ordering the Chicken Parm with a side order of spaghetti and honey mustard on my salad. Charlie will be our server and he knows we want the freshly baked Italian bread and the garlic bread. We have been doing this for over thirty-five years and will continue to do so. We never leave empty handed, always left overs.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank racinron64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Old time Italian ”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We have been here a couple times. The service is good and the garlic bread is a great starter. We ordered the calamari ,crispy and tender not chewy with a hint of lemon. I tried the Alfredo since I find their tomato sauce acidic , the Alfredo was good rich and creamy a repeat for sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cookincath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“That's Amore!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This place has been a staple for Italians and foodies alike since the mid-70's. The chicken parm subs are almost too big to eat alone. The calamari is great! The marsala is also amazing! I'm sure it's all wonderful...I would suggest anyone in the area stop in and try it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LexMom319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mario's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing