We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so-so”
Review of Mario's Restaurant

Mario's Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 208 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
West Farmington
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Nice enough restaurant with attentive staff. Both of us thought the food was just average although the portions were plentiful. A bit on the pricey side, all things considered.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TLMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    39
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good early-bird specials”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our first encounter with Mario's was October 31, 2009...our first trip to Florida and Mario's was recommended by where we were staying. We are now back staying at the same location and again on October 31, 2013. We had to find Mario's once again and we put it in our GPS and we were so glad to find it still there. We got there early enough to partake in the early bird special. I
had the chicken parmesan and hubby had the eggplant parmesan. Both were large portions and delicious and filling. We both took home doggie bags. For an appetizer we ordered our favorite, Fried calamari. We were very disappointed in this choice. They were not tender but rather very tough morsels of calamari for the price. Fried calamari are plentiful are most restaurants in our homestate in the Northeast and I guess we are spoiled by the less expensive prices, larger portions and tender bites up north. We have learned not to order that delicacy here in the South as we have yet to find tender, acceptable calamari. But our entrees made up for our disappointing appetizer. More than enough food for an early bird and very good food. We will come back to Mario's whenever we are in the area (which isn't often).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This restaurant is definitely in decline. I remember eating there years ago and it was very good but now forget it. The place is really rundown and the waiter we had was a "space cadet". I ordered ravioli and got lasagna ! The marinara must have been made days ago and the pasta was well overcooked. It was just ok and we were very sorry we just didn't get up and leave ... I would never recommend it nor return, go somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glenncaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you like delicious tomato sauce and tender veal at a fair price in an old (not fancy)Italian restaurant setting...you will like this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotelhopperGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“italian restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

great italian food... along time restaurant family owned a favorite of locals... excellent takeout service could do a liile remodeling.. reccommend it highly

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mario's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing