We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time!”
Review of Sun Deck Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormond Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun Deck Motel
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful time!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked this motel based on tripadviser reviews and price. What a gem! It is right on the beach. The owners are FANTASTIC!!! They are there for anything you need. I feel bad that I never got the name for the young women that cleans our room every day, but she is such a sweetheart. Our room was immaculate every day and she was always smiling and asking us how we were doing. Keith, one of the owner's, is also great. He helpful with any questions you may have. We met ALOT of return visitors. There is actually a man that has one of the oceanfront rooms book for this week for the next 5 years!! The only reason I know this is because I tried to book it already for next year. This place is so great! We have now booked rooms for my mom, brother and his family, and my sister and her family along with us again for next year. The view from any room is beautiful. The beach is gorgeous and quiet. It is also pet friendly, but you would never know that. We were going to bring our 3 cats, which they did not have a problem with, and were only going to charge $100 for the week. There is a Publix right across the street which was convenient. The only area that I would improve on, though it did not effect our enjoyment at all are: very small tubs, windows do not open so you have to keep door open for a breeze and to hear the ocean and parking is kind of tight. Cannot wait to bring the extended family here next year!

Room Tip: Try to get a kitchen room or better yet, oceanfront kitchen room- those book up fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    33
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
62
63
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We needed a one-nighter in the Ormond Beach area. Based on "bruce h" review, we chose the Sun Deck. I loved his description of a "stay reminiscent of Florida from the 50s or 60s..." as I loved the old mom-and-pop motor court atmosphere. As bruce said, it's not for the luxury seekers or those who can't stay anywhere that is not pristine and new, but we loved it. The little touches were not overlooked: plates, glasses and utensils provided and stored on top of the microwave, even with a little bottle of Dawn dishwashing detergent. Coffee pot with coffee provided. Great price. Nice little chairs with a table outside of each room. Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. Loved the old tongue-and-groove woodwork. Wonderful pier right down to the waterfront. Parking is a little tight if you have a large vehicle. Such a classic. I walked out in the morning to take some photos of the sunrise and spent a great deal of time talking to a gentleman from Jacksonville who was staying the weekend with his wife. He said that they come down (90 miles) several times a year and always stay at the Sun Deck. To me, that says it all -- a local who frequents.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cymbalzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

1st off, this is not for the yuppies, guppies or luxury seekers. BUT if u want a stay reminiscent of Florida from the 50's or 60's but with TV and wifi, this is the place. Warm and friendly staff. Room 211 is a wonderful ocean front room with double beds and a full kitchen, average size bathroom, but with a tremendous view of the ocean. No pool, but what the heck! There is a massive ocean out front! This is the way to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bruce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

had to return to this charming motel again, and again we enjoyed our stay. the weather was wonderful and the location is great. Ormond Beach is a nice locaion to be in Florida, especially for the 500.

Room Tip: chains are not always the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Love this place. It was clean the staff was amazing and the location is great. You couldn't beat the p rice either. This place is right on the ocean. If you are looking for a fancy place with a lot Prof amenities then this place is not for you. But if you are looking for a quiet comfortable great priced place with the basic amenities then this place is for you. Nice family run operation with newly renovated rooms. We are already planning our next trip here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Sundeck for at least 15yrs every Memorial Day weekend! This property has always been clean and well maintained and the owners are wonderful! They have accomodated our growing family with ease! We bring with us about 10 kids(5 or 6 different families) and it is so nice to know that we will not be shushed for letting them be kids! They are always ready with a smile, a kind word, and clean towels! Lord knows we use enough! They don't mind us leaving our beach toys and chairs outside our room. We do a cookout one night on the grill they provide and it is always nice to see the kids not attached to their electronics or the TV. This is NOT a Hilton nor would I want it to be! It fits because it is FAMILY run and oriented!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We like the mom and pop places and this one is better than several we've visitied on the east coast of FL. The rooms have all been updated and were spotless. The beach is only a few steps away. Other places we visited had never been painted, updated, nor had new furnishings. Sundeck had all the comfort of the big hotels, but not the hassle of parking far from the room, elevators, etc. Everyone was friendly, we had all the clean linens we wanted, and the location to restaurants, groceries, etc was great. We are going back next week, our second visit.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in the middle and could see the beach. Next week we will be in the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
3.6 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lotus Boutique Inn & Suites Daytona Beach / Ormond Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Deck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Deck Motel

Property: Sun Deck Motel
Address: 1285 Ocean Shore Blvd, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ormond Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Deck Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sun Deck Motel. The "Best Kept Secret" In Ormond Beach with reasonable rates on the ocean. We're a 20 unit complex, sitting just 10 minutes north of the "World Famous Daytona Beach". A perfect location if you want to get into the action of one of today's greatest getaway vacation spots or getaway from all the hustle and bustle if that's your desire.Gorgeous ocean views and quiet sunsets will enchant you and mesmerize the setting and be your little secret getaway spot from now on.If you like the old time mom and pop place's than we are the place for you! We are family owned and family operated. We look forward to hearing from you soon!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundeck Hotel Ormond Beach
Sun Deck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing