We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“they did it again!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Deck Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sun Deck Motel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“they did it again!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

had to return to this charming motel again, and again we enjoyed our stay. the weather was wonderful and the location is great. Ormond Beach is a nice locaion to be in Florida, especially for the 500.

Room Tip: chains are not always the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    33
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
62
63
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Hill, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Love this place. It was clean the staff was amazing and the location is great. You couldn't beat the p rice either. This place is right on the ocean. If you are looking for a fancy place with a lot Prof amenities then this place is not for you. But if you are looking for a quiet comfortable great priced place with the basic amenities then this place is for you. Nice family run operation with newly renovated rooms. We are already planning our next trip here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Sundeck for at least 15yrs every Memorial Day weekend! This property has always been clean and well maintained and the owners are wonderful! They have accomodated our growing family with ease! We bring with us about 10 kids(5 or 6 different families) and it is so nice to know that we will not be shushed for letting them be kids! They are always ready with a smile, a kind word, and clean towels! Lord knows we use enough! They don't mind us leaving our beach toys and chairs outside our room. We do a cookout one night on the grill they provide and it is always nice to see the kids not attached to their electronics or the TV. This is NOT a Hilton nor would I want it to be! It fits because it is FAMILY run and oriented!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We like the mom and pop places and this one is better than several we've visitied on the east coast of FL. The rooms have all been updated and were spotless. The beach is only a few steps away. Other places we visited had never been painted, updated, nor had new furnishings. Sundeck had all the comfort of the big hotels, but not the hassle of parking far from the room, elevators, etc. Everyone was friendly, we had all the clean linens we wanted, and the location to restaurants, groceries, etc was great. We are going back next week, our second visit.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in the middle and could see the beach. Next week we will be in the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Sundeck Motel is a perfect example of what a classic hotel should be. From the very first call to reserve a room to the final check out we were made to feel like family. I can not truly remember staying at a better place than Sundeck. We stayed in two different rooms and both were great locations: view, waves/ocean sounds and perfect sunrise. The rooms are as clean as you can get them and the staff is on top of any services you need. This family owned and operated hotel was more than accommodating with all our needs and wants. The area is very very close to shopping, food and entertainment. Ormond By the Beach is a short distance from St. Augustine, Daytona, the Cape and even Silver Springs. We plan to go back asap!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean-Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although I've always loved being close to the Canaveral Seacoast which is the best in natural untouched beaches south of New Smyrna FL, I tried the Sun Deck in Ormand Beach FL. Wow! I'm going back! Firstly, you can just jump out of your room onto the beach; no layers of stairs to climb to the beach with your chairs, coolers, etc. The price is very reasonable and Keith and Hannah keep everyone happy with their instant attentativeness to any issues that might arise. It's easy to get to know the other visitors who make it a pleasure to stop and chat with and share stories with. I brought my dog and she and I had a lovely time in a very clean and well-appointed kitchenette that overlooked the ocean. There are condos on both sides but there is no intrusiveness from them. It was a great experience! Thanks K and H and Robert!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The motel is designed on a weird angle so that even the rooms farthest from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family and I stayed here for 10 days I even got Married on the beautiful beach here. Hannah and Keith could not have been any better with making us feel so welcome. We always had clean towels, clean room and any and everything else we needed. We cannot wait to get back there next year for our vacation. The SunDeck Motel will 100% be our yearly vacation spot from now on. I highly recommend The Sun Deck Motel for your next vacation spot!
Thank You again to Hannah and Keith for a wonderful experience :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
3.6 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#11 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#12 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lotus Boutique Inn & Suites Daytona Beach / Ormond Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Deck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Deck Motel

Property: Sun Deck Motel
Address: 1285 Ocean Shore Blvd, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ormond Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Deck Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sun Deck Motel. The "Best Kept Secret" In Ormond Beach with reasonable rates on the ocean. We're a 20 unit complex, sitting just 10 minutes north of the "World Famous Daytona Beach". A perfect location if you want to get into the action of one of today's greatest getaway vacation spots or getaway from all the hustle and bustle if that's your desire.Gorgeous ocean views and quiet sunsets will enchant you and mesmerize the setting and be your little secret getaway spot from now on.If you like the old time mom and pop place's than we are the place for you! We are family owned and family operated. We look forward to hearing from you soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun Deck Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundeck Hotel Ormond Beach
Sun Deck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing