We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No. 1 with us!”
Review of Sun Deck Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ormond Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun Deck Motel
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Ormond Beach
New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No. 1 with us!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is truly the best place we've ever found anywhere in the Daytona/Ormond Beach area. We love it here, love the people and love the beach that we can walk to from our room. Sunrises are spectacular!
We found this place five years ago and come back each year in January and February. It's a mom and pop operation, small and well maintained, clean and very friendly.
The Biittig's
Upstate New York

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed and Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    34
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
67
65
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Yuck. We stayed here for the Rolex 500 b/c my silly husband doesn't know how to book a hotel in advance and everything in Daytona sold out. We had booked a Super 8 right off 95 which was equally as disgusting as this. We left the Super 8 b/c even with renovations it was not clean. We saw bugs. I am from SC and KNOW what a Palmetto Bug is. Those come from outside and are still technically roaches. But what I saw at the Sun Deck was a "house" roach. Those that you find in unkempt houses. This thing was in our BED!! Just save yourself the time and don't stay here. People live here which should have been a bad sign to us. Not to mention the residents of this hotel party and it was hard for us to get rest at night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank emme24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Thanks to the great TA reviews, we decided to try SunDeck this year (I had seen it a zillion times, but frankly always thought it was a deck-building contractor's office). Were we glad we did!

The place was absolutely spotless (never saw the first bug indoors), the decor inoffensive and the staff as friendly and helpful as one could wish. We took a kitchenette room, which included a small full-sized refridgerator, a two-burner stovetop and a microwave. A full compliment of clean dishes, utensils and pots/pans was provided -- even paper towels and dish liquid were on hand. We didn't have an ocean view, but then the beach was a 30-second or less walk away, down the motel's private and well-maintained access ramp. The beach, of course, was beautiful and pretty darn clean and there are gas grills provided should one wish to cook that way.

We later saw a non-kitchenette room and it appeared to have been freshly upgraded with a fresh coat of paint and newer furnishings. Even the non-kitchen option has a mini-fridge, microwave, dishes and eating utensils for two and dish washing liquid. It also had a mini-ocean view!

We stayed for slightly more than a week over the New Year's holiday and never had a complaint. It was a slight surprise to discover that they only had an ethernet connection, but it worked fine. As others have noted, be sure to bring your own toiletries - shampoo, lotion, etc. - as they aren't provided. But who cares when one realizes that the rates for all this are well under $100 a night - even for one of the two full ocean view rooms (we're planning ahead to get one of those next time).

Thanks, SunDeck, for a great stay in a wonderful place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MadArchaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Clean room. Good energy. Very helpful staff. We had the ocean view room. Watched the sunrise from bed. Grocery store and Starbucks close by. Only soap in room. Bring you own shampoo and hair dryer. Very little to complain about.

Room Tip: Only pick the room with the ocean view. Especially on the ground floor. There is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nvrends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the SunDeck Motel for two nights last weekend. We had one of two direct oceanfront rooms - what a spectacular view. This little gem is nestled in between high rise condos, right on the beach. The unit was very clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. Right across the street is a supermarket, and good restaurants close by. The unit had a full eat-in kitchen, large bathroom, and nice table and chairs right in front of the large windows facing the ocean. What could be better?
We'd be happy to stay there again if the occasion arises.

Room Tip: Only two rooms directly face the ocean - ask for upstairs for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Trip advisor is my new best friend. This motel was a rare find. Inexpensive, perfect location, and very clean. We only stayed one night, but plan to come back. The beach is beautiful and the motel is right on the beach. The owner was very friendly and very helpful. Do yourself a favor and stay here. No amenities like shampoo & blowdryer, but who cares for the price you can buy your own.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank aebcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, SC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

A wonderful little mom and pop place. Friendly staff. Peaceful place. Simple, no frills. Short walk to sand and sea. Ormond's best kept secret...and now it's out! I do hate to write about this place, but they do deserve the credit! Can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Book early to get rooms closest to ocean with best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SCTrekkerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
3.6 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 27 in Ormond Beach
332 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 27 in Ormond Beach
513 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 27 in Ormond Beach
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 27 in Ormond Beach
452 reviews
3.8 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 27 in Ormond Beach
375 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#12 of 27 in Ormond Beach
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Deck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Deck Motel

Property: Sun Deck Motel
Address: 1285 Ocean Shore Blvd, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ormond Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun Deck Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sun Deck Motel. The "Best Kept Secret" In Ormond Beach with reasonable rates on the ocean. We're a 20 unit complex, sitting just 10 minutes north of the "World Famous Daytona Beach". A perfect location if you want to get into the action of one of today's greatest getaway vacation spots or getaway from all the hustle and bustle if that's your desire.Gorgeous ocean views and quiet sunsets will enchant you and mesmerize the setting and be your little secret getaway spot from now on.If you like the old time mom and pop place's than we are the place for you! We are family owned and family operated. We look forward to hearing from you soon!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundeck Hotel Ormond Beach
Sun Deck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing