We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good eating...yum”
Review of River Grille

River Grille
Ranked #14 of 208 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Food great, servings huge, service great, nice view...really a great place to eat. The special sandwhiches are really big. Foods not spicy, which is how I prefer it.

Thank Loverofseafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (818)
There are newer reviews for River Grille
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

690 - 694 of 818 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

The River Grille tried a 3-day Octoberfest with so-called German food. The portions were disappointing, even on the first day when they couldn't have run out yet. When we asked for more than the spoonful of red cabbage, they said they couldn't do it even though we were willing to pay for it. No German music or decor - so why bother to call it Octoberfest?
Nice outdoor patio, but lots of noise from nearby road.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivergrilletomoka, General Manager at River Grille, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are very sorry about your experience. We appreciate your comments and we will inform our staff of your comments and we hope you will come back soon to visit us and give us another try. Please email rivergrilletomoka@gmail.com if you'd like to discuss your visit in more detail and we can see what can be done to make your next trip a fantastic dining experience! We sure hope you'll come back and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have been to the River Grille many times since moving to Ormond Beach. The view on the River is very nice, too bad you have to hear all the traffic on US1 going by. Most of the food we have had here is pretty good, but the portions sizes for the price you pay is ridiculous - especially the fried food like Shrimp, Scallops or Combos, thus why we do not go very often unless we have a coupon or some offer. Service has always as well been quite good, except they do have a tendency to mess up orders like the last time there, ordered Clam Chowder and was served some Curry Chicken & Rice Soup...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivergrilletomoka, General Manager at River Grille, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are very sorry about your experience. We appreciate your comments and we will inform our staff of your comments and portion size details. We do hope you will come back soon to visit us. Please email rivergrilletomoka@gmail.com if you'd like to discuss your visit in more detail and we can see what can be done to make your next trip a fantastic dining experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We tried this place on a weeknight in October while vacationing in Ormond Beach. Do not miss this place! The decor was really cool...giving a feel of an old fish camp. The place was so clean, I asked the waitress if they'd just remodeled...she said no, looked like this for 8 years or so. Outdoor seating area is great, provides everything from under roof deck seating to booths down by the river, great sunset dining! And the food is awesome! I asked for a half order of the gator tail app (bc the rest of our group didn't want to try it). They couldn't split an order but did give me a free sample....it was phenomenal! Whether you've had gator before or not, you need to have this, the meat, batter, dipping sauce...all great! We also had the smoked fish dip and couldn't get enough. Our table also had the fried seafood platter, blackened fish, burger, and kids chicken fingers...everything was great and made fresh...even the chicken fingers were freshly battered and fried. You'll be sorry if you miss this!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ebsimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have been there multiple times and received poor services each time. The server actually argued with me when I asked a question about the menu as if it were ridiculous that I bother her in this way. This is not a good place to take a group. It took about three hours. I have tried several different menu items and was not impressed. The food seemed very overpriced for the quality. The view is very pretty and sometimes you see alligators.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivergrilletomoka, General Manager at River Grille, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are very sorry about your experience. We appreciate your comments and we will inform our staff of your comments. We cook our meals from scratch so they do tend to take a little longer at times but we hope the flavor makes it worth the wait. We hope you will come back soon to visit us and give us another try. Please email rivergrilletomoka@gmail.com if you'd like to discuss your visit in more detail and we can see what can be done to make your next trip a fantastic dining experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to River Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing