We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach doesnt make places ncie”
Review of Makai Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Makai Beach Lodge
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Reviewed February 17, 2014

i was celebrating my anniversary and valentines day this weekend. i had used hotels.com to book my room with the Makai. it was horrible from the moment i stepped into my room. the front desk told me it was a non smoking and it smelled like someone just lit a cigarette when i walked in! as a hotel worker myself i always check the beds first the box board for the bed was cut up as if someone had used it for a stash spot. the sheets had wet stains on them n when i say wet they were wet.the floor was dirty with trash on it (cigarette ashes even though my room was non smoking and gun wrappers) then it had a shared kitchenette which did not really both me, but what did bother me is i could not lock my sick of the kitchenette from my room giving whoever was in the room next door complete access to my room! the front desk was rude when i asked for a refund, and then told hotels.com that i was in the room for more than an hr before requesting my refund when my checking time was 4pm and checkout was 4:08pm. i will never stay with this place again!

Room Tip: go to dessert in i truly enjoyed it there after having to find somewhere else to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 403 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Currently checked it this hotel and have decided never ever to come here again.

The room locks - do not work.
Bath tub - Dirty and does not have water stopper
Appliances in the kitchen - Very hold
Hotel - Very old needs complete upgrade
Parking - Horrible
Staff - no courtesy for the guests
Breakfast - Not human eatable

Overall very very bad.

Room Tip: Please do not stay in this hotel if you want to enjoy your time and value your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My sister along with her husband and two teenage girls decided to escape the cold Virginia weather at the end of January and visit with family in Ormond Beach. Since I live here I was tasked with reserving a couple rooms for their stay. I selected the Makai Beach Lodge because of it's convenient location. There are some very good restaurants nearby including Stonewood, Bonefish Grille & Charlie Horse.
I stopped by to take a quick tour before their arrival and met with the front desk manager. He was very excited to tell me about all the new amenities and upgrades to their guest rooms including new beds, bedding with feather pillows and new tile flooring throughout. (I'm not a fan of carpet in a hotel room). My two nieces enjoyed playing mini golf (every day!) at Pirate's Cove which is just steps from the hotel. My sister was thrilled with the continental breakfast because the kids could go and enjoy a bowl of cereal and pastries on their own while she enjoyed the view from the private balcony.
They could also watch the girls in the pool from their balcony = another plus!
The hotel also provides everything you might need for a fun day on the beach at no charge! Boogie boards, sand toys, chairs, pool toys and more! The girls enjoyed having the adjoining room and their own TV. Another huge plus for families.
This hotel is perfect for a family on a budget!

Room Tip: As mentioned by most visitors the views from the balconies are spectacular! Great German restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROlsen32114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed six weeks and all positive, 4th Floor room with king bed and separate kitchen has a million dollar view. Daily service great - hotel has been upgraded and although an older building, it is comfortable and the studio rooms have everything you need. The only thing that would add comfort to the room is a small round dining table - we found that the coffee table to eat meals was too low, and we did not want to sit at the bench in the kitchen, as the kitchen is at the back of the unit - and looking out to the balcony, beach and ocean while dining is much nicer.

Room Tip: We have been many times to the Makai and our preference is 4th floor. Million dollar view, very re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed one night while visiting the Dayton Rolex 24 hr Race. Upgraded to a ' sea view ' on the fourth floor, room cost an extra $15.
Good view but shared with the resident pigeons more accurately thier droppings which were all over the balcony rail and floor. Could not use due to health fears!
The beds although clean were distinctly showing signs of age.
Bathroom likewise was very very aged sink/bath plugholes rusting with a ' rubber disc ' thing provided to use to cover the plug hole to enable filling, worked but!!!
No tea/coffee making possible in the room.
Although quite a few of the hotels along Daytona Beach are in need of updating this is the worst.
I would recommend you look elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank henshawgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Classic Florida feel and great location. YOU MUST GET OCEAN VIEW ROOM! My room was updated and very clean unlike the previous reviews that showed mold and bugs. Don't be scared away from this place! Price is very reasonable and the staff was friendly.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cameronperket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Beachfront without a kitchenette and two fulls is what we got. Awesome value for a week long stay at the beach. Close to everything. Bring your own towels, bring house shoes or flipflops for the tile floors. Otherwise if you like the beach this room is right on it and the 4th floor was awesome. We loved our experience!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank adamv1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#5 of 29 in Ormond Beach
341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Ormond Beach Mainsail Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#19 of 29 in Ormond Beach
235 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ormond Beach
0.1 mi away
Driftwood Beach Motel
Driftwood Beach Motel
#15 of 29 in Ormond Beach
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Beach Lodge

Address: 707 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7815
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range: $72 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Makai Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makai Beach Resort is a beachside hotel located at the connection of Daytona Beach and Ormond Beach, this allows us to offer the fun of Daytona Beach with the pristine white sands of Ormond Beach, we are also the closest hotel to the ocean in the whole area. The hotel has a private beach entrance and beach side pool, kiddie pool, hot tub, grills, shuttle board and more. All rooms have modern LED Tv's with HBO included, free WIFI and most rooms have a fullsize kitchen with the rest having at a minimum a fridge and microwave. Free parking is provided and we can accomodate any sized vehicle. We offer typical hotel amenities like vending, laundry, free ice and a 24 hour front desk manned with knowledgeable staff. Every morning we have an excellent complimentary breakfast so our guests can start their day at the beach just right . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makai Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makai Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Makai Beach Ormond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing