We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was great”
Review of Makai Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makai Beach Lodge
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great place great view when it hot the is nice and cold the room was great for me and my wife I wish I could have stayed there more time then one day I was I had more time Min golf is across the road if you like mingolf. Very relaxing,peaceful and very great ocean front view that you can watch sunrise we really loved it.keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wagner12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 394 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

this was my fourth trip to the Makai. I visit my sister in fl. and if the Makai had no rooms available would just not spend a few days there. It is like coming home. The staff is wonderful, the rooms are wonderful, the pool, hot tub. the availability of chairs, unbrellas, etc. available for use at no cost. the continental breakfast has what I need to get started for the day. Have also heard many positive comments from other guests staying there. Can't wait for another visit. the Makai, to me, is florida at its best!

Room Tip: we have always stayed in an oceanfront room. the past two years had a kitchenette. we had room 219...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wardjeanjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at the Makai on Easter break and the staff was wonderful and attentive. Even though the rooms are not the newest they were very reasonably priced and cleaned well daily. We had a great vacation and will definitely return next year for another vacation. Thank you all the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Close for Daytona 500; reasonable pricing (75) per night; beautiful ocean view of Daytona Beach! Booked this hotel before the race weekend and will book again. Walking distance to stores and places to eat. Walk down to beach and strole for hours, very nice location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Makai is perfect for a traveller who loves old Florida. I am 55 and grew up going to Daytona
every summer. We stayed at the Edgewater, a family owned apratment house on the beach, which sold out 20 plus years ago. The Makai was like going back to my childhood. It has that family feel.

If you like the quirky experience of being hosted by folks who truly love what they do, you will be very happy at the Makai. For instance, one night we stayed out on the beach too late and the restaurant we had planed for dinner closed before we were ready to eat. The woman at the desk was able to recomend several similar places and explore with us which features mattered most to us. The ultimate recommendation after discussion was great.

This is not a place that obsesses over getting everything surgically clean, but instead makes sure that every request is met. The old time Florida vacation I had feared was gone for good is alive and well at the Makai. Highly recommended for adventurous folk who want a personal experience, a great value and a relationship with their host.

Room Tip: The Makai is on the beach. My most important request was to be beach front, high enough to watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a group of 80 in 2 bus loads, 23 rooms. The staff had been nothing but supportive from the time we made the reservation. The ocean is harsh on a property, so not everything is in its best condition. But the staff was responsive to whatever issues or problems we've had. For the price we received, plus complementary breakfast, plus ocean view (not all rooms), it really was great value. I would definitely look them up again if we get back there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveOvAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a great time we stayed for 4 days we stayed in a oceanfront room over the pool which was great. The only bad thing I have to say is that we did not have a lot of hot water. But I could live with that because of the value, location, and all the other amenities that they offer you. The staff is friendly and goes out of there way to make you happy. From the reservation process(which I have a lot of questions and needs) to check out my family had a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 29 in Ormond Beach
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 29 in Ormond Beach
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#9 of 29 in Ormond Beach
1,158 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#8 of 29 in Ormond Beach
525 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona/Ormond Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Beach Lodge

Address: 707 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range: $68 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Makai Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makai Beach Lodge is primarily a beach side hotel located at the connection of Daytona Beach and Ormond Beach, this allows us to offer the fun of Daytona Beach with the pristine white sands of Ormond Beach. The hotel has a private beach entrance and beach side pool, kiddie pool, hot tub, grills, shuttle board and more. All rooms have modern LED Tv's with HBO included, free WIFI and most rooms have a fullsize kitchen with the rest having at a minimum fridge and microwave. Free parking is provided and we offer typical hotel amenities like vending, laundry, free ice and a 24 hour front desk manned with knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Makai Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makai Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Makai Beach Ormond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing