We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Family fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makai Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makai Beach Lodge
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Holly Hill, FL
2 reviews
“Family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Makai for a long family weekend. It was right on the beach and had a pool area. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to stay at. Good rates too - thank you Makai!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    81
    56
    39
    86
See reviews for
141
88
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

i stayed here again at this super motel and loved it. the staff and owner are so wonderful in every way, always making sure everything is fine. they took such great care of us when hurricane sandy brushed by the shore last week and made sure all the guests were safe and comfortable. loved the heated pool and jacuzzi. i highly recommend this great motel for everyone!

Room Tip: all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MALCOLMSMOMLuray_va_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a clean family friendly hotel. The hotel is located on the beach and only a few miles away from Daytona. Since the hotel is in Ormnond Beach it cost less than staying in Daytona Beach. The employees are super nice and helpfull. Will return again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlc111597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed from the end of august until the day after labor day. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The building is old but that is not a problem for me. The employees are very polite and helpful. The only complaints I had was partying loud people next door. I figured it was because it was a holiday weekend. We have stayed there before with no problem. There was also a loud barking dog close by. The place allows small pets, but I was seeing large dogs, including a pit bull. Other than that everything was good. There are lots of restaurants close by.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exterminate98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a great time at the hotel. Front staff are just real people going above and beyond the normal service protocols. Sure its on a beach (omg) just beyond their great heated pools both for adults and the kids side.The gift of a great breaky in the morning is fabulous, sure we had a coffee maker in our room and a fridge and a stove and a microwave but we loved comming down in the mornings (6am) and having everything already there and ready for us! Hot toasted bagels with cream cheese and jellies to boiled eggs, cereals, fresh coffee and juices. fruits and yourguts ,muffins, pastries and they dont just shut it down at a certain time ,and above all else the happy staff to greet us and ask what we were going to do today and how was our nite! If you wanted anything at all they had it covered and or knew when and how to get it , or us to it in our case. Sure the place is getting a much needed face lift and will look just fabulous when done and okay I will concied the point it could have used a bit of tlc in the outside gardens ( where guests of the Makai have thrown their butts, walked the dog without being responsible about themselves and a few stray pieces of litter) but if you came to any one of the high end motels in London ont ca. you can see the same crap but for a WHOLE LOTTA MORE MONEY!
We found these great maps and coupon books in every state we went trough on our no time limit adventure and we are just so amazed that it was so cheap to rent there at all! With our coupons and the time we arrived there around the middle of Sept we got to stay for 4 nights for under 250US. We recommend visitors use this valuable tool. Our tour of the newer part of the Lodge was so great, since we had William and Steve take time out of their busy day to show us what the stages of updating that were going on, and the very freindly feel of the place , my husband and I have booked one of the newer rooms at the lodge for 4 months! Can,t wait to get back and thats a feeling you never ever will get from a Higher end Hotel chain.
The staff here are outstanding in trying their best or better to make your stay a very enjoyable one and without a doubt or my dollars a great place to come and stay.Have an open mind and enjoy all that can be had at the Makai! Round the world traveler.

Room Tip: all Makai is great , just ask for your prefernce at the front desk and they will bend backwards to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voldkasandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

If you are like me you are not sure whether to believe the reviews or not. Well believe this. Stay away from this place. The courtside rooms are tiny and smell musty. The ocean front room we had on the 3rd floor was ok but I itched from the time I walked in to the place. The lady at the desk was nice. She upgraded us from the courtside room for 20.00 more to the oceanfront. Still no help. We were paying more than 80.00 a night and afraid to set our stuff down. Yes there are roaches too. The new owner is working on it, maybe in a year or so it might be better. The 4th floor is supposed to be redone, afraid to wait till next day for it. Stay next door cheaper and cleaner.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor have been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is under renovation and it's worthwhile to request a renovated room. I did that and was extremely pleased with the comfort and cleanliness of the room and the friendliness and helpfulness of every single staff member that i met. After checking in i was greeted by name by the manager whenever i went into the office, an indication to me that they're bending over backwards to renovate the image of the old hotel as well as the building. The heating/AC system in the room was new, very quiet, and had a remote control. The tile floors were very clean (also a bit slippery). Beds very comfortable with good quality linens (altho towels were the quality that make you not want to steal them :-) Adequate number of electric outlets for the modern vacationer. Mini-fridge and new small microwave.
The pool was very clean and goes rapidly from 3 1/2 foot to 8 foot depth, but has some small surface areas that need repair. The small continental breakfast contained healthy options. Brewed coffee, including decaf, was available in the office all day, as was cold drinking water. Free loaner beach chairs, bikes, water toys are another indication of the thoughtfulness being brought by the new owners.

That said, this is not the Hilton. If you want to stay at a 4 or 5 star hotel where you're not aware that you're at the beach, travel south down the beach a few blocks. And there are some drawbacks and some work yet to be done. In my first floor oceanfront room the sliding glass door was difficult to slide all the way open: it got stuck halfway and needed a vigorous push.
The walls were kind of thin and i could hear the every word when the next door neighbors were speaking loudly. There was no security chain or bar on the room door. The courtyard area hasn't been worked on yet and can use some sprucing up. I didn't have occasion to use the elevator but it seems small.

Overall I was very impressed and will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's alreay been renovated. And the oceanfront views are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#5 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#18 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#12 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#13 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Beach Lodge

Property: Makai Beach Lodge
Address: 707 S. Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7815
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Makai Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makai Beach Lodge is primarily a beach side hotel located at the connection of Daytona Beach and Ormond Beach, this allows us to offer the fun of Daytona Beach with the pristine white sands of Ormond Beach. The hotel has a private beach entrance and beach side pool, kiddie pool, hot tub, grills, shuttle board and more. All rooms have modern LED Tv's with HBO included, free WIFI and most rooms have a fullsize kitchen with the rest having at a minimum fridge and microwave. Free parking is provided and we offer typical hotel amenities like vending, laundry, free ice and a 24 hour front desk manned with knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Makai Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makai Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Makai Beach Ormond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing