We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makai wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Makai Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makai Beach Lodge
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Makai wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Our stay at the Makai Beach lodge was a wonderful experience! Very friendly staff, helpful and courteous. We look forward to our next trip to the Makai!
Thank you Makai Beach Lodge!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BassGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    90
    67
    47
    87
See reviews for
160
96
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Hill, FL
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I had to have some work done on my house and had to stay elsewhere. The staff was wonderful and made the whole thing easy. Loved staying by the pool and lovely access to the beach. Thanks Makai!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Unable to get downstairs oceanfront room, most areas are under major upgrades (none too soon) the whole place has needed work for a long time. We love the location & being direct oceanfront is great, but not a bargain on this visit. Save your $ and try later in time.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjscate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

If you know someone that makes you so mad you want to tell them to “Go to HE_ _”? Well, send them to the MAKAI BEACH LODGE. They’ll never know the difference.

Examples:
1- Air conditioner was broken and the sliding glass door wouldn’t open. They fixed the air conditioner fan to work only on LOW and left.
2- Had to buy a floor fan but it didn’t help.
3- That night called the Night Manager who came and opened the connecting room’s door so we could “sleep in that room with the air conditioning and cook in ours without air conditioning.
3- Found 2 roach motels under kitchen sink- next to cook pots.
4- At 11pm we found water running out of the light fixture in the ceiling under the air conditioner’s drip pan and on to the floor making a puddle about ¼” deep and approx. 3’ x 5’. Turned off the light switch to avoid electrocution, called the front desk and was told the maintenance man wouldn’t be on duty until 7am the next morning. Was told to turn off the air conditioner and open the sliding glass door for air (no problem, it was ONLY about 83 degrees). I was given towels to soak up water.
5- Around 8am the owner and Day Manager came in and said they were sorry for what had happened and explained the Lodge was under renovation.

THEY REFUSED OUR REQUEST FOR A PARTIAL REFUND OR ADJUSTMENT OF THE BILL.

I’m 62 years old and my sister, a recent heart by-pass patient, is 63 years old. This was our vacation to celebrate her recovery from surgery. Lucky she had her surgery BEFORE we got there. Needless to say, we won’t be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I decided to drive back to NJ since our flight was cancelled to Newark and rescheduled for over a week later. We stopped here because it was super cheap and we were tired. It wasnt terrible but it was nothing amazing. It was exactly what was expected for $58. The staff we encountered was friendly. Free breakfast was also much appreciated

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinaIPPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Friendly Staff ! Check in was great. Gave a lot of information without even
asking. Gave a small care package at check in. The new owners are remodeling the
place. Enjoyed the stay. Right on the beach. Every morning watch the sunrise!
Very affordable ! Great place to stay and best of all they allow pets ! Daytona
Beach does not allow pets but the staff gives you all the info you need. Flagler
Beach only 12 miles away and they allow dogs on the beach ! Hope to see you next
year ! The entrance to drive on the beach is only 1//2 block away !
The Slice Family !

Room Tip: Looks like all beach front has a great view but we opted for top floor (4th) to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesSlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I brought my family here for a quick weekend getaway because the price was so cheap for a hotel on the beach with an ocean view. The beach was nice (but a little crowded and with cars on it) and the view was spectacular! We watched the sunrise and saw dolphins jumping. And it was pet friendly which was a huge plus to us not to have to pay boarding costs.
The room itself? Not so spectacular. Which was mostly ok because we didn't stay in the room much.
First it was a little small for a family of 5. There were two queen beds and we brought an air matress. The carpet was old and looked dingy. The kitchenette was functional and fairly nice but the fridge looked like it had been dragged out of a landfill! It was clean and working on the inside but it just made the whole kitchen look dingy.
The bathroom was nice. It looks like they had recently re-tiled it. The TV was okay but was a big, bulky old-school TV.
The staff was very friendly and they had lots of beach chairs, umbrellas, beach toys, boogie boards, etc. you could check out for free. The continental breakfast was just bagels and danishes and muffins but it was decent. The pool was nice and very clean.
Overall it was a pleasant stay. The hotel caters to families so there were no loud partying teenagers or anything like that. It's in a very nice area so there was lots to do and it was very convenient to just about anything you would need. Probably we would not go back just because the room was too small and a little dingier than we would have preferred.

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean view room. It was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedavisonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 27 in Ormond Beach
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 27 in Ormond Beach
212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 27 in Ormond Beach
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Symphony Beach Club
Symphony Beach Club
#13 of 27 in Ormond Beach
95 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 27 in Ormond Beach
513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#12 of 27 in Ormond Beach
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Beach Lodge

Property: Makai Beach Lodge
Address: 707 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7815
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Makai Beach Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makai Beach Lodge is primarily a beach side hotel located at the connection of Daytona Beach and Ormond Beach, this allows us to offer the fun of Daytona Beach with the pristine white sands of Ormond Beach. The hotel has a private beach entrance and beach side pool, kiddie pool, hot tub, grills, shuttle board and more. All rooms have modern LED Tv's with HBO included, free WIFI and most rooms have a fullsize kitchen with the rest having at a minimum fridge and microwave. Free parking is provided and we offer typical hotel amenities like vending, laundry, free ice and a 24 hour front desk manned with knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makai Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makai Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Makai Beach Ormond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing