We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place needs lots of work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Driftwood Beach Motel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is in a good location and accepts dogs which is a definite plus. However on the negative side the refrigerator did not work in our room on day one. The staff was very attentive and immediately came to give us another one. We also noticed there was not a coffee pot in the room but had coffee and cup. We were assured the refrigerator would work just fine. The next morning we realized the beer in the fridge was not cold and the coffee pot would not work. We finally realized neither the coffee pot, overhead light or fridge would work because there was something wrong with the outlet. We reported it both to the cleaning crew and the front office and got a "could care less" response. On a positive note the pool area is very nice which is where we spent most of our time. Good thing we had brought a cooler for beer!! The hotel needs a lot of work and really could not be categorized as a Resort!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingfish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 66 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Driftwood is an older motel, nothing fancy..but if you need a good nights sleep while listening to the oceans waves crash outside your window,,then READ ON.. Our room was oceanfront, comfortable (beds were great) and convenient to restaurants both up and down the street.
Miniature gold across the street was a blast.... We spent a great deal of time on the ocean and we also tried out the pool, which was very nice. The couple that run the motel were VERY kind..they kept the office one 1 and 1/2 hours after closing to accommodate us a late arrivals. Price is excellent!

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drdave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in oct 2012 and it was in the middle of being remodeled but there stair wells need to be better lit i fell the first night there and hurt my knee so my vacation was a bust but the view was amazing had a view of the ocean woke up to the sounds of the ocean will go back and try again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyffemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This motel and its next door sister were doomed for razing and "rehab" as a multi-story deluxe condo. Fortunately, the developer failed before the motel fell, but there was a rough stretch of no maintenance during bankruptcy and foreclosure. We stayed there about 10 years ago and were thrilled to see it still in operation. The new owners are hard at work, trying to address deferred maintenance and eventually improve the whole property. It's not perfect yet, and face it, it's old and on the salt water and sandy beach. So sparkling windows and sandless floors are just not possible. But our room was tidy and clean although it was still undergoing repair and renovation (caulking, patching, etc.) It was equipped with a full array of kitchen appliances (full fridge, microwave and 4-burner stove and oven), pots and pans and utensils -- even ceramic (not plastic) dishes. The rates are a real bargain for a beach-front property. Don't expect the Ritz but enjoy a vestige of "old" Florida.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glue55977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

When I say it’s good to be back I mean it. For over 15 years my sister and I stayed here but, because of the change in owners and conditions of the room and pool, we had no choice but spend our last 3 vacations somewhere else. To say things were bad is being kind and having no air conditioner was the least of our problems then.

The good news is, because of its new owner and staff, the Driftwood is back and better than ever. Each room now has, to name just a few up-grades, tiled floors, new frig, new stove and a new air conditioner.

You can stay there without a worry and fully enjoy the view and easy access to the beach.

This year’s vacation was like going home again.

Good job Driftwood!

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the beach. It's wonderful to be able to open your window and smell and hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights and were pleased with our experience! We were aware that they were re-modeling, and decided to stay anyway. The room wasn't 5 star, but knowing that they are working towards something better, we could see the strides they've made to upgrade, and we're excited to go back sometime soon to see what other improvements have been made.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenH363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I just stayed here recently and I would give it a 4.0 out 5. After reading all of the mixed reviews I was very iffy about staying here. After seeing how the management had responded to mostly all of the bad reviews, we decided to give it a chance and boy are we glad we did.

We generally stay closer to Ormond-by- the Sea, but, the Driftwood’s location was AMAZING. Within minutes we could be at the shops of Daytona and North Turn, (our favorite place for lunch) or we could be in Ormond and our favorite dinner spot Snack Jacks (High Tides). If it’s your first time to Florida you can find everything so easily and enjoy fantastic restaurants within a 10-15 mile radius, or play Putt-Putt, which is directly across the street.

The room we had was not as bad as the reviews claim, we had a Pool Side room, with a great Ocean View, which we very much enjoyed and within steps from being on the beach. The Staff, especially Kelly (the Manager) were extremely friendly. Housekeeping (Vernell) always made sure we had towels or whatever else we needed. Additionally, we were able to bring our puppy, which was very nice as well.

The only con to the whole place was the limited amount of parking, which is free. If you don’t go into it expecting the Ritz Carlton, I am sure you will enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sonny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#22 of 29 in Ormond Beach
394 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#8 of 29 in Ormond Beach
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#9 of 29 in Ormond Beach
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#20 of 29 in Ormond Beach
225 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona/Ormond Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Beach Motel

Address: 657 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7715
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range: $64 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Driftwood Beach Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Beach Motel has 32 guestrooms. Televisions are equipped with 29 satellite channels. Guestrooms provide in-room safes, air-conditioning, desks, and wake-up calls. Guestrooms are accessible via exterior corridors. In addition, housekeeping is offered and amenities available on request include irons/ironing boards, blow dryers, cribs, and roll-away beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Driftwood Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Driftwood Beach Ormond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing