We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Literal Roach Motel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Ormond Beach Mainsail Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Ormond Beach Mainsail Oceanfront
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Literal Roach Motel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

We checked in and were not up the stairs before we were completely turned off by the smell and the filth of the hallways. Stained and pungent carpeting, chipped paint, rusted banisters, etc.

Upon entering the room we were greated by two dead roaches in the sink of the kitchenette, another on the floor under the table and a live roach on the wall just above the bed. We did not put down our things, we did not stay more than a minute, we returned to the front desk, demanded a refund (which we were given without even an apology ... just a sense of defeat from a desk manager who knew his product was completely unacceptable.

I write this from a lovely Best Western a few buildings down the beach.

The Mainsail is horrifying and misleading online, which is how we found it and booked it (through Expedia). Do NOT stay there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NYnotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    116
    127
    107
    158
See reviews for
247
182
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alachua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed at the Mainsail for one night and then switched hotels.
The halls looked like they had not been vacuumed in a year, food and spilled catsup in the middle of the hallway. Room smelled musty and dirty. Found a moldy cookie and dirty bath towel under my bed. Staff unprofessional and dressed sloppy.
Pictures on web site very deceiving!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tssbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ormond Beach hotels

Rapid City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

What a dump. Do not go by the online pics, the motel is horrible. The worst place I have ever stayed in. Unprofessional, no hospitality, poor conditions, falling down ceilings, AAA approved?? Boy, they must have lowered their standards. I will be getting back money from Allegiant on this trip. Hillbilly Hotel should have been the name. Not a Best Western either. Pool is crappy and had turds in it. Brown water in the pipes, needs to be torn down.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TK1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Room is a decent size, and got upgraded to a room with a kitchenette for free. It's really nice to have that option. Everything's clean--haven't seen any bugs, including the ubiquitous Florida cockroach. The hotel next door is condemned so there isn't exactly an awesome view. But the price is right, it's quiet (except for the super loud air conditioner) and the beach right in front of it is lovely and not crowded.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sciteach07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

When I first arrived to the hotel, the front desk worker said they did not have my reservation on record even though I had printed out a confirmation e-mail with all of my reservation information on there. They tried to blame AAA but it wasn't their fault. We finally got into our room an hour a half later and ended up having to stay in a smoking room when neither of us smoked. We traveled to Daytona for a wedding and ended up missing the rehearsal dinner because of our late check in. I would also recommend NOT wasting time on the continental breakfast. Even though it is free it was definitely the worst I have ever had. The pool was disgusting. "Ocean front" is also a view of the entire parking lot. Also, the maid came into the room when there was clearly a tag that said "Do Not Disturb" on it and acted like it was never on there after he heard us telling him we didn't need any he still insisted on coming in. The front desk workers were helpful, however, I requested to see the manager who was next door at the time and instead of either coming over to see me or having me walk next door to see her she would only speak to me on the phone which I thought was extremely unprofessional. All in all, my experience was not good and I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbo247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

My 11 year daughter and I stayed here from June 13th - 20th. I booked on www.bookit.com and saved 40% by booking 5 nights or more....which came to be $41.00 per night. My room was spacious, had a kitchen...which I was not expecting....and a balcony that was a side view but could see the ocean and the pool. Room 221. I absolutely recommend this. I read the reviews and some didn't sound so good but I bit the bullet and booked and I never regretted it. I almost stayed in Daytona and I am so glad I didn't. This beach is not crowded at all. It does allow vehicles, but that was never a problem....maybe 2 at the most were down at my end. The wi-fi worked great!! The location from S Atlantic Ave was great too. Parking was great. It was free because of where I booked. The hostess was extremely nice - Chelsea - and the housekeeper was very friendly as well. Lulu's Oceanside Grill and Peach Valley Cafe are 2 great places to eat. Ihop and Burger King are across the road. Sea World is 1 hr away. I was very pleased with every aspect of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimfromKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Ga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

Well we had a last minute trip to Ormond Beach and found this on Hotels.com. I used Trip adviser so I figured it would be good to comment. We had a very good stay. We did have to get moved on day 2 because the "ocean view" room was at ground level of parking. However they were VERY helpful in not only getting us to a view room but a FRONT room for our inconvenience of moving. We were not so content with the small double bed room, but the ocean front room was great. So if you don't like tight smaller rooms, pay for the view room or front rooms. Access to the beach is great, Ive read some comments on the tight parking, however I drive a 4 door long bed dually and was able to park in all conditions, now if the parking lot was full, it may of been a challenge, but I am taking the biggest truck to a beach city, Im used to it. But as for the place overall, for a older city place, it was kept up well and worked just fine. The only complaint I could have is the edge of the pool had allot of grime from sun tan oil but once again, that's probably a Florida thing. I would come back

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Echo4Victor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.6 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ormond Beach
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#19 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Ormond Beach Mainsail Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Ormond Beach Mainsail Oceanfront

Property: Days Inn Ormond Beach Mainsail Oceanfront
Address: 281 South Atlantic Avenue, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Ormond Beach Mainsail Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Days Inn Ormond Beach Mainsail Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainsail Inn And Suites
Mainsail Hotel Ormond Beach
Best Western Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing