We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HIT with my bunch”
Review of Betty's A1A Cafe

Betty's A1A Cafe
Ranked #8 of 208 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A HIT with my bunch”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a condo within walking distance of Betty's and all week our group thought about walking over to eat but each night a different restaurant won out. Finally, on our last night, we got around to Betty's. We're sorry we waited since it was our favorite meal of the week! Had we known it would be so good a second meal there would have been worked in, I'm sure. If you're looking for modern, hip decor, close your eyes. Though clean the place is decorated a bit like a knick-knack store (Betty must love angels and Elvis). Collectively we had haddock, hamburger, chicken, pasta and all were very good. A basket of homemade bread costs $1.00 but is well worth it and our waitress gave us free refills. The place was packed on a Friday night but the service was still good. A member of our party was celebrating a birthday and the staff made a HUGE deal of it with music, hats, and pom poms....plus a free dessert. Our overall bill was shockingly low for such a pleasurable meal. Additional note: they are closed on Tuesday

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlessedBeyondWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    224
    72
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Awesome Portabella Sandwich & Clam Chowder”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you want a unique dining experience, I highly recommend Betty's A1A Cafe. They have the most delicious portabella mushroom sandwich and one of the best clam chowder soups on A1A. Coupled with a view of the ocean, quiet atmosphere, and some awsome murals on the walls, and you have a place not to miss when you are in town. Give them a try you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FlounderPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
572 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Seafood”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We started going to Betty's coming from New England they had good seafood. The sad part was the last 2 times it was just average. We will try again hoping for the best

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you can not make up your mind when in Ormond Beach, Betty's is a good choice. We arrived early, glad we did, and were greeted warmly and seated right away. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We all had different items from the menu. I chose the special, meatloaf, and it was really good. My son had the steak tips and raved about them. My wife had the 1/2 seafood combo and could not eat it all (I helped). My daughter had the fried shrimp and did not leave a one. The Chocolate cake was some of the best I've ever had. We will be sure to make this one of the restaurants we visit during our stay in Ormond Beach.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonaVie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best food anywhere!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had fish sandwiches and burgers...best burger I've ever tasted. Fish was excellent down to the tartar sauce and buttered bun...great potato salad and slaw...Everything is homemade. Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladyjanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betty's A1A Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Betty's A1A Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing