We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So place on the beach”
Review of Atlantic Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantic Cove
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So So place on the beach”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here the weekend between the Daytona 500 and bike weekend. We stayed as part of a time share deal sponsored by Holiday Hosts so pricing was not an issue. We didn't want to waste time at their sales pitch so were given a "standard" room and not an upgrade which would have been at a Holiday Inn.The nightly fee for our March stay posted on the door was $369/night which would have been a ridiculous rate to pay for the place. I overheard the desk clerk offering $200/night which would still be high but it is on the beach. The staff here is extremely friendly and accommodating (especially Katie); they were quickly responsive to all our requests. The room was very clean. It shows its worse for wear. The bed sheets were very thin, but clean; the refrigerator was clean but with rust all around the edges of the door; the stove was clean but with more rust; the bathroom towels thin and small. You must ask for pool towels at the desk as there are none at the pool. The soft drink machines were empty. Coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby but no coffee pot in room. We had to request dish soap and towels to wash the dishes. There is a toaster but no microwave.The indoor pool is not heated and it was pretty cold for the first week in March. The outdoor pool was slightly warmer. Many lounge chairs were broken so you could not adjust the back but there were plenty. Get your suntan in the morning as the pool area is in total shade by noon at this time of year. You're not allowed to take the chairs on to the beach. Bring a big towel and/or chair of your own because their beach towels are very small. Ocean front rooms are in total shade before noon. Ask for a south side ocean view room. You get the sun there by 9AM til late PM and the walls around the balcony shield you from the wind. Nice place to sit in sun with drink and reading material though you won't be able to lay down. Hotel is right on the main road so you will hear the loud motorcycles even with door closed. This was our first visit to Daytona so can't compare to other places. I am sure better hotels are pricier. Not a bad place for a few nights' stay but we have been in many better. The staff makes it worthwhile but the facilities need to be upgraded.

Room Tip: Ask for south side ocean view if you want some sun without going on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acajo, General Manager at Atlantic Cove, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Ormond Beach .It is truly a delight to read your review .We thank you for taking the time out of you busy schedule for posting this review and all of its suggestions and compliments.We do apologize for any inconvenience. Looking forward to making your stay better in future as we go thru our phase two renovations, which includes brand new furniture and bedding in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    69
    43
    30
    38
See reviews for
83
87
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Only one complaint! Was not able to use the indoor pool as it was not heated and it was not warm enough to swim outside when we were there in February 2014. We had a two bedroom suite that was extremely clean and comfortable for our needs and the price was right. If you are looking for top of the line, new and five star then you will need to go elsewhere but you will definitely be shelling out a lot more money. Our six night stay during race week was great as we were close to all the amenities we wanted and just steps to the beach. It was wonderful to have the balcony door open to listen to the waves! The staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating especially Katie on the front desk during the day. She made sure even our smallest request was taken care of immediately. Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: If you want to have a great view from your balcony choose an ocean front room on the third floor or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLAYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acajo, General Manager at Atlantic Cove, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Ormond Beach .It is truly a delight to read your review .We thank you for taking the time out of you busy schedule for posting an outstanding review and all of its compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I do not have any complaints on this property. It is great for the price. The staff was super friendly and it was in a great location. It is not a 5 star hotel so if you want something more luxury, then this is not for you. We stayed the weekend and we enjoyed it. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acajo, General Manager at Atlantic Cove, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Ormond Beach .We thank you for taking the time out of you busy schedule for posting an outstanding review and all of its compliments
It is truly a delight to read your review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very comfortable visit and super friendly staff! Stayed two nights during Bike Week 2014. Would recommend keeping smoking rooms in a section to themselves. Enjoying having the door to open to the balcony to hear the ocean but not the second hand smoke. Will visit again!

Room Tip: nice ocean view..spacious balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvirgo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acajo, General Manager at Atlantic Cove, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Ormond Beach .We welcome and strictly follow thru all your comments and suggestions. We thank you for taking the time out of you busy schedule for posting an outstanding review and all of its compliments
It is truly a delight to read your review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

staff very good and room clean stayed month of feburay no game room advertised heated indoor and outdoor pool also? sorry not hear! Henry M Jackson property kept very clean and landscaped very nicely conveniently located to shoping and dinning m-golf right acrose street! they need to order more heat thats summer heat for next visit next march???

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acajo, General Manager at Atlantic Cove, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Ormond Beach .We welcome and strictly follow thru all your comments and suggestions. We thank you for taking the time out of you busy schedule for posting an review and all of its compliments and suggestions.
It is truly a delight to read your review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

the beds were great, facilities were nice - kitchenette was adequately stocked with dishes etc. Would be nice to have a few coffee filters and a small bottle of dish soap. Two suggestions:

1) Non-smoking rooms should be stacked VERTICALLY by floors because the people below us were all smoking (including cigars) out on their balcony and it forced us to go indoors and keep our doors shut.

2) Recycling bins - where are they?? What can be recycled in Daytona, and why don't the staff know the answer to that question?

Room Tip: if you're a non-smoker, make sure non-smokers are below you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DABbvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acajo, General Manager at Atlantic Cove, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We appreciate your business and your comments or the suggestions you have for us. Looking foeward to making your stay even better in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
332 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
514 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 28 in Ormond Beach
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 28 in Ormond Beach
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Symphony Beach Club
Symphony Beach Club
#13 of 28 in Ormond Beach
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Cove

Property: Atlantic Cove
Address: 711 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7815 (Formerly Coral Beach Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantic Cove 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Beach Hotel Ormond Beach
Coral Beach Ormond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing