We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Meal”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #61 of 208 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor Meal”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I stopped at 2:00 pm for a late Saturday lunch at this Outback which turned out to be the worst Outback meal that we have ever eaten at this chain. The restaurant was not crowded and now I know why. We ordered the 6 oz. Outback special steaks. The dining room was very cold with the a/c set way too low. I went out to our car and brought back sweatshirts for my wife and myself. Since we were seated close to the kitchen, we could hear a lot of horseplay going on between the kitchen staff. If the kitchen staff put half as much energy into the meal preparation as the horseplay that they were engaged in, the food might have been acceptable. The steak was tough, dry and overdone even though I had ordered medium which should have had a pink center. My wife's steak was only marginally better. I was waiting for a manager to come by so that I could give my feedback, but no manager stopped by our table. I would advise skipping this restaurant as all other Outbacks that we have ever eaten at have been very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evn3114b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    74
    37
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great steaks!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

You can always count on a good meal at Outback. Great for a romantic night or with friends. Great drinks and great service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Down Under Done Right”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a well known franchise in the United States. You know what to expect in the quality of the food when you walk in. You know the menu when you walk in. What you don't know is the quality of the staff. The staff in Ormond Beach is top notch. The hostesses at the door were welcoming and pleasant. They set a good tone for a great meal. The wait staff are knowledgeable and pleasant. They were attentive and their when needed. We enjoyed our meal and will return. The only downside was while waiting in the outside waiting area there was smoking, which we find offensive in a restaurant setting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

As far as mega chain middle of the road steak houses go, you cannot beat Outback. Their food might not be of the highest quality, but that's why they don't charge $50 a steak. You can count on always being given the same style of food (though cooking meat depends on the chef) and it is really good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriere, MS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive lunch”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went there for lunch. My burger was ok. My husband had the foccocia sandwhich and it was better. The kids meal chicken was dry and they didn't like it at all.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maremare1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Ormond Beach, FL
 
Ormond Beach, FL
Ormond Beach, FL
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing