We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would go back in a minute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maverick - Ormond Beach
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Had a great time. Nice heated pool,hot tub,great ocean views. Rooms a little small but ok. Very helpful staff. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prince621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Maverick - Ormond Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 179 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

We checked in on June 13, 2009 at 4:00pm and checked out on June 13,2009 at 6:00pm.That's how long it took us to find a new hotel. When we arrived hotel staff looked very un-kept. The lighting was dark. Rooms are VERY small and dirty. My 10 month old's feet were black after crawling on the floor for 5 mins! There were small bugs at the door. When they say, “newly renovated” they mean new tile with paint splattered all over it. There was an electrical box with the A/C plugged in to it, sticking up in the middle of the floor in the bedroom. I would consider this a safety hazard. Elevator smelled bad and had chipped paint falling off. When we checked out there was another family complaining about their room being dirty. This is the first time I have felt that a hotel was bad enough to rate a review on. I would not recommend this hotel for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GAnurse24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Just stayed at The Maverick and had a great time. This place was built in 1959, but there have been a lot of renovations done. The first thing I noticed that it is CLEAN and the staff is very nice and helpful. The pool is big with enough chairs around, there is e a kids pool,along with a hot tub. Beside the pool is a large area with plenty of chairs to lay out, along with 3 gas grills that were used every night. Our room was nice, was provided with everything you would need, the kitchenette area you are supplied with all you need. If you want your room cleaned everyday there is a charge of $7.00 so to avoid this fee if you do not want this, just hang the Do Not Disturb sign outside of your door.
You are provided with towels for the pool, downstairs they have a location for you to exchange your towels if eeded.
We had a great time, will go back hopefully next year.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthernGeorgiaPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Yes, the rooms are small. However, the staff was helpful, the food in the restaurant was great (loved the pancakes!) and the location is wonderful! The pool is nice and the hotel even provides activities like water aerobics, ice cream, etc. for the kids. We go every summer and look forward to our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goingonatripGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

I will DEFINITLY go back! Everyone was so friendly and helpfull. Everything you could need is very close by. The room was very neat and clean. The staff was wonderful. It was so peaceful and quiet there and EVERY room has a view of the beach! The pool was the perfect temp and the hot tub was as well. I could not have asked for a more perfect vacation or perfect place to stay. The rooms are small, so if you have more then 4 people you will need more then one room! We had two so it was just perfect for us!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank luvmw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2008

My hubby and I are first-time time share owners. What we found was a friendly, organized place to stay, not the newest place around, but that's not so bad..lots of character.

We had an efficiency and had been told it was small, which is was, but by the time we left, we decided it didn't matter. Pleasant, informative staff..the cute restaurant was only open for breakfast while we were there, but sounded like better things were on the way. Lots of renovations had been done with more in progress. Plenty of safe, onsite parking. Rooms could have used some better reading lights and a place to hang your clothes.

We found plenty to do in the area and plan on going back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bkn71793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

I am a time share owner here and I can say nothing but good about them. I have been going every year for about 12 years and last year while I was there ( on fathers day) we got news from home that we had lost our father. They were wonderful to us with all the faxing and communication that we had to do from there to home and also lowered the flag outside in our dads honor. These people did not have to do these things but they did and were so consoling. Thank You Sooooo Much!!!

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank debbiedmpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#8 of 29 in Ormond Beach
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#7 of 29 in Ormond Beach
1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 29 in Ormond Beach
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#22 of 29 in Ormond Beach
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 29 in Ormond Beach
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick - Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick - Ormond Beach

Address: 485 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range: $132 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maverick - Ormond Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is NOT permanently closed. However, you should make alternate plans for your vacations until we can announce a re-opening date. We will announce a re-opening day at least 45 days before the resort will be opened. This will give you time to finalize your plans for coming to the Maverick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maverick - Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Ormond Beach
The Maverick Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing