We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Week!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maverick - Ormond Beach
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Maverick is an older establishment that is being updated. My room on the 7th floor was clean and comfortable with the exception of the sofa bed which was remedied with a trip to Wal Mart and the purchase of a $12 mattress pad. The staff was exceptional. I have never stayed anywhere that employees were so friendly and helpful. Even though maid service was available for $4 a day or $20 for the week, we chose to make our own beds and sweep our own floor. We did take advantage of the linen exchange and garbage pickup. There were activities for the whole family from tie dye classes to bingo to ice cream socials. The pool area was great with a fantastic view of the ocean and shuffle board when you got tired of swimming. Security was good as well. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 179 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Was impressed by the curb appeal of the Maverick and stopped to inquire on a room for one night on the beach. Justin, the gentleman at the desk was most courteous and helpful to accomodate our needs. We were able to stay in a very nice suite type room that was comfortable and quite large for a very affordable rate. The entire property was spotless and well maintained.
Thanks for a wonderful stay. My only regret was we were not able to stay longer. Thanks again Justin!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2SunChasers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the Maverick. Room was good, big enough and with all the ammenities needed to spend a week on the beach. The entire complex looks well maintened and the staff is very friendly. Highly recommended. I stayed from May 6 to 11 (wonderful sunny week). All the units are oceanfront with a balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The week started out good, but then the rain and the wind came. We basically had to stay indoors for two days due to the bad weather. However, the room was fine and met all of our needs. Although, the bed and furniture are not as comfortable as at home. We didn't get to participate in the events scheduled by the resort because of the weather. We did use the gas grills which is really a plus. The room was clean and the ammenties were just enough for 4 people. If you run out of something, just ask for replacements at the front desk. Check in and check out was a breeze. Publix grocery store is just 2 miles away. The liquor store, ABC, is walking distance. The location is great and the ocean view is spectacular. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Maverick is an older hotel. But from the time we checked in until we checked out a week later, the staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. They are extremely friendly. It is kept very clean, we chose to have housekeeping every 2nd day and our room was spotless when she finished. Each morning I watched the maintenance crew service the pool and again excellent job. The hotel is right on the beach which is an added plus. They have activities daily, from water color classes to tie dye and they offer a sundae bar ($2) and another day ice-cream floats ($2) and a lovely bar-b-q one night. ($4). Wanda the activity director is incredible and and when we did the tie dye she stayed with us for as long as we wanted, a couple of us went a little overboard with our projects! It is close to many activities, from a lovely walking path to the Daytona Racetrack.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. There are no bad rooms. We were on the 6th floor and loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Maverick because of the price although we were a little leery because of the price. It seemed too good to be true but were pleasantly surprised. It isn't a 5 star hotel but it is very nice and clean. We stayed in room 314 and it was very comfortable and right on the beach. The staff, especially Dana, were great. Would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

As always we enjoyed our stay at the Maverick this year. Great location. Good price. Horrible beds!!!

The pool & deck area was cleaned every morning. We made use of the patio bbqs a couple of times - very convenient.

All rooms look out at the ocean!

We usually enjoy having breakfast at the restaurant downstairs but after two days of having terrible food at above average price we started going down the street to the IHOP where we never had a complaint!

Room Tip: No king size beds. Beds are extremely uncomfortable! Same problem last year. I think they buy the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#7 of 29 in Ormond Beach
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
339 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 29 in Ormond Beach
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ormond Beach
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Ormond Beach Mainsail Oceanfront
7.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Ormond Beach at Destination Daytona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick - Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick - Ormond Beach

Address: 485 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range: $131 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maverick - Ormond Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is NOT permanently closed. However, you should make alternate plans for your vacations until we can announce a re-opening date. We will announce a re-opening day at least 45 days before the resort will be opened. This will give you time to finalize your plans for coming to the Maverick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maverick - Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Ormond Beach
The Maverick Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing