We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at The Maverick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maverick - Ormond Beach
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Maverick is an older hotel. But from the time we checked in until we checked out a week later, the staff go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. They are extremely friendly. It is kept very clean, we chose to have housekeeping every 2nd day and our room was spotless when she finished. Each morning I watched the maintenance crew service the pool and again excellent job. The hotel is right on the beach which is an added plus. They have activities daily, from water color classes to tie dye and they offer a sundae bar ($2) and another day ice-cream floats ($2) and a lovely bar-b-q one night. ($4). Wanda the activity director is incredible and and when we did the tie dye she stayed with us for as long as we wanted, a couple of us went a little overboard with our projects! It is close to many activities, from a lovely walking path to the Daytona Racetrack.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. There are no bad rooms. We were on the 6th floor and loved the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 179 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Maverick because of the price although we were a little leery because of the price. It seemed too good to be true but were pleasantly surprised. It isn't a 5 star hotel but it is very nice and clean. We stayed in room 314 and it was very comfortable and right on the beach. The staff, especially Dana, were great. Would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

As always we enjoyed our stay at the Maverick this year. Great location. Good price. Horrible beds!!!

The pool & deck area was cleaned every morning. We made use of the patio bbqs a couple of times - very convenient.

All rooms look out at the ocean!

We usually enjoy having breakfast at the restaurant downstairs but after two days of having terrible food at above average price we started going down the street to the IHOP where we never had a complaint!

Room Tip: No king size beds. Beds are extremely uncomfortable! Same problem last year. I think they buy the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Newly renovated and very spacious for the whole family with a kitchen right on the beach. Pool and hot tub plus a wonderful full service restaurant. The staff is very welcoming and friendly and gracious.

My only negative is there was no internet in the room. They do have internet in the lobby and even poolside so not all bad.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach side view with balcony. You cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMSloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed in room 322 and had a wonderful experience.. everything we needed was provided, from kitchen utensils, cable tv, and tons of towels. Its right on the beach and provides an amazing view.. the beds weren't top notch but they weren't horrible either. The room did have a "wet smell" but i just bought some lysol and air odor eliminator. The room was clean and don't let the hallway and elevator fool you,from the looks of those i thought the room would be a dump but it was far from it. I would DEFINITELY recommend staying here and i would DEFINITELY stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShayFlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We were sent here using a friends timeshare when she unexpectedly had to cancel her trip due to health issues.

We drove from NC at the last minute for a week long stay and were pleasantly surprised.

Older property but updated, kitchens are nice and all rooms are ocean front. Close to some amazing eateries and decent shopping.

We don't have kids but were pleasantly surprisedwithctgr number of families there the week after Easter that it was as quiet and peaceful as it was. Either the staff stays on the parents to keep their kids out of trouble, or there were some very considerate and responsible parents on the property that week!

Small restaurant on property serves awesome breakfast at s really reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We_3_Clines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Over the years we've stayed at many hotels in the area from Daytona Beach south to Vero Beach. Although The Maverick isn't the newest, fanciest or have the most recent upgrades what it does offer is an amazing staff, every room has an incredible ocean view and balcony and you are literally on the beach.
The pool area is well designed and spacious so you can choose the amount of activity/quiet you want.
Plenty of parking and multiple elevators.

Room Tip: Be sure to check when the annual "Bike Week" is being held (usually early/mid March). Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PsychChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#5 of 29 in Ormond Beach
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 29 in Ormond Beach
466 reviews
7.3 mi away
Super 8 Ormond Beach
Super 8 Ormond Beach
#2 of 29 in Ormond Beach
925 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#6 of 29 in Ormond Beach
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick - Ormond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick - Ormond Beach

Address: 485 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range: $79 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maverick - Ormond Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is NOT permanently closed. However, you should make alternate plans for your vacations until we can announce a re-opening date. We will announce a re-opening day at least 45 days before the resort will be opened. This will give you time to finalize your plans for coming to the Maverick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maverick - Ormond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maverick Hotel Ormond Beach
The Maverick Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing