We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family Resort for Returning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean East Resort Club
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A caveat up front. I own 3 weeks of time share at Ocean East. My family has returned to Ocean East almost every year for 30 years. Over the years we have appreciated the way our Board of Directors have worked hard to keep the annual maintenance fees low while continually improving the property. I would recommend that if you like your visit talk to the on-site Real Estate agent about buying a week or two, you won't regret it.
The resort is very family friendly with an activities staff to make time go quickly. The resort is located just steps away (across the street) from Daytona Beach. The property next door is being developed into a city park so things just keep getting better. The units are not as large as some like Wyndham, but they are comfortable and well appointed. If you discover something is missing the staff are quick to respond with a replacement. The front desk staff is always pleasant and ready to make your stay enjoyable. The pool is well maintained and big enough to be enjoyable. There is a large hot tub off in a quiet location. There is also a children's wading pool in sight of the large pools, which is convenient. The resort is constantly being upgraded as the ownership keeps the reserves at a level to keep up with needs and changes in wants. Flat screens are being placed in units now to replace traditional TV's. The location is ideal. Downtown Daytona is less than a 10 minute drive down the beach and the speedway is 15 minutes, yet the resort is located in a quieter space in Ormond Beach. Many restaurants are just a 5-10 minute drive away. There is a restaurant on site that was recently upgraded and is under new management that provides good seafood and steaks. Just across the street is an Olive Garden. I highly recommend this resort for a stay and for long term ownership. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms are designated street-side or ocean-side. Ocean-side rooms are inside the v-shaped structure a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 91 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ocean East is a keeper. The property is extremely well maintained. The staff are so nice and helpful.

We had two condos here last week. The housekeeping was impeccable. The ocean view from our 1 bedroom unit was perfect. The studio unit was also very nice.

Sarah at the front desk was VERY friendly and helpful.

After we left, Sharon even called and said we left something in the room, and offered to ship it to us! Unheard of service level, IMO.

The pool and deck area are large and well cared for. There are two places to eat onsite which is nice.

The beach and area are also great.

I would not think twice about returning here whenever i am in the area.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom oceanfronts are rare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is the most fun place to stay yet here in Daytona for Biketoberfest. Has a Bar on site oceanfront.The room 1 bedroom has large bath with view of beach.Nice kitchen with new upgrades.Great back porch ocean beach view. Pool area well maintained clean and secure.The staff great and very helpful and fun.Nice to stay at resort with a nice salesperson not a desperate car sales guy.This area is old in general but in nice to see improvements and updates on the way.Daytona area is not Cancun its fun to ride and play in not 4 or 5 star.Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank one2doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Relatives have a timeshare week here, and we've stayed here many times over the last 20 or so years. Four-story property overlooking the beach. Our particular unit is always clean and neat, and updates have been ongoing - carpet, furniture, bedding, etc. Recently changed out a hutch containing some drawers and TV to a wall-mounted flat screen and much smaller (and better use of space) desk with drawers. New pull-out sofa is very comfortable to sleep on, and new mattress on murphy bed is better as well. Our unit is on the 4th floor and on the corner, doesn't have a balcony, but has fantastic views of the ocean, beach, and pool. Staff is always friendly, lots of activities for kids (and kids-at-heart). Beach used to be no cars, but changes over the years allow them now, so be aware. Conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, and grocery stores, many within walking distance. Maintenance occurring with the roof. Pool is clean and big, didn't use the hot tub, though. Live entertainment Sunday afternoons. Good place for families with kids, perhaps couples looking for a quieter place than Daytona Beach, and folks looking for a relaxing time. Lots of long-time owners here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank h2ofreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

i was very disappointed with this resort,especially the rooms. though everything around the resort including rooms were very clean, the layout was not good. the pool and jacuzzi were very clean and well maintained, but it was hard to swim laps due to the design and the crowds. some things in the room did not work, but the maintenance people did their best to correct it and sometimes were not able to due to the building design and age. other renters there not very friendly. the ac did not work very well in the small guest room, the bed was worn out and sagged to the side. could not wait to get out of this resort and go back to the makai lodge down the street, which is a superb hotel!

Room Tip: no room here is good. go to the makai hotel down the street, or if in timeshares, stay at georgian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MALCOLMSMOMLuray_va_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Ocean's East is a great little place by the beach. We had a little studio apartment, and it was perfect for the two of us. The official description says it sleeps 4, but I really would not advise that. The furniture and fixtures were in good repair. We had a balcony, and even though we were officially on the "street side," we had a pretty nice view of the beach. When we were there, they had a roofing company repairing something, but this was not a problem, and made me feel good that they cared enough about the place to repair it. The beach was literally right past the pool, and it was well kept, with high and low tides posted every day.
The only problem with the place was the beds. There were two beds: a Murphy bed and a sleeper sofa. Both were uncomfortable, with the sleeper sofa being slightly better than the Murphy bed. I hear that they are slowly renovating the rooms, and I hope that this is one item they will address. Despite that, I would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Our street side room was on the north side of the building, and, since there was an empty lot next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just returned from spending Spring Break at Ocean East Resort. I will stay here again. The location is great, 5 minute drive from the Daytona Beach area. The staff was very friendly. They had lots of activities that my kids really loved. (bingo, tie-dye t-shirts, crafts, making rootbeer floats). All of the activities were very inexpensive. They had free DVD check out and a great rec room which my kids also loved. The efficiency apartment was very adequate. I pull-down murphy bed in the dining area, and a pull-out couch. The restaurant had reasonable prices. The only negative was that people would put their towels on a pool lounge chair and hoard it for the day, even if they weren't even in the pool area. I don't blame the resort for this as they had plenty of rule signs stating not to do this. This happens everywhere so not much you can do.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kareny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#7 of 29 in Ormond Beach
530 reviews
0.5 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
339 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 29 in Ormond Beach
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona/Ormond Beach
1.3 mi away
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
#8 of 29 in Ormond Beach
1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#19 of 29 in Ormond Beach
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean East Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean East Resort Club

Address: 867 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-7896
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Ormond Beach
Price Range: $158 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean East Resort Club 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean East Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean East Resort Club Hotel Ormond Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing