We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine addition to the Ormond Beach choices”

Billy's Tap Room & Grill
Ranked #38 of 208 Restaurants in Ormond Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Orange, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A fine addition to the Ormond Beach choices”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I always loved the look of Billy's from the outside (pseudo-Tudor), but for many years it had been closed, so we were delighted to see that it had finally reopened and decided to give it a try.

We went early (6:30ish) and had no problem with seating, and our server was very pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. He even arranged it so that our happy hour 'two for one' could consist of two glasses of wine of different types (since neither of us wanted two glasses or the same wine). That was very considerate.

The atmosphere/decor is wonderful with dark wood and a very old fashioned feel, highlighted by historic photographs hung on the walls. We did find the old wooden booth a bit uncomfortable and would request a table next time (and there will be a next time), but it was only a small hitch.

The food was very good - not stellar, but still above average. My grouper was just a tad overcooked. The sides were good and well prepared. The pork was nicely cooked and enjoyed. Dessert was quite good, with reasonable sized portions.

We will definitely return to Billy's and wish them success since this makes a very nice addition to the restaurant scene in Ormond Beach.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MadArchaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    46
    19
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good meal at Billy's”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My wife and I recently dined at Billy's Tap Room & Grill in Ormond Beach, Fl. Billy's is a nicely decorated restaurant with dark wood and lots of vintage pictures of the area. Our table was along a wall and a bit too dark to comfortably be able to read the menu. Our waitress put a candle on the table to brighten it up a bit. Service was good and the food even better. My wife had fish and chips, I had shrimp scampi. Both were very good and we brought home some of the fish. Our bill was $42 with water for drinks. Billy's is not a cheap bar food place.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Out of the past a true Phoenix arrises...glad your back, Billy's!”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We've visited the old Billy's Tap Room many times over the past few years and were very happy with the service and the food quality. Sadness over its closing, but true excitement over this NEW Billy's Tap Room and Grill. Excellent redecorating job. Our group of four had four different entrees, a baked grouper, fish in parchment, stuffed pork chop, and chicken with all the sides. Everything was perfect. The staff and owner had a full restaurant and still made the rounds to check on all the patrons. Will be back many more times...worth the drive from New Smyrna Beach.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank plaza425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“As expected"”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We have visited the Potato Patch restaurant in Deland a number of times for breakfast and lunch and enjoyed every meal. When we heard that Doug & Lil were renovating and taking over Billy's Tap Room and Grill in our neighbourhood, Ormond Beach, we were thrilled. Our first visit was last night and "AS EXPECTED", it was great. The decor is wonderful-it is like a time warp where you are back in the 20's or 30's. We both had "fish in a bag" which is grouper done with scallops and shrimps. Wonderful!
This place will now be our local and we wish them many years of success.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank memphismickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond FL
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gets better every visit”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We are locals and have been going to Billy's for years and were very disappointed
when it closed. Well its reopened under new owners. We have been 5 times since it reopened and it just seems to get a little better each time. The menu is somewhat the same, prices are competative for the area and the happy hour bar prices are half price. The wait staff is well trained and and strive to serve you well. The atmosphere is outstanding. Resevations are highly recommended. Parking the same as before. Try the tennis courts just to the west. It has public parking. On our last visit we got the Mussels and they were the best.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shortpockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's Tap Room & Grill also viewed

Ormond Beach, FL
 

Been to Billy's Tap Room & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing