We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Reviewed July 27, 2010

For people expecting a Hilton experience this is not the hotel for you. If you want a decent place to stay with your family, this is the place. I have 3 complaints about the hotel, small bathrooms, short on parking spaces and their wifi is nearly unusable. That being said, the bathroom was big enough to do what is necessary and the room was comfortable and clean. Loved the beach view from the balcony as well.
My family enjoyed the stay and loved the gas fire pit near the pool at night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maintb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,116 - 1,122 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful and nice. We were hoping to get a little closer to my parents south of Daytona Beach Shores. However, it's not that much longer of a drive. We flew then rented a car just to drive down there. I highly recomend it. The pool was a little smaller than we thought. The balcony view was great. Overall everything was great!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole_Swarzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This is the second time at this hotel. We love the beach here and the rooms are large and roomy. The problem was that the room didn't get very cool at night and our biggest trouble was that housekeeping was terrible. The toilet wasn't cleaned. When I stay somewhere, I expect to have my toilet cleaned everyday like I do at home. I ended up cleaning it myself. I have heard that if you complain, places may use your toothbrush to clean with. We had no kleenex two days and I had to ask for that. We had no new soap or shampoo. I had to search for the maid to get new towels. When we had the 'housekeeping please' sign on the door at 9 a.m.- the room wasn't cleaned until around 3:00. Very disappointed this year with that but love the beach here so I don't know what I will do next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnetteB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Housekeeping poor. Common areas trashy. Some garbage by ice machine remained there for the whole of our stay. For 2 days a wedding party practically took over the hotel. We were not allowed to use certain parts of the pool area for 2 days. After the wedding party left the hotel, we had to sit in the sun surrounded by their left over litter. The staff had not cleared it up. The pool was supposed to be a heated pool. It was ice cold. The toilet seat was too small for the toilet which made sitting on the toilet quite unpleasant. Balcony and balcony furniture was not clean. On the plus side, the room decor and kitchen area pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granbranfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

After reading all the excellent reviews, perhaps my expectations were too high, but this is an old style Florida hotel that has been modestly updated - but not very recently - in shades of brown and orange. While we don't have any real complaints, it just wasn't as nice as we were looking for. We were glad we only stayed one night instead of two. I have been disappointed in Best Western hotels before.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Check-in and check-out were both super quick with very friendly front desk staff. Hotel seemed fairly empty even though it was sold out. Parking was very convenient. Location was fantastic. You could walk to many stores and restaurants. Room was very clean, and everything worked properly. Beautiful side view of the ocean from my balcony. My only complaint is the bathrooms are kind of small. Large deck with plenty of seating/sun chairs, even picnic tables! Oceanfront heated pool was fabulous. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrinityAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I have stayed here quite a few times and it's always a pleasure. The hotel is always clean and the staff is friendly. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. There are many beachfront rooms and the view is amazing. The location is great and close to TGI Friday's my favorite spot to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmericanAngel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#5 of 29 in Ormond Beach
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
341 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona/Ormond Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 29 in Ormond Beach
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Ormond Beach Mainsail Oceanfront
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 29 in Ormond Beach
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Castillo Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Castillo Del Sol

Address: 205 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range: $99 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Castillo Del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the newest hotel in Ormond Beach, Florida and enjoy affordable A1A beachside accommodations near Daytona International Speedway, Ocean Center Convention Facility and the 23 miles of uninterrupted beautiful Florida beaches.Welcome to the Best Western Castillo Del Sol, the best choice in lodging while visiting the Ormond Beach, Florida area where guests will receive comfortable and affordable beachfront accommodations. The hotel provides guests with convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around the Ormond Beach area. Guests staying at this hotel will enjoy guest rooms featuring pillowtop beds, cable satellite television with free movie channels, refrigerator and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Luxurious suites and rooms with ocean views and fully equipped kitchens are also available for those that want to indulge. The Oceanfront Efficiency rooms also include a DVD Player, kitchenette complete with full size Refrigerator, Microwave, Stovetop, Cooking and Dining Ware, and Dining Area, and a private balcony with a panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean.Convenient and delicious breakfast can be enjoyed at the hotel's onsite restaurant. There are also 75 restaurants and shops within 2 miles of the Hotel. And to help make life on the road even more comfortable, this Florida Best Western hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and the safety of underground parking.Whether traveling to Ormond Beach FL for business or for pleasure, the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is close to where travelers want to be. Guests can spend the day enjoying the sun, surf and sand at the beach, touring Casements, the Rockefeller summer home, walking the Ormond Memorial Garden or exploring the Kennedy Space Center. NASCAR fans will enjoy being situated so close to Daytona International Speedway. The world's largest Harley Davidson dealership can be found only minutes away from the Best Western Castillo Del Sol.This Ormond Beach hotel frequently hosts guests in town attending local events like Bike Week, the Daytona 500, Cheerleader Nationals and Biketoberfest. And no trip to Ormond Beach is complete without enjoying a day of family fun at nearby Disneyworld and Universal Studios. The Hotel is just 1/2 mile from the Ormond Scenic Loop & Trail.The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Ormond Beach, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Castillo Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ormond Beach
Ormond Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing