We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Ormond Beach
summerfield, United States
1 review
“My home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stay here as often as possible . The people are Fabulous , the room is comfortable , and whatever I want to do is close enough to roll out of bed and do so. I hope this helps someone and they enjoy the experience I've enjoyed after all these years.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    383
    172
    84
    54
See reviews for
398
380
40
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great hotel on the beach. Awesome views, kitchenette in all oceanfront rooms. LARGE rooms. Parking underground with plenty of luggage racks. Lots of places to lounge around pool and sunbathe. Have stayed here twice and would stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for oceanfront room. Higher rooms have outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eally67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. Yes, it is a bit out-dated, but our room was clean, the staff was very pleasant, and the view was phenomenal! Great beach access. It is also nice to have a kitchen in the room. We walked the beach each day and enjoyed our balcony to watch the waves and the people surfing. We will be back. Breakfast was more than adequate.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heronmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were booked here with a vacation package my travel companion purchased some time ago. We were originally expecting to be at the Best Western Aku Tiki which has exceptional reviews in Daytona so we were a little apprehensive. First things first the physical plant is a little dated. Driving by on the road you might never notice but up close its showing its age. Even while we were there however they were painting the exterior of the building so that's a good sign. Check in was seamless with the young girls at the front desk and we were given the full rundown of the free wifi (pretty fast), pool, breakfast, and parking which was free as well. They do hold $5/day for incidentals which are refunded. Our room was oceanfront 4th floor and very spacious, clean, and decently appointed. We had a full kitchen sans oven and a small array of kitchen utensils. Our balcony was small but cute and the view amazing. The only bad thing was that there was no screen so you couldn't leave the glass door open to hear the ocean at night. There was a flat screen TV, DVD player, and the a/c worked very well. We had two queen sized beds that were pretty comfortable and a kitchen table for two in the room in additional to an office table. The toiletries and towels provided were fine. The room was pretty well thought out. In the bathroom, which was smallish, the shower provided ample hot water with a good pressure and angle. If you looked super close there was mold in the grout of the shower tile. Ice machines worked well for us they were on every other floor. We saved money by buying snacks, water juice, and alcohol at the stores and keeping it in our rooms. Pool was fine though we wished they had a jacuzzi. It was beachfront. They lit a nice bonfire at night. The breakfast was fine, sausage, eggs, toast, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, basic fruit, coffee, and juice. I mean I've had better breakfasts but what do you expect it was free. The location in Ormond was great! Light traffic, easy parking, lots of restaurants within driving/walking distance. Only 10 min, if that, to all of the excitement in Daytona. My only advice would be to go oceanfront here and don't overpay. Make sure to get yourself a nice discounted rate. We tend not to spend a ton of time in the room on vacation but did more of that on this trip as it was supposed to be our, "relaxing" trip. We didn't regret the time spent in our rooms. It was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms were very quiet with the hurricane proof sliding glass doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank White2tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Don't believe what you see on the internet!! Staff was rude and unprofessional. Booked room and when we arrived was very disappointed. We cancelled and found another hotel in Daytona Beach Shores at a much better price and the amenities were awesome!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This used to be one of our favorite hotels here but we had issues from the very beginning. Check-in staff not computer literate, bed uncomfortable, no ice in the few machines available, pool chairs are very uncomfortable, breakfast was no big deal. This has become basically a very cheap quality hotel. What a shame. It used to be great here. It's just OK if you get a really low price deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

The location was great. We had a top floor room with a kitchen, ocean front. Pool was decent. Kinda small, but large deck and not too crowded even though it was a holiday weekend. The room had a DVD player, but no remote, which was kind of a pain but still an unexpected bonus. Room and kitchen were nice and clean. Wish there was better lighting- I tried doing a puzzle and was having a hard time. Staff was VERY friendly. The breakfast was terrible. They had some automatic pancake machine that took 3 minutes to make 2 little pancakes. So the line took FOREVER and that wasn't even the busiest day. Frozen french toast and a toaster to heat it up, which they kept getting stuck in. Scrambled eggs and sausage were OK. After the first day, we went across the street to IHOP, which was super close.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#12 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.8 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#13 of 28 in Ormond Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Cove
Atlantic Cove
#19 of 28 in Ormond Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol

Property: BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol
Address: 205 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the newest hotel in Ormond Beach, Florida and enjoy affordable A1A beachside accommodations near Daytona International Speedway, Ocean Center Convention Facility and the 23 miles of uninterrupted beautiful Florida beaches.Welcome to the Best Western Castillo Del Sol, the best choice in lodging while visiting the Ormond Beach, Florida area where guests will receive comfortable and affordable beachfront accommodations. The hotel provides guests with convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around the Ormond Beach area. Guests staying at this hotel will enjoy guest rooms featuring pillowtop beds, cable satellite television with free movie channels, refrigerator and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Luxurious suites and rooms with ocean views and fully equipped kitchens are also available for those that want to indulge. The Oceanfront Efficiency rooms also include a DVD Player, kitchenette complete with full size Refrigerator, Microwave, Stovetop, Cooking and Dining Ware, and Dining Area, and a private balcony with a panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean.Convenient and delicious breakfast can be enjoyed at the hotel's onsite restaurant. There are also 75 restaurants and shops within 2 miles of the Hotel. And to help make life on the road even more comfortable, this Florida Best Western hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and the safety of underground parking.Whether traveling to Ormond Beach FL for business or for pleasure, the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is close to where travelers want to be. Guests can spend the day enjoying the sun, surf and sand at the beach, touring Casements, the Rockefeller summer home, walking the Ormond Memorial Garden or exploring the Kennedy Space Center. NASCAR fans will enjoy being situated so close to Daytona International Speedway. The world's largest Harley Davidson dealership can be found only minutes away from the Best Western Castillo Del Sol.This Ormond Beach hotel frequently hosts guests in town attending local events like Bike Week, the Daytona 500, Cheerleader Nationals and Biketoberfest. And no trip to Ormond Beach is complete without enjoying a day of family fun at nearby Disneyworld and Universal Studios. The Hotel is just 1/2 mile from the Ormond Scenic Loop & Trail.The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Ormond Beach, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Castillo Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ormond Beach
Ormond Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing