We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Reviewed September 17, 2008

This hotel was excellent. The room was spotless and comfortable and had more than enough room for us. (2 adults.) The balcony that overlooks the Atlantic was breathtaking. Ocean front room with kitchenette, 2 queen beds and DVD player, was very comfortable and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful, and having that complementary computer set up in the lobby was great when we had to print our boarding passes for our return trip. Everything is close by, but you WILL need a car to get to it all. The only complaint we had was regarding the restaurant. We were under the impression that they had a "full service" facility...they don't! The restaurant is only open for BREAKFAST from 7 a.m. to 11 a.m.! And no complimentary continental breakfast, either...luckily, there's an IHOP directly across the street, which is where everyone goes to eat. There is no room service either, but that's ok, there's a ton of great eaterys along S. Atlantic Avenue. Overall, this was a wonderful vacation for 2 weary folks who just wanted to relax and enjoy the area. Even the weather was great! I cried when I had to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank altimmus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Castillo Del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2008

The hotel is pretty good, but if you need to use wireless internet in your room, go elswhere. The front desk staff is not able to give any support, you only get a phone number from the WiFi hotline. I tried to solve the problem with the guy from the provider in two 4 hour workouts with no result. The hotelmanager, never present had neither comments to this case nor any apologies . I have booked this hotel due to a working WiFi and stayed back very disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank anduts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We were very pleased with the hotel considering the low price we paid for the two nights. Everything had been updated in the rooms. Check in was very speedy and they allowed us to check in a few hours early. Plenty of parking even on the holiday weekend. Pool has been updated with new pavers and they had comfy lounge chairs outside as well. There were a lot of staff members we saw throughout our stay keeping the hotel clean. We were located on the second floor just above the pool. I was concerned that it may be a noisy location...but when slider doors were shut I didn't hear a thing. Surprised how spacious the room was...two queen beds, kitchen with refrigerator, microwave and range. dining area. Nice dressing area too. Newer ceramic tile in bathrooms as well. Most hotels located along the strip are older. This one appeared to be one of the nicer, updated hotels. Short, convenient drive to restaurants, grocery store and coffee shops. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cindi_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We arrived at the Castille Del Sol and had to wait probably 40 minutes for check-in. We were 40 minutes early before the 3:00 check in time. The room was wonderfully large and beautiful. The beds were super comfortable. The view was great (3rd floor). We loved the keyless safe. The air conditioner worked great. The kitchen was just what we expected. The pool area and beach was lovely. The pool chairs were super nice and they even had some in a shaded area. The only problems were: no vent in bathroom (not fun for a family of 4),and only one walkway to beach (you have to walk past the pool if you are on the south side of the building). The hose was at the top of the steps which was inconvenient in washing off beach items because people would have to wait to go both down the stairs and up. This created a congestion problem at times. The big thing that my kids didn't like was there was no hot tub. There was a fire pit but a hot tub would have been more useful. Rooms were always cleaned promptly. We hope to return but put our suggestions for improvement with the hotel to make this place even nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LynnetteB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

We stayed in one of the one-bedroom suites. It was huge, with a dining area, kitchen, living room and separate bedroom with a king bed. Amenities included several comfy upholstered chairs, a sofa hide-a-bed, a Jacuzzi and multiple 'phone and TV sets. The bedroom and living room each had its own balcony with a good view of the ocean and beach.(the suites are ocean view, not ocean front, but the ocean view was very decent).

The suite was clean and freshly renovated, altho the decor was resolutely 1970s. The bed was superb! Housekeeping did a good job. One day we got shorted a couple of washcloths, and a call to the front desk produced the housekeeping supervisor with the missing goods inside of 10 minutes. The front desk folks were very helpful when we checked in, giving us keys to our original oceanfront room and the suite we upgraded to so we could compare.

Our one concern was the apparent lack of noise insulation. Fortunately we had quiet neighbors for our five-day stay, but the noise that found its way into our room from an adjoining family of four with 2 youngsters was substantial. Conversations next door at normal levels were clearly audible in our room. A noisy party in that room would have been excruciating! If you're sensitive to noise, you may want to look elsewhere,

This was a great stay, and we'll plan to go back to the Castillo del Sol the next time we vacation in the Daytona area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khaug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

I booked the room via orbitz and called and confiremed that they received the booking but check in still took about 15 min or so. The staff at the desk was very frustrated with his computer and some delay in processing the orbitz order which I think should have been kept to himself however it wasnt. Other that that I would say for everyone to be aware the ocean view is very different than ocean front. We have only stayed in about 20 hotels and not on the ocean. We had a view of two dumpsters and street noise and had to stick our head over the rail to get a View....but the room was clean and large, the pool was nice and staff nice.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresar2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We read other reviews and decided this seemed like a good hotel. I think it was a great value. The rooms were nice, updated. It had a small kitchen with a stove top and fridge, but no oven. Room was pretty clean, but there was some left over trash under the bed. Bathroom was new and clean, which is what is most important to me. They had a nice heated pool and a fire pit which was nice at night. The hotel sits right on the beach. The front desk is no help at all. We called for towels one night and they simply said no, we would have to wait untill morning. We called the next morning and they told us to go look in the hall for the the lady with the towels. So the service was poor but overall I would recomend.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ormond Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#9 of 29 in Ormond Beach
524 reviews
0.8 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
Chateau Mar Beach Resort
#11 of 29 in Ormond Beach
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona/Ormond Beach
0.3 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 29 in Ormond Beach
454 reviews
1.0 mi away
Makai Beach Lodge
Makai Beach Lodge
#21 of 29 in Ormond Beach
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Castillo Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Castillo Del Sol

Address: 205 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range: $76 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Castillo Del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the newest hotel in Ormond Beach, Florida and enjoy affordable A1A beachside accommodations near Daytona International Speedway, Ocean Center Convention Facility and the 23 miles of uninterrupted beautiful Florida beaches.Welcome to the Best Western Castillo Del Sol, the best choice in lodging while visiting the Ormond Beach, Florida area where guests will receive comfortable and affordable beachfront accommodations. The hotel provides guests with convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around the Ormond Beach area. Guests staying at this hotel will enjoy guest rooms featuring pillowtop beds, cable satellite television with free movie channels, refrigerator and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Luxurious suites and rooms with ocean views and fully equipped kitchens are also available for those that want to indulge. The Oceanfront Efficiency rooms also include a DVD Player, kitchenette complete with full size Refrigerator, Microwave, Stovetop, Cooking and Dining Ware, and Dining Area, and a private balcony with a panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean.Convenient and delicious breakfast can be enjoyed at the hotel's onsite restaurant. There are also 75 restaurants and shops within 2 miles of the Hotel. And to help make life on the road even more comfortable, this Florida Best Western hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and the safety of underground parking.Whether traveling to Ormond Beach FL for business or for pleasure, the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is close to where travelers want to be. Guests can spend the day enjoying the sun, surf and sand at the beach, touring Casements, the Rockefeller summer home, walking the Ormond Memorial Garden or exploring the Kennedy Space Center. NASCAR fans will enjoy being situated so close to Daytona International Speedway. The world's largest Harley Davidson dealership can be found only minutes away from the Best Western Castillo Del Sol.This Ormond Beach hotel frequently hosts guests in town attending local events like Bike Week, the Daytona 500, Cheerleader Nationals and Biketoberfest. And no trip to Ormond Beach is complete without enjoying a day of family fun at nearby Disneyworld and Universal Studios. The Hotel is just 1/2 mile from the Ormond Scenic Loop & Trail.The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Ormond Beach, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Castillo Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ormond Beach
Ormond Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing