We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good idea to stay in Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Castillo Del Sol
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Ormond Beach
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We came very late to the reception. And the service was very very friendly. She must us often explain, were we can have breakfast, what we must do with the car, and so on (our English ist not very good and she was very patient)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosazea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

We got married on June 4th and headed to Florida. We were on a budget so finding a nice place to stay that we could afford was like finding a needle in a haystack. Most of the places we looked at were atleast $200 a night. To make a long story short, this place was reasonability priced, clean, friendly staff and had a beautiful view. If you are looking for a nice place to stay and are on a budget, this is the place. When we go back we will be staying there again.

Room Tip: If you are wanting to see the ocean, get a room with oceanfront view. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angie0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and son and I stayed at this hotel for a whole week. The room was clean, fresh towels as requested. Stayed on the 7th floor and elevator access was easy and quick. Parking was great and access to the beach was great. A great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peyton0697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I had maggots crawling into my room from a construction dumpster, Guests had put discarded food in the dumpster. I was given another room after cleaning staff failed to clean up dead maggots and when live maggots continued to come into the room.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the construction dumpster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewilkerson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear ewilkerson01;

I sincerely apologize for your inconvenience. This was a unique situation that had presented itself overnight. Being a weekend we were unable to remove the dumpster until Monday. Thank you for sharing your experience and again I do apologize.

Joe Maniscalco, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Hotel breakfast $6- POOR--Go to IHOP across street. I,m Serious! After making the reservation, I even phoned the hotel to inquire that our oceanfront room already reserved to be close to the elevator for the 2 disabled people in our party at least 2 months prior to arrival. There was no mention of the fact that the hotel did not meet ADA guidelines and where they put our party was just one more room away from being the furthest away from the elevator!. Had service dog in crate except for walking not on hotel property And left room tidy. Hotel charged additional fee 3 days after checkout for trumped up charge of dog poop in room and the hotel knew the service dog would be there with the disabled person in our party prior to our arrival. The small dog was never allowed out of the crate except to go outside with the owner.
Advice to all- Dont stay at this hotel if you are disabled. Plus, no security personnel in parking lot. The hotel to the south --next door did have security and even though we didnt stay there, they were very helpful.

Room Tip: The only rooms that directly face the ocean are the oceanfront efficiencies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seasoned_Traveler335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Seasoned_Traveler335;

Thank you for reviewing our property. We apologize for any inconvenience you incurred. Our hotel has recently changed our breakfast presentation as well as food offerings. We now offer a complimentary hot breakfast for all guests.

I'm sorry that one of our ADA room types were not available at the time of reservation. We do consider all requests and interests when assigning rooms. Service animals are always welcome in our hotel, although we do charge when our rooms or contents are damaged by guests or service animals.

I apologize for any miscommunication or misunderstanding regarding our accommodations.

Sincerely;

Joe Maniscalco, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I reserved a mini suite ocean front (I requested top floor)

1) I got one on the 6th floor (top floor is 7th) 2) I just got in the room and a manteinance man without knocking opened the door, came in and look around saying "just looking for a broken item) He didnt replace anything, no apologies.-
3) When I connected my laptop, the fire alarm went off/ a man came to fix it but he said he couldnt, that his boss would do it next morning. He disconnected the fire alarm. Nobody came to fix it and I spent three days without fire alarm in my room.
4) 3am - a fire alarm next door went off. I was wondering if he/she couldn't sleep and was trying to use a PC...wowww
5) fridge leaking
6) the mini suite is nice/average with a nice view but...if you sit down in the b alcony (is very small) you have no privacy,you and people from the sides same floor, top ones and lowers ones will be looking at each other!!
Well, I could point out a few more things but I think you already got the idea....

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!!! lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cristinargen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

cristinargen;

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize for any inconvenience you incurred during your stay with us.

Thank you for letting us know about your experience. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us improve and better train our staff to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Sincerely;

Joe Maniscalco, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My family and I stay at this hotel about 4 times a year for business/vacation. The hotel rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. You can't beat the price on the beach. However, there are some improvements that need to be made.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elpmhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ormond Beach
0.1 mi away
The Cove on Ormond Beach
The Cove on Ormond Beach
#5 of 29 in Ormond Beach
545 reviews
0.8 mi away
OceanFront Inn and Suites
OceanFront Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Ormond Beach
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Floridian Resort
Royal Floridian Resort
#10 of 29 in Ormond Beach
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona/Ormond Beach
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Ormond Beach Mainsail Oceanfront
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Castillo Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Castillo Del Sol

Address: 205 S Atlantic Ave, Ormond Beach, FL 32176-8105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Ormond Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ormond Beach
Price Range: $88 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Castillo Del Sol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to the newest hotel in Ormond Beach, Florida and enjoy affordable A1A beachside accommodations near Daytona International Speedway, Ocean Center Convention Facility and the 23 miles of uninterrupted beautiful Florida beaches.Welcome to the Best Western Castillo Del Sol, the best choice in lodging while visiting the Ormond Beach, Florida area where guests will receive comfortable and affordable beachfront accommodations. The hotel provides guests with convenient access to many local attractions, shopping and dining options in and around the Ormond Beach area. Guests staying at this hotel will enjoy guest rooms featuring pillowtop beds, cable satellite television with free movie channels, refrigerator and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Luxurious suites and rooms with ocean views and fully equipped kitchens are also available for those that want to indulge. The Oceanfront Efficiency rooms also include a DVD Player, kitchenette complete with full size Refrigerator, Microwave, Stovetop, Cooking and Dining Ware, and Dining Area, and a private balcony with a panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean.Convenient and delicious breakfast can be enjoyed at the hotel's onsite restaurant. There are also 75 restaurants and shops within 2 miles of the Hotel. And to help make life on the road even more comfortable, this Florida Best Western hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and the safety of underground parking.Whether traveling to Ormond Beach FL for business or for pleasure, the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is close to where travelers want to be. Guests can spend the day enjoying the sun, surf and sand at the beach, touring Casements, the Rockefeller summer home, walking the Ormond Memorial Garden or exploring the Kennedy Space Center. NASCAR fans will enjoy being situated so close to Daytona International Speedway. The world's largest Harley Davidson dealership can be found only minutes away from the Best Western Castillo Del Sol.This Ormond Beach hotel frequently hosts guests in town attending local events like Bike Week, the Daytona 500, Cheerleader Nationals and Biketoberfest. And no trip to Ormond Beach is complete without enjoying a day of family fun at nearby Disneyworld and Universal Studios. The Hotel is just 1/2 mile from the Ormond Scenic Loop & Trail.The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western Castillo Del Sol is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Ormond Beach, Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Castillo Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ormond Beach
Ormond Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing